Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Mountain Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike

Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike

We took the award winning Sight and though to ourselves how do we make an all round perfect bike better? So we added a super plush Fox 32 CTD FIT and Fox Float CTD B/V Factory series fork and shock to give you loads of control over your suspension so you can tackle the roughest trails with ease and confidence! we also upgraded the shifters to a pair or XT's, but we got even more generous and whipped on a Rockshox Reverb seatpost just for good measure. So grab one now before you miss out on one of these sweet rides.
Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 34 Answers
Customer reviews for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tubage
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Brilliant - Taking my riding to a new grin levels.

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, chuckable
Cons: can't think of any
Migrated away from Anthem X to Norco for an all mountain experience and took my new Norco Sight 2 SE out last weekend for 1st run. The reviews are spot on. The only drawback is the extra speed on the trails that took me by surprise a few times and resulted in me taking 'alternate' lines than what I would usually, on trails I know, but not the 2nd time round which is key. That's not the bikes fault at all, it just gathers speed and before you know it you're heading into a corner much faster than you would usually, I need to amend my technique to handle that. In addition to the speed it's so quiet. I'm used to rattles and chain slaps as an audible warning of speed but this bike is so much quieter you don't get that. The dropper post makes a real difference and I can see that I must hone my technique to get the best out of this bike. Which I can't wait to do.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulMcH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Superb bike. So well kitted out!

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got this as an upgrade to my old bike. It's so well kitted out in high quality parts.
It makes climbing and descending so easy!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alpinefiend
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

EXCELLENT!

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This bike is EXCELLENT, which I have to say matched the customer service I recieved from both the store manager and his team at the crawley town centre store.
This is a proper trail killing machine, I brought this at the beginnig of May after doing quite a bit of my own research, and following some advice given by the Evans guys. The build quality is excellent and feels very solid and very inspiring to ride. It climbs hills like nothing I have riden before, and then when you get to the top it just takes all the down hill trails I can throw at it with ease, I swear I can hear it egging me on to push just that little bit more.
The component set is really nice as it feels really responsive to either gear changes and braking and the SLX crankset looks and feels awesome.
Fox front and rear shocks are very easy to adjust and were set up to my weight and requirements within a couple of rides. The new CTD system makes on the fly trail adjustments very simple.
I honestly thought the dropper post was going to be one of those things you show to your mates when you first get the bike, then use it a coule of times, and then forget all about it. How wrong I was. Never again will I buy a bike without a dropper post.
I would 100% recomend the Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 to anyone wanting a well rounded extremely fun bike to ride for either weekend trial rides or full on trail centre days.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MMathieu
Country:France
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fun and fast, up and downhill

PostedMay 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, playful
Cons: scratch on the paint quickly
This bike is really playful and easy to handle.
I like to go uphill as much as going downhill and the Sight 2 is very good at both. Suspensions are really smooth on downhill, to go fast securely and it is bob free when climbing or almost unnoticeable.
Equipement is good for the price i think, with a good SLX brakes and good transmission (SLX/XT) and fox factory suspensions are once again really smooth (but fork dive on hard braking).
Did not have many MTB in my life, but this one is a really good choice i hope i could ride many years!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seasider69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Fast and Furious

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I decided to go with this SE model after much deliberation as it seemed like you got a lot for the extra cost.
I wasn't disappointed as the bike absolutely flies rounds the trails. It gives you the confidence to throw it about and ride is super smooth.
Easy to set up the suspension although I haven't fiddled too much.
I am happy? You bet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaksa
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Awesome Trail/All Mountain Bike

PostedApril 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, handling, components
Great set of components. It just flies over rock gardens and you can push is relatively fast uphill as well. If you're coming from an XC bike you will start to feel the benefits of dual suspension from the first day. The bike is perfectly balanced. No wonder it was proclaimed Trial Bike of the Year.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
krispie7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Great fun bike to ride

