Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe

Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe

Overall rating:
4.349 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(43 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 43 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
20
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 43(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
33 Questions | 48 Answers
Customer reviews for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Review 1 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
marcivic
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light and friendly :)

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Got these as first-time upgrade from trainers, and went for them rather than the shimano 87s due to the ratcheting system.
So glad I did that, it's ALL about the ratchet for increased performance and comfort. When you're climbing it's so good to feel 'locked in' on the upstroke, the responsiveness makes a huge difference. And the ratchet itself feels of good quality and works well, even on the move.
As with most clipless, you have to size up - my trainers are 43/44, and I got the 45s and could definitely not go smaller on length.
My feet are particularly narrow for their length, though, and after using these I could probably do with a slightly narrower shoe. If one exists for the size. However, even with a bit of extra room in the toe, I don't feel uncomfortable in them. In particular there's no issue with blistering or anything, as the heel is still solid. And on cold days the 'wiggle' room seems a good thing. The cold-resistance seems pretty low though, even with the 'winter in-soles', although I have no shoe to compare to. I'm wearing two pairs of socks during the winter, and that seems to fill the space and increase cold-resistance without feeling unnatural.
They seem pretty light too, again, noticable on the climbs. I got the silver ones and they look surprisingly un-garish!
A good all-rounder for £59.99. 4 stars.
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
InThePeloton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

My first pair

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The decision was made to try proper shoes with the pedals on my new bike. I have had them for a week now and been on a few rides. The difference between shoes and trainers is massive. On the climbs I feel I can attack the climb and gain some speed on the flat.
They are very comfortable, and fit my wide feet very well. I tried on other shoes but these fitted me the best. I do also like the ratchet system as you don't get any movement which is ideal on any climb. I am getting used to clipping in and out whilst on the move and in time this will become natural.
I opted for silver as these match the bike and helmet, but did contemplate the red or yellow pair. However no 44 in yellow so went with the silver.
The ratchet system is a little bit annoying when putting the shoes on, but I think this is me just not yet used to them get.
Overall a very nice pair of entry shoes and I am happy with them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snakeyboy

great value shoe

Posted02 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
nice fit and plenty of room in the toe box, even for my wide feet.
I opted for the size 45 when im normally a 44. They're fine, could've got away with the 44 in the Summer, but not with a warmer sock n the winter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sturunna2
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quite wide fitting.

Posted01 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Nice stiff soles, normal sizing, i.e. a 43 is a 43! Not as good as Sidi but for a shade under £60 i might consider a pair of spares (if i can get them in the Italian colours!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
martinpio27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great shoes for the money

Posted31 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
got my shoes next day,put the pedal clips on and away i went. Very comfortable two sets of inner soles. A great air flow through the shoe to keep my feet cool when it gets hot. Very pleased after I had tried many shoes all prices and did not feel as good. Also Evans were twenty pound cheaper than anywhere else, and even they had them on deals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
SmudgerSmith22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe for price.

Posted23 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had these shoes a month or so now and they are very comfortable. the ratchet is good and works very well. Great shoe for the price I paid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GMan96
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great First Road Shoe

Posted21 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought these as a first clipless Road Shoe to go with Shimano 105 SPD-SL pedals.
Went with the concensus and ordered 1 size larger than normal.
Now covered over 300 miles, inc 70 mile sportive & found shoes comfortable, ratchet ensures a good fit & no issues with the quality. As a first road shoe - can't fault them so far.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cookie65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very Pleased with this product

Posted09 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am 65 and have just started cycling after many years. This is my first pair of cycling shoes and I bought them for seemingly good value & spec. I also gives me the choice of SPD or SPD-SL cleats. My foot size is between 8 & 9 so went for size 43, perfect fit! You also get summer & winter insoles. Great shoe all round
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jkulin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male

Excellent Beginner Shoes

Posted06 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bought these for my son, excellent quality, stiff sole, a little heavier than the likes of Sidi's but at a bargain price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matt72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value stylish looking shoe

Posted04 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very pleased with these shoes. They look good, come with two different insoles for Summer and Winter, are comfortable and good value at the reduced price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CaptainSid72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice shoes.

Posted01 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: fiddly buckle release
I got these in the sale - very pleased with the shoes.
I got the yellow ones:-) They come with 2 sets of insoles too - winter and summer, which is a nice touch.
Strangely, the soles are identical to my current (different brand) shoes, which were far cheaper even at their full price, but that's no downside to be honest.
The only issue I have with these shoes is that the buckle release is a bit fiddly, and being my first buckle shoes it took a bit of sussing out!!
All in all, nice quality and in yellow they look the mutts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
ragtag
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

OK, but not for me

Posted26 April 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Fit was ok, but the upped is very rigid. Toe area is large, too large for me. I couldn't get the toe strap to get anywhere near tight enough, in fact the toe strap just didn't move.
Although they look great now, I'm not sure they would remain that way for very long.
Nice idea with the two sets of insoles, winter and summer. Although the winter insoles seemed to be the one with all the extra vent holes - can't help thinking that these were made in error.
Great for use in very hot weather I would imagine as it has lots and lots of vents but in the UK this is not usually an issue, at least not for me.
They are stiff, however, I didn't use them on the bike and returned the shoes. Some shoes just suit some people better than others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sipolar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shoe.

Posted22 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great shoe for the price, features you'd find on much more expensive products. Excellent fit and very comfy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
snowmann
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good venting and good looks

Posted31 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, lots of vents
Cons: micrometric strap feels a bit cheap
i got the silver ones and previously i was using a pair of 20 year old carnacs.
the spiuks are not of the same high quality leather finish as my old carnacs and the micrometer strap feels a bit cheap but they are very well ventilated and spacious at the toe box.
i usually wear 41-42 of street shoes and the 43 fit me well here.
on the bike, the feel is positive and they are reasonably comfy.
they come with 2 pairs of soles, summer and winter. which is a nice detail. i tried only the winter soles as of now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
George01
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted27 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable shoe at a good price.Quality is very good for a light weigh shoe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chris389
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shoe but!!

Posted19 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Hi
I bought the shoe and seemed good. Just found the size I needed it fit that well. I think it's my feet and not the shoe
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable

Posted18 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
These are my first road shoes and clipless pedals. The shoe is really comfortable and the clips to do the shoe up are brilliant for keeping the shoe tight (but not too tight). I have quite wide feet and these fit fine. As others have said, get one size up from what you normally are. I'm a size 9 but got a 10 and they're perfect. Bought with Shimano R540 light action pedals and they clip in and out beautifully. They look really smart as well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
jedijeff
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted17 March 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
A little too broad for my feet, tried to tighten the velcro more, but it seems to reach the limit. the velcro strap at the back is just the plain thin velcro material. the strap sewing worksmanship is average.
Overall is ok for the price i guess.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
older222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent Shoe

Posted14 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Staff at B'ham were great, didn't have my size but ordered for me, came into store after a few days, tried on and sorted.
Had a size bigger than i needed as Italian sizes always small.
Good value for money shoe.
Thanks
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoe
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
OMurchu
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Nice design, comfortable for my first clip in shoe

Posted12 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, speed of delivery
I must say I love dealing with Evans, create an order, pay your money and recieve your goods within days, great job.
As far the shoe, love them and the rachet system really tightens you into the shoe..... Forgot to mention the price, these were on sale and an absolute steal !
thank you guys from one happy customer in Ireland : )
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>