Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Expert Road Shoe

Specialized Expert Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.79 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 19(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
9 Questions | 21 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
PaulR101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Recommended!

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, keeps socks clean.
I was forced into buying new shoes when my old ones decided they didn't like cycling anymore.
I tried a few pairs on, one at a a time mind, and found these fitted perfectly. Imagine my surprise as, like most people, I suspected cycling shoes were the last gasp effort of the Spanish Inquisition (no-one expects the Spanish Inquisition).
They do exactly what you want cycling shoes to do. i.e. Fit your feet, one for each side. Clamp you to the bike (you must have a bike to use these - not included as I found out) and stop your socks getting muddy when you put your foot down.
You can't run in them. You need different shoes for that. They look nice with a cream suit though.
Hope this helps.
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
simonmlyx
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Stiff, comfortable and look great

PostedJuly 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, noticeable power gain
Cons: Expensive, non-replaceable toe and heel pads
These shoes give a noticeable boost in cycling performance and pedalling power as soon as you put them on. On my first ride in them I was pleasantly surprised with how much more efficient my pedal stroke was compared with the old shoes - tearing up miles on the flat seems effortless!
They are comfortable to wear on long days in the saddle and the Boa closure system will ensure that there are no pressure points. They also look great.
The only issue I have is that the toe and heel pads are not replaceable which is surprising on a shoe that is priced this highly. The pads do seem to be fairly durable but it is something to consider.
Overall a great product and definitely recommend
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
CelesteIsBest
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Comfortable (once worn-in) and efficient

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have had a much cheaper pair of Specialized road shoes for years but age was starting to get the better of them. I bought some Sidi 5s but the footbed had too much arch for my feet so they went on eBay. I tried the Expert Road Shoes and my feet felt at home again. They are a little bit narrower than my old pair but I can feel them getting better every time I wear them. The sole is noticeably stiff and the finish is wipe clean. The Boa closure is nice, but beware the cable wearing away the fabric on the edge of the opening when you open them up; this had worn a hole on the display pair that I saw.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
Pressdeec
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lovely lightweight and stiff

PostedJune 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A fantastic shoe for the money. I stick with specialized shoes as they tend to fit my wide feet well. I upgraded from the pro which had served me well over thousands of kilometres and five years with no issues at all
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Roosta
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've gone through quite a few pairs over the years, but this is certainly the most comfortable straight out of the box. The boa system works really well and tightens the shoe evenly across the foot compared to individual straps. I took advice and went up half a size which was a good move as specialized are a bit small on their sizing. It's not the stiffest outsole but still pretty good at this price point and it is very light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Mehdster

Like wearing a sock

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Outstanding shoe. Perfect for even the longest of rides, the boa system ensures that the shoe is perfectly snug and comfortable however hard you are working. Power transfer is excellent. Best shoes I have worn so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadCyclist27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoes

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Was a little concerned that Specialized don't do 1/2 sizes in these, but it wasn't an issue in the end. They fit well and feel good on the feet. They also look the part. Recommended, if maybe a tad pricey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Mamse
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

No need for s-sworks

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This shoe is a replacement for my 4 year old s-works shoe.
This shoe uses the same boa system and the sole feels just as stiff as on the old s-works shoe.
The fit is as always perfect (on my feet that is).
I see no reason to pay the extra for the s-works model.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dawzy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Fits like a glove!

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I couldn't believe how comfortable these shoes were. they are light weight, tighten up by the turn of a dial and just encases your feet. excellent quality. for the price I wouldn't hesitate!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Obregon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

High quality, light shoe.

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I bought these having had Specialised mountain bike shoes which were good quality and lasted well. These road shoes came up smaller and narrower so you will probably need a size up ftrom your normal shoe sizing. Construction and finish is excellent throughout though the shiny white bits look a bit bling - hopefully these will not stand out so much once worn in a bit. Firm sole gives efficient pedalling action and shoes were comfy on first ride. Like all reviews of new products, only time will tell how they last / perform in the long term but these look well made.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mike71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Good price and helpful/knowledgable assistance

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had been looking out for a pair of road shoes and eventually stopped off at Evans to try on a few. The assistant was really helpful on sizing etc and I was happy with the price. Really good shoes but saving them for better weather...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rodgerthadodger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Amazing Road Shoe

PostedAugust 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Only my second pair of road shoes, previously owned a pair of Garneau's but these shoes ar a complete class above those. Extremely comfortable, great looking mind you they are Specialized so they ooze quality.
Cannot recommend this shoe highly enough to all levels , next to my bike these are the second best things i own.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DrShaun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Specialised road shoe

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, stiffness
Invested in a relatively expensive road shoe. Makes a big difference to pedal stroke and foot position. It really feels as if you are transferring more of your energy to the wheel due to the stiffness of the sole. No lateral movement of my foot in the pedal anymore and the lacing mechanism works a treat. Wish I had bought them earlier!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigPoppa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Not cheap but fantastic comfort and quality

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Always try before you buy I found an extra size to fit me best
Awesome shoes easily adjusted whilst on the bike which most shoes can't offer, comfy on long rides and lightweight a no brainer!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IvarH
Country:Estonia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect shoes

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good for my wider feet, adjusting is so easy during the ride and the sole is stiff. Very well priced.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rjcouchman
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

This product is very well built and confortable

PostedMay 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These shoes feel very comfortable, the simple twist tight lock makes them so easy for getting in and out, i look forward to using them for my triathalon.
The shoes have a very breathable feel so even when cycling for many hours my feet remain dry and comfortable.
The solid build means that there is no loss of power as i cycle up hill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
tomclear
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

BodyGeometry Not For Me

PostedApril 29, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
So got these shoes last week and they look great. The Boa® L4 rotary closure works really well and feels light. The velcro strap didn't seem to tighten on my size 43 foot and was therefore a little redundant. The shoe upper feels snug, light and comfortable with lots of support. The footbed on the other hand was uncomfortable and does not suit my foot. The arch support was ok but the metatarsal pad caused my toes to go numb after about 20mins. For that reason they have to go back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tanthalas19
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Very light and comfortable

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got these shoes at the same time as my first road bike since I was a teenager as part of my employer's Bikes for Work scheme. Had been wanting to try proper shoes for a while instead of the usual trainers or cross trainers I'd been using on the hybrid. I immediately found a world of difference not only in comfort, but in the power transfer to the pedals! They seem well made and the wire "lacing" system is ideal for this type of shoe as you can have them tighter or looser depending how hot or cold it is without any loss of comfort. They are well vented, but haven't had any issues on rainy days yet, though I probably should buy overshoes for those really cold days. Cool looking shoes too. The staff in the shop were all having a good look with their "green eyes" when I picked them up. No doubt a few more sales there then.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Expert Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jak55
Country:Australia
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fanastic road shoes

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The specialized road shoes ,my first pair are a perfect fit and to ride in. I feel i have more pedal power and they just feel great . I will certainly be buying another pair when i wear these out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.