Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Max Helmet

Specialized Max Helmet

Overall rating:
4.565 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 46
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
44 out of 46(96%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Max Helmet
Review 1 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Dontbuythesun

Great fit

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I have a pretty big head and the helmet seems to be a perfect fit and it's comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
WillN
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Great product at great price

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Straps are great in that they do not use the adjustable clips and use the buckle as the point of strap adjustment that most other helmets use. Well vented, light and great value at the price i paid for it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
VLegend
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Snug, Light and Good mountain Bike Style

Posted10 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Been years since I had a bike and helmet and things have definitely changed for the best if you have a large head! The dial-in system works brilliantly and the product is light to wear and doesn't move about on your head. Yes it is quite bulky but I think quite stylish for a mountain bike rider! Great protection for the back of the head. Why pay more?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Spdman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Immediately comfortable.

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As soon as I put the helmet on, it felt just right, very comfortable. The webbing is secure but comfortable. A very good price too.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
nt22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

too big

Posted15 September 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
I bought this online, when I got it I realised it was really big so took it to my nearest store in Guildford and they changed it for a different model.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
speedwaymaniac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Product - Fits small 56" up

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, good adjustable size range
This is a quality helmet, construction feels solid and the screw adjuster for head size doesn't feel flimsy like other helmets.
The strap feels secure and comfortable, as does the helmet on a whole.
Some reviews I've read suggest this helmet feels heavy after long rides, but I honestly have to say I haven't noticed it
With a smaller head than most it's been difficult to find a helmet (adult) that fits to 56" but this does so comfortably. (Though there's not much play so obviously near the limit)
I would definitely recommend this helmet to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
sb00020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Cheap and looks great

Posted26 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this along side a new bike and its really great. I've been out on some long rides so far and the helmet hasn't bothered me at all. It is comfortable, light and breathable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
NB76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good protection for good value

Posted11 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: visor comes off too easily
I've bought the Specialized Max helmet to replace an old Specialized helmet that had lasted me seven years of daily use. So far I am very happy with the Max helmet, which I chose over the Align model because I have a large head. I would recommend it to anyone.
The only thing I would flag up - and this was also a problem with my previous Specialized helmet - is that the visor is not attached to the helmet very strongly and tends to crack or simply snag on something and before you know it, it's gone. This doesn't affect the helmet or its protection, but if the visor is meant as an integral part of it, then Specialized should make them more robust, shouldn't they?
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Corden1

Strong

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Unattractive
Although the helmet is quite big in shape, it certainly protects your head well. It was only £30 and is certainly a good cheap option. The ultimate test came from when i crashed an hour into my ride and hit my head on a rock. No damage to me and the helmet was fine still.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Goliath
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Can't argue with price

Posted18 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Got this a few weeks ago. Fortunately haven't had to put it to the real test but overall it seems like it will step up to the plate if need be.
Its quite light and airy and its great value for money.
I was a bit worried that ordering it online without trying it on beforehand that it either wouldn't fit my enormous head or worse still it would exaggerate it but to my relief it actually looks pretty good and fits like a glove!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
WellPeng
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional

Posted17 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
Pretty comfortable and plenty of vents to keep your head cool.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
fistix
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great value for money

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I got this helmet because it was the only XL available and I have not regretted at all.
Recommended!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
SouthPaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice price, comfortable fit.

Posted03 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
This helmet fits comfortably and fits my large head easily and snugly. The price is good and my only negative is unimportant and aesthetic; it looks large and blocky on my head, but that is a minor concern for me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Mooshy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Very good value for money and keeps you safe

Posted21 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this helmet a few weeks back and already it has encountered a few low branches and other obstacles which kept my head safe and secure. I'd highly recommend this product not just for the price but for being a great helmet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
capedcrusader61
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic price

Posted15 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I always try to change my helmet before they get too smelly. Although I ride a road bike I prefer a mountain bike helmet because it comes with a visor, which helps to keep the weather off you. This helmet passed the ultimate test when I wore it for the "Fred Whitton Challenge" which can be dependent largely on the weather. The fitting is very good and is very comfortable and at £30.00 great value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevincl1984

Suits a fat head

Posted02 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Unattractive
Suits a big/fat head. I struggle to find hats and helmets to suit my big head. This seems to fit most big heads
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Danny13
Country:Gibraltar
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great excellent for the price

Posted15 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Really pleased with the service and the products my son over the moon as this was his 13th birthday present When we purchased the helmet under the impression that it it included a peek (as shown on the photo of the product )however this did not appear to be the case can I have one sent or what do I need to do
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pgm123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great one size fits all helmet

Posted14 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Good protection from this MTB helmet.
Good value and looks good too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yamaha20
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bang for your buck

Posted11 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, very adjustable
Excellent quality and at a great price very confidence inspiring helmet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Max Helmet
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sandiman10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
great fit and looks the part would recommend.i have an extremely large head and this doesn't look like a schoolboys cap!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>