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I waited months to get a Lapierre Zesty 714, but after test riding it and comparing it to the Norco, decided that the Norco was much more fun!
I ride combination of cross country and single track, with occasional trail centre and a few XC races.
I'm not competitive enough to warrant a full carbon bike. The Zesty is seriously fast and light, but the Norco is so much more 'chuckable'.
It soaks up drops and rocky sections like nothing else!
Regarding previous reviewers comments about rear brake hose going into the spokes - had the same problem after my first ride - sorted it by unscrewing the hex head bolt holding the little loop tie onto the chainstay - flipped it over, and re-attached it so that the brake hose was a bit straighter - also tightened it up so that it didn't slip through - not had any more trouble with that. Having had ZTR crest rims and Hope hubs on my previous bike - this wheelset does feel quite heavy, but haven't got round to buying adaptor kit to convert from QR to the Suntace 142 x12.
I would have also preferred internal cable routing for the dropper seat post, but maybe this will come in future.
Overall, very happy with the purchase!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hare777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great looking and fun to ride

PostedFebruary 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Got this for a great price from Evans with SE spec but the Sight 2 frame which I preferred the look of.
The bike is really fun to ride and looks stunning with the black paint and yellow Norco logo.
The actual weight of the bike was approx 29.7 lbs not 28.5 as advertised but there is a huge amount of weight in the Mavic/Shimano SLX wheels and also the stock tyres and inner tubes.
I changed these and instantly cut nearly 2lbs of weight off the bike.
Apart from this the stock spec is fine and I haven't changed anything else except for the grips.
I like the Fox CTD concept but as the reviews state the forks do tend to bottom out easily particulalry in descend mode. I might put a small amount of Float fluid in the air chamber to make the forks a bit less linear.
The reverb seat post is great, the saddle and bars are comfortable and the bike just makes you want to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Norco Sight 2 SE 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ste2050
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bike I've ever ridden - Norco Sight 2 SE

PostedFebruary 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, versatile
Cons: Expensive
I've had this bike out for 3 proper rides now, on natural trails, trail centre all weather trails, long steep technical uphill and rocky DH plus a couple of small jumps and drops.
This bike soaks it all up. I'm most surprised at how well it eats up the rocky uphill. Didn't expect that. Faster and more comfortable on the uphill than my last 26lb trail hardtail (whyte 901).
The downhill is as billed, bike is super quick. I'd started to think that all the reviews were an extension of norco's marketing effort but so far the bike has backed it up. Handling is great. The 740mm bars feels spot on. Head tube slack enough for the DH but doesn't ruin the steering when pointed upwards.
With regard to sizing, I got the Large and I'm 6'. It's a reasonably long bike but after a few rides I can tell the medium would have been way too small. Plenty of room in the cockpit for climbs but I don't feel I'm struggling to whip the bike around on the trail. Bike weighed in closer to 29.5 than the 28.5lbs on the site but I suppose that's to be expected, bike weight estimates tend to relate to the medium frame.
Fox float ctd shock and fork are fine at the moment. Will need more time to assess. Rear shock really soaks everything up. Wheel glued to the ground in descend mode but still finding it super easy to bunnyhop the bike.
Reverb seat post is like a gift from god.
The only issue I have with it at the moment relates to the rear brake hose there is a zip tie on the chain stay and another clip on the seat stay just before the brake. When the suspension compresses the distance between these two points extends which draws more cable in. There is a kink in the cable which pushes it into the spokes. When the suspension is decompressed the cable/hose is not going back through the tie at the chain stay and the cable is rubbing off the spokes. Annoying. I've tried to rekink the cable outwards and I've applied wd40 to the zip tie on the chain stay so that the excess runs back through when suspension decompresses. Maybe I should get a looser cable tie. Not sure why this is happening. If anyone else has seen this let us know.
At the end of the day I wanted a really capable full-suss that still felt connected to the mountain and light enough to whip around. So far it seems that they've hit the nail on the head with this one.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.