Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Expert Road Shoe

Specialized Expert Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 24Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
iMarcus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

really comfortable

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I love these shoes, they are so comfortable straight out of the box, helped by the boa system which makes the shoes fill like more of a glove when tightened - the whole shoe pulls against your foot rather than if you have laces or ratchet straps. Next stop is to get a professional fitting to see if I would benefit from any of the body geometry add ins.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
X11wls
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Looks great, works perfectly.

Posted08 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Quality product from specialized. I was thinking about a different set of shoes, but I'm so glad I went with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimbob19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very comfy

Posted26 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
bought three sets of shoes to find the ones that fitted best. These won.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
germas
It was bought:Online

Decent product

Posted25 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great light shoes! Enjoy the product a lot, although having half sizes would be beneficial.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
frenchescapee
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very attractive shoe

Posted15 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
purchased these on offer, and for the price paid, great value.
Only drawback is that they do not have replaceable heel pads, which for me, means binning them after 2 seasons.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
PaulR101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Recommended!

Posted12 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, keeps socks clean.
I was forced into buying new shoes when my old ones decided they didn't like cycling anymore.
I tried a few pairs on, one at a a time mind, and found these fitted perfectly. Imagine my surprise as, like most people, I suspected cycling shoes were the last gasp effort of the Spanish Inquisition (no-one expects the Spanish Inquisition).
They do exactly what you want cycling shoes to do. i.e. Fit your feet, one for each side. Clamp you to the bike (you must have a bike to use these - not included as I found out) and stop your socks getting muddy when you put your foot down.
You can't run in them. You need different shoes for that. They look nice with a cream suit though.
Hope this helps.
+8points
12of 16voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
simonmlyx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Stiff, comfortable and look great

Posted28 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, noticeable power gain
Cons: Expensive, non-replaceable toe and heel pads
These shoes give a noticeable boost in cycling performance and pedalling power as soon as you put them on. On my first ride in them I was pleasantly surprised with how much more efficient my pedal stroke was compared with the old shoes - tearing up miles on the flat seems effortless!
They are comfortable to wear on long days in the saddle and the Boa closure system will ensure that there are no pressure points. They also look great.
The only issue I have is that the toe and heel pads are not replaceable which is surprising on a shoe that is priced this highly. The pads do seem to be fairly durable but it is something to consider.
Overall a great product and definitely recommend
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
CelesteIsBest
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Comfortable (once worn-in) and efficient

Posted09 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had a much cheaper pair of Specialized road shoes for years but age was starting to get the better of them. I bought some Sidi 5s but the footbed had too much arch for my feet so they went on eBay. I tried the Expert Road Shoes and my feet felt at home again. They are a little bit narrower than my old pair but I can feel them getting better every time I wear them. The sole is noticeably stiff and the finish is wipe clean. The Boa closure is nice, but beware the cable wearing away the fabric on the edge of the opening when you open them up; this had worn a hole on the display pair that I saw.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Pressdeec
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lovely lightweight and stiff

Posted02 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A fantastic shoe for the money. I stick with specialized shoes as they tend to fit my wide feet well. I upgraded from the pro which had served me well over thousands of kilometres and five years with no issues at all
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Roosta
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've gone through quite a few pairs over the years, but this is certainly the most comfortable straight out of the box. The boa system works really well and tightens the shoe evenly across the foot compared to individual straps. I took advice and went up half a size which was a good move as specialized are a bit small on their sizing. It's not the stiffest outsole but still pretty good at this price point and it is very light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Mehdster

Like wearing a sock

Posted12 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Outstanding shoe. Perfect for even the longest of rides, the boa system ensures that the shoe is perfectly snug and comfortable however hard you are working. Power transfer is excellent. Best shoes I have worn so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadCyclist27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoes

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Was a little concerned that Specialized don't do 1/2 sizes in these, but it wasn't an issue in the end. They fit well and feel good on the feet. They also look the part. Recommended, if maybe a tad pricey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Mamse
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No need for s-sworks

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This shoe is a replacement for my 4 year old s-works shoe.
This shoe uses the same boa system and the sole feels just as stiff as on the old s-works shoe.
The fit is as always perfect (on my feet that is).
I see no reason to pay the extra for the s-works model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dawzy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Fits like a glove!

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I couldn't believe how comfortable these shoes were. they are light weight, tighten up by the turn of a dial and just encases your feet. excellent quality. for the price I wouldn't hesitate!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Obregon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

High quality, light shoe.

Posted10 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these having had Specialised mountain bike shoes which were good quality and lasted well. These road shoes came up smaller and narrower so you will probably need a size up ftrom your normal shoe sizing. Construction and finish is excellent throughout though the shiny white bits look a bit bling - hopefully these will not stand out so much once worn in a bit. Firm sole gives efficient pedalling action and shoes were comfy on first ride. Like all reviews of new products, only time will tell how they last / perform in the long term but these look well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mike71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Good price and helpful/knowledgable assistance

Posted22 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had been looking out for a pair of road shoes and eventually stopped off at Evans to try on a few. The assistant was really helpful on sizing etc and I was happy with the price. Really good shoes but saving them for better weather...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rodgerthadodger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Amazing Road Shoe

Posted15 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only my second pair of road shoes, previously owned a pair of Garneau's but these shoes ar a complete class above those. Extremely comfortable, great looking mind you they are Specialized so they ooze quality.
Cannot recommend this shoe highly enough to all levels , next to my bike these are the second best things i own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrShaun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Specialised road shoe

Posted14 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, stiffness
Invested in a relatively expensive road shoe. Makes a big difference to pedal stroke and foot position. It really feels as if you are transferring more of your energy to the wheel due to the stiffness of the sole. No lateral movement of my foot in the pedal anymore and the lacing mechanism works a treat. Wish I had bought them earlier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigPoppa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Not cheap but fantastic comfort and quality

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Always try before you buy I found an extra size to fit me best
Awesome shoes easily adjusted whilst on the bike which most shoes can't offer, comfy on long rides and lightweight a no brainer!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IvarH
Country:Estonia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect shoes

Posted01 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good for my wider feet, adjusting is so easy during the ride and the sole is stiff. Very well priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>