Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Comp Road Shoe

Specialized Comp Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.458 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
22 out of 24(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Review 1 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
vtwin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

PostedSeptember 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Nice bit of Kit, Very quick to do up and undo. Mechanism is much better than faffing about with Velcro or Ski boot type fasteners
Comfortable tightens evenly on to foot.
Look Ok and not too flashy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DevonStu71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Check your foot shape.

PostedSeptember 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I ordered a pair of these after my old spesh shoes finally died
after 5 years. Although these are of good quality. These do not suit my feet. I have "duck feet" - they are wide at the ball area but narrow at the heal - and these were not secure enough.
I head to return these to Evans (very quick refund) and buy some Bont mouldable ones instead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
SmileySteve
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Lovely shoe,excellent value,just check size first

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, good ventalation
Cons: none so far
Lovely shoe really comfortable,excellent ventalation,good value.I'm a size 10Uk and found size 46 were perfect even with my slightly wide feet.
They tighten up nicely with the dial witch is a god send when taking your shoes off quickly.
Good quality as you would expect from specialized.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bege

Great comfort

PostedAugust 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
These shoes are very comfortable as well as practical with easy tightening and loosening. They look good as well:)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
GW42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Tour de force - thanks

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfy really good looking shoes, life time gurantee on the mecanhism - made easy to buy by knowledgable staff
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jono67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfortable fit and well made for the money.

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
When you get these on they feel very secure and don't slip even when you're powering away. The Boa dial keeps them snug without squeezing the life out of your foot and cutting off the circution. They seem solidly constructed and are nice and light too. Good spec for the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
zambezi88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

great shoes

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought these having tried them on in the shop, very pleased, very comfortable
would recomend to anyone
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlackVelvet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

You get what you pay for!

PostedMay 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, adjustable
I previously owned the much older version of this shoe (which some may consider to be better) I decided to commit to buying this as during cleat replacement i somehow managed to damage the threading on both shoes (I suspect the ravages of time had taken their toll on these well used shoes).
At first I wasn't impressed with the new BOA closure system as I didn't believe it felt as secure as the two Velcro & one ratchet system of its predecessor but after 300+ miles of getting used to it I am totally satisfied with this shoe & it is a worthy replacement for my old faithful.
With this shoe, the key to avoiding numb feet is not to do the BOA system up too tightly. At first it feels like you need to do this in order to achieve the same degree of snugness as the old shoe, but bizarrely this isn't the case. If you do it up too tightly then you will suffer! Just experiment until you find what works for you.
The shoe looks and feels very good & is deceptively light. It doesn't feel cheap at all but only time will determine whether this will last me 9 years like my old ones did!!
Initially it felt like the shoe wasn't as secure on the heal but I experienced no problems while powering up hills or during sprints and as mentioned above you need to find that tension 'sweet spot' that works for you.
I have relatively broad feet and these fit perfectly. I have a 110 miler coming up & I'm confident I will have no issues with this shoe whatsoever.
Reviews do help but sometimes they hinder, I've been cycling for 27 years & for me these are very good shoes & I have been through a few pairs in my lifetime!!!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
KennyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

great looks, super quality, excellent fit

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A high quality shoe that you would expect from Specialized. Perhaps a bit pricey when compared with other brands but with care and looking after they will last a long time. The tightening system does away with the velcro straps on other shoes giving cleaner lines and ensures a nice even tight fit without pressure areas.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danne74
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe

PostedApril 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This shoe has great has great fit and I really like the boa lace system. Stiff, light and good looking.
Since they are well vented they need thin shoe cover from 10 Celsius and below.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Car1os
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

comfortable lightweight shoes

PostedMarch 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have been using the shoes now for a couple of weeks and have no issues so far. They are comfortable lightweight & have stiff soles, this is the first shoes I have worn using the boa fastening system very good for any minor adjustments whilst on the move. Good value and fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
JJB01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great shoe

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The width on the shoes are wider than shimano shoes, which is good for me. I usually take an 11.5 in trainers so took a 12 which fitted perfectly. The boa fit is a great feature.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Modwheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Excellent shoe that looks great

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This shoe looks great is really comfortable and I would recommend.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pughie56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great comfortable shoes

PostedOctober 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Having already owned these shoes in white I decided to order a black pair and again I'm not disappointed. great looking and comfortable to wear on short or long rides, and with the boa fasting system I can't fault these shoes at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigDave2735
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great shoe

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Initially the overall look of the shoe stood out to me but secondly the wire tightening system which I’ve used on motorcycle boots stood out and knowing how comfortable this system makes them, I thought I’d at least try them on.
Initial thoughts were positive so I took the plunge and bought them. Over the last 3-4 weeks I've only managed to ride just over 250 miles, but must admit, they have not caused me any trouble what so ever, never once hurting and always felt secure whilst allowing positive power transfer. (Having a pro fit on my bike with the shoes helps massively – would recommend). They are very stiff in the soul but again while riding you simple forget everything and concentrate on your ride, you don’t know you’re wearing them.
Defiantly worth the money
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bradders1971

Specialized road shoes

PostedSeptember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Amazing quality, fit, and price
Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
phil52
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

faulty boa fastening .

PostedAugust 14, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
Brought the 2012 version of these shoes september last year.hardly used them until spring this year as they are fot summer use.after about five months of use i couldnt tighten the right shoe .obviously the boa retension system not upto much as other people on here had similar problems.took them back to evans in nottingham as they were still under warranty.saying that as i couldnt tighten the shoe up i couldnt use them so they were not fit for perpose.cut a long story short jordan at the nottingham shop said he'd sort the problem.got a call two week later to say the shoe had been repaired free of charge.carnt fault the staff but really dissapointed in the shoes.will not buy any more shoes with the boa system
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gigster

usual specialized quality

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Light, comfortable, stylish. Can't fault these shoes, these are the most comfortable shoes I've bought. Wide toe box which suits my feet, varus wedge built in & BG insoles, perfect. Highly recommended
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GTW81
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value for a light and comfortable road shoe

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Light, comfortable and reasonably priced. Ideal for long commutes and sportive type rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Comp Road Shoe
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Hannes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great fitting shoe - poor quality

PostedJuly 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
Got these shoes in November 2012, and for seven months they were great. Comfortable on long journeys, well ventilated. Insoles are OK but on longer distances in hilly terrain started getting very numb feet. This was solved by getting some Body Geometry Footbeds (highly recommended)
BUT
The big issues came 7 months later (after they have done about 2,200 miles) - the BOA rotary closure dislodged - the bits that fixes it to the shoe couldn't handle it, and the lines have lost their protective sheething.
For a pair of shoes that cost £120 this is not acceptable - I still need to talk to Specialized to see how they are going to deal with the problem. Will report back when I have
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Kcycle
London
 
Please wait while more information about Kcycle is loaded.
Additional information about Kcycle could not be loaded.
Boa closure systems
Posted July 22, 2013
I have these shoes too, the BOA system has a lifetime warranty I think, just head over to the boa website and go to the warranty section, they'll ship the parts to you for free and give you instructions on how to fit them in. Happened to me, closure system was good as new. By the way, you'd be looking for the L4 type closure system.
+2points
2of 2voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
1 2 next>>