Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike

Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike

Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
5 out of 6(83%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Review 1 for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cupu
Country:Romania
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exactly what I wanted

PostedAugust 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike to replace a stolen mtb converted for touring.
I've not ridden it on long tours yet but the bike rides great on the short trips I've taken around and out of town. Rear rack looks like a generic brand but feels pretty sturdy; I've carried about 15 pounds on it and will probably put 2-3 times that without worrying.
It's not a lightweight bike but I don't really care about weight.
I was a bit worried about shipping as it's the first time I order a bike online and it was delivered to Romania but I've had no issues. The bike was sent on Monday and I was riding it on Thursday; after un boxing I only had to:
- mount the front wheel
- clamp on the stem and adjust the handlebars
- tighten the drive wheel qr skewer
- mount the chain on the chainrings
(I understand that when ordering from the UK - so no international shipping - there's less assembly to do)
And off I went ... only to discover on the road that I also forgot to tighten the stem on the handlebar :D .. after that (and since then) everything went great.
Also: I've not ridden drop bars in 12 years so the interrupter levers are really appreciated.
I like my bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mnomic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rb Voyage

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, stable
I was initially looking at hybrids and utility bikes but this bike is an absolute do-it all machine. Iv done close on 5,000 miles on this bike, day rides, commuting and shopping. Its incredibly stable, I can load a pannier bag on one side with heavy stuff, spuds, beer, milk etc and once moving within no time the ride is unaffected, there are no balance issues at all. Two full panniers with weight on the flat, get a little bit of momentum and you can cruise effortlessly with comfort. Its all quality but everything wears in time, chains, cassettes, rims, tyres, brake blocks, that'll happen to any bike given mileage and terrain. Its not an issue all parts are replaceable. Apart from a quagmire it'll go anywhere with the excellent continental contact tyres. Iv even been bottom bracket deep through floods. What more can I say, its well on its way to becoming a design classic.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
geofft44
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

A Grand Tourer

PostedDecember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I purchased this bike through the cycle to work scheme and use it to commute 24 miles a day 4 days a week. So far it has proved to be a very good choice and is well up to the job I mainly use it for. Although its a very well equipped bike as standard I have added a Brooks B17 saddle, a dynamo front hub, compatible lights and SKS Longboard Mudguards. As I live in hilly Yorkshire I am considering lowering the gearing with a mountain bike chainset.
I hope to use it for a few longer trips such as the coast to coast next year.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
BlitheSpirit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Unfriendly and unresponsive

PostedDecember 5, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Expensive, Uncomfortable
I was expecting such great things from this bike. I found it to be heavy, sluggish, unresponsive and unfriendly. The saddle is atrociously uncomfortable and the bar tape is slippery. After less than 1000 miles the bottom bracket just fell apart. No, I would certainly not recommend buying this bike. For the price, it's a dog especially after I spent a small fortune on accessories. I had another tourer some 20 years ago from a different manufacturer which was, to be honest, in a different league.
-4points
3of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TourerConvert1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

A Range Rover of bikes

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, very versatile
Cons: disc brakes would be beneficial
I've owned this bike for several months now and found it to be a very capable tourer. I had been looking for tourer for sometime as I was looking for something more versatile than the hybrid bike I had and I ended tested this against a another tourer. Whilst the other looked more attractive and which about the same price, I much preferred the feel of this. Yes it is a "heavy" bike to get use to, especially if you have been riding lighter road bikes, hybrids etc but I found I was able to settle with it very quickly and its weight is no longer an issue for me. If anything, I think the weight gives the bike an overall more stable, better feel when riding. Furthermore, whenever you load it with luggage, the bike carries the extra weight really well that you almost don't notice it. It is fitted with a very wide range of gears which makes it very versatile for any type of riding, from hill climbing to fast road riding.
I've ridden this bike all over the Yorkshire moors, coast and wolds over the summer and took it on the Walney to Whitby coast to coast route, which is very demanding route with plenty of steep climbs, Tan Hill and some fairly rough tracks that really only mountain/cross bikes should be on. Yet this bike tackled all the abuse without any mechanical failure or puncture.
A few reviews I read before buying recommended changing the saddle and whilst it can become a sore point after 70 or so miles, I personally haven't found it that bad to justify the change for the brooks... yet, and I have happily stuck with the original for now. The only downside I've noticed is that it could do with disc brakes, but this only becomes apparent when you have heavy luggage and a steep down hill. For the rest of the time, the brakes are great. I especially like the interrupter brake levers, which is handy for those who aren't use to the drop handle brake levers (tip: if your planning to use a handle bar bag, the interrupter levers can be dropped easily)
Overall, this bike has proven itself to be phenomenally reliable, comfortable and very capable at tackling a wide range of routes and riding conditions. It's versatility for handling luggage, road conditions, track (forest, mountain and coastline) conditions, hills and being able to go comfortably whether you ride it leisurely or as fast as you like has made it a true pleasure to ride and has lead it to be nicknamed the "Range Rover". It' worth making sure you get sized properly for this bike, I was recommended to go for one size smaller than I would have normally gone for and I'm glad I did as the frame has a large geometry.
I am very pleased with this bike and would highly recommend it!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Mnomic
 
Please wait while more information about Mnomic is loaded.
Additional information about Mnomic could not be loaded.
Ridgeback Voyage Brakes
Posted March 2, 2014
I had an issue with the Tektro Oryx brakes not being strong enough and changed the back for Tektro Cyclocross Cantilever CR 720 widepull brakeset which proved to be a vast improvement.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Ridgeback Voyage 2013 Touring Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
laidback
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

quite a good tourer.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
its ok. had it for about a month. will do the job. but frame size still a bit big for my short stature - 5 ft 3. clumsy in the headset area. but for bottom of price range tourer, perfectly reasonable machine. lousy saddle, but arent they all. chucked it and fitted brooks. also discarded pedals and fitted spd. luggage rack on the heavy side for me - im not carrying tent plus kitchen sink. good low gear for the hills.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.