Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes

Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes

Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woolfy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really comfy and a good fit superb quality and love the ratchet straps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

A good mountain bike shoe

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This was my first pair of bike shoes and I am very happy with them having had them recommended to me in the Fenchurch St store. I went a size bigger than my regular footwear. They are lightweight, comfortable, the ratchet is a nice touch, and they are easy to walk in.
Bought in conjunction with the M530 SPD Trail Pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Iwantacervelo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Excellent fast/long distance urban commuting shoe

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These were recommeded by one of the staff in London West End branch and I'm very pleased. They're stiffer - and faster- than my old Specialized Tahoe Sport and actually more comfortable.
Nice and light and I love the ratchet straps - my first pair with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dan1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Got for my cyclocross bike

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Never used clip shoes or peddle before, but went on recommendation of a friend and can't believe how better they are
The shoes are very comfey and iv been completing 50+ mile rides in them.
They are also good to walk in.
Very pleased
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A bit tight at time

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Great shoes but can feel tight at time it might be a problem with the position of the cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Ramster

Good shoe for first timer to clipless pedals

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: nothing against
Afterh having done a quick review, I purchased this shoe for my new bike. Tried a pair at Evans and then ordered on-line for a size up once I was 100% sure. An excellent shoe for the price - works well with Shimano A530 Touring Pedals and Shimano SH56 SPD cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTBRick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Comfortable soli shoe

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Got these on a price match - very happy with them. They size the same way that Louis Garneau shoes do - I take a UK shoe size 9 and wear a 44 MTB shoe. Shoes are well made and a good fit for toe area and at the heel - expect to get many comfortable miles out of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
Probie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes - great value

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a cyclist new to cleeted shoes I did a lot of research before making my purchase. I've narrow feet so was concerned initially about sizing. I'm delighted with the shoes - they're a great fit (thanks to the adjustable but secure straps) and make a huge difference in performance on my road bike. The soles are rigid enough to ensure maximum power is transmitted without making walking difficult - ideal for touring. Another big plus is that the shoes keep your feet warm and dry in all but the worst that the recent wet weather can throw at you. Great value, comfortable and very pleased with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
EnfieldRifle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Great shoes for a commuter at a good price.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these from Evans, Fenchurch Street, who as a team give consistently high levels of service across the board. They priced matched the shoe so I got a quality product at a good price. I'm a bulk standard Size 10 in normal shoes, and have wide feet. A Size 46 fits perfectly even with thick SealSkin socks and they were comfortable to ride in and walk in from the off. Commuting into London each day, they've kept my feet warm and dry through the worst weather they're likely to face. I'd recommend them to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexis1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Great

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great comfortable bike shoes. Great having the adjustable clip to fasten them. Easy to to slip on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Patrick97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Simple, functioning and good stability

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: not the best out there, compromised
This shoe is neither XC stiff or AM grippy/compliant, it's an all around decent shoe. It is very stable when clipped in and there is no tortional flex meaning clipping out doesn't require any extra effort. It is a very mechanical feeling that works great with shimano XC md 520s or the broader XT trails (which I've stuck to) the shoe isn't particularly stiff vertically which means that power transfer isn't the best out there but you can't have everything! The fastening mechanism is very comfortable and easy to use (even when using gloves which is novel!) but can get stuck if done wound up all the way which is a pain. Decent mud shedding and good enough grip when pushing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Whatyadoinsucka
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Team up with m520 pedals fora. Massive advantage

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Comfortable
Just got back into mtb after a 20 year absence and although riding in trainers is ok, I wanted to see the impact of riding in real shoes and clear peddles
These are a great option and teamed up with the shimano m520 available for. £15 you can't go wrong, a tough sole for power transfer and easy fastening system, the cleat fit is dead simple 5-10 min job and I got used to riding with feet attached after the first ride.. Far easier than the horror story's you hear..set the tension on the pedal to the lowest setting.. Click out when you need, but doesn.t click out unexpectedly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GT2013
Country:Bhutan
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This is a good all round mountain bke shoe

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Stiff with good power transfer to the pedals. The buckle system is easy open easy fasten, and this is great for long rides or races when you want to relax the fit, but then tighten up for a climb or sprint. I found that it is a narrow fit, this can be uncomfortable on longer rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
KeiCan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Comfortable, solid

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
Comfortable, solid shoe, good fastenings and treads. I had to get a slightly bigger size than expected for a good fit. Only down side is they're heavier than I'd like.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IanGo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent shoe

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: none
These shoes are extremely comfortable as I have wide feet. Nice snug fit without pinching
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stebert

Brilliant.

PostedAugust 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought these after more or less trying on every pair of shoes in store. I tried various shoes on and got these for my slightly wider feet (as some where a little tight) and for the comfort. Haven't had these long but they look and feel like there gonna last a while and feel pretty comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gooders808
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great SPD shoe

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great shoe and a great fit. I bought one size larger than normal and it was perfect. I was concerned that they may be a little too tight but the fit is great and feels firm. Definitely recommend these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mford
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Nice fit

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
used with the Shimano M520 SPD pedals. They are a nice fit and are easily adjustable with the rachet tightners. Recently did over 50 miles on a ride and feet felt fine all the way through
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulH23

Excellent fit and really comfortable

PostedApril 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these to replace a pair of Shimano MTB MT42 shoes which after breaking my ankle didn't fit so well. The 'wide fit' has given my foot the extra room and I have to say that these are like wearing slippers (not that I have any). I normally take an 11 shoe but chose the 12 wide fit and they fit like a glove with a bit of room for thicker socks in the winter. Very pleased with these shoes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Godric80
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Quality & Good Fit

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Good fit and easy to fix cleats. Mixture of Velcro straps and ratchet ensures no movement. Soles gives good rigidity without loss of feel and with a rebate for the cleat, walking is no problem at all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>