Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike

Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.2 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(5 reviews) 5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 5 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
5 out of 5(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kipling130

Great Allrounder

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought one of these in May, the bike has been used for several thousand miles usually on the daily commute without problem beyond the usual cable stretch a problem fixed in a moment.
I use it mainly on the road but have it off road on a number of occasions used it on country paths and it handles these without issue. I recently smashed it into a kerb at about 8 mph and felt sure the wheel would be damaged. There is no perceptible damage to the wheel that i can see/feel.
The hydraulic disk brakes have given no problems and are rather more powerful than grip is available.
A few people have mentioned that the chain and associated equipment are of mediocre quality but they are wearing fine, the chain has not yet reached 0.75% stretch despite my enthusiastic use and only occasional cleaning. I will probably replace them with higher quality kit in due course, but only when they need replacing.
The grips are far from the most comfortable I've ever used but do the job fine.
Yes the bike is heavier than some available, but im not sure i see the value of spending another 500quid to save 1kg.
Perhaps to be expected but it took a couple of hundred miles of running before everything losened up and I was able to get the most out of the bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Asturia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great purchase!!!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great, strong, fast
I have made already 400 km aprox on this bike both commuting to work and exploring some of the beautiful country lanes surrounding the Harefield-Denham-Rickmansworth-Northwood areas. I am glad to say that other than the initial visit to "my closest store" 5 miles away in Notting Hill to fix a problem with the chain, I didn´t have any problem at all. This bike is very fast,not too light (a little more than 11 kilos) but strong enough to make you feel confident when dealing with the treacherous conditions of some of the roads in London (potholes above all). Its breaks are great,speed is quite remarkable for a bike of this kind and all in all I do recommend this product for those who like me wish to ride to work and enjoy doing exercise outdoors. It looks great as well!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gnuvag

Overall good value for a good bike

PostedJuly 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I tried lots of hybrids in this price range and found this one to be the best overall, considering all factors.
There were other bikes that were a bit lighter, or had better gears, etc. - but I thought for the price this one had the best balance of everything.
If you're looking for a pretty swift hybrid that's great for everyday commuting, but would also be quite happy doing a decent length road ride, then I'd definitely recommend this. And it looks pretty cool too!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zeppe
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

nice solid bike!

PostedApril 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Comfortable to ride, the handlebar grips are a bit thin and hurt the palms if you aren't used to it in the long run.
The brakes are very good, the frame is nice and rigid and the driver feels secure.
I'm 1.81 and bought the large model, which fits me perfectly. I flipped the handle bar stem in 5 minutes to get a more crounched stance on the bike.
The gears aren't top end of the brand but really smooth and quick, so I'm satisfied of these too.
I use the bike for daily 8km commute (16km/day) and I also had a first 50km ride in the weekend, and I can say I'm very happy with the purchase.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ridgeback Flight 01 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RepsGill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Very good bike

PostedDecember 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: little chain line problem
I would recommend this bike. Rides very well and looks awesome. The only problem I have is that I am experiencing chain line issue, which hopefully Evans are able to rectify when i go for my first service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.