Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes

Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes

Overall rating:
4.697 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
24
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 33(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Owen59
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

First time with clip-in shoes

PostedAugust 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This is the first time for me in clip-in shoes, they are much better than riding in trainers and when I get off my bike I can walk around just fine.
I would recommend these to anybody, including first-timers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
MinusNothing

Nice shoes

PostedJuly 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
I am a perfect 7.5UK in street shoes and bought the 42. They were a little too big in lenght and width but I stuck in some high volume insoles and they fit better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
kaypee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Comfortable shoes for wider feet

PostedJuly 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, wider fit
I mostly use a road bike but have found road shoes a bit uncomfortable on longer rides. Two hours in and I am desperate to get my shoes off. I have wide feet that seem to get wider as I get older. I decided, on a friend's recommendation, to try MTB shoes for my road bike and bought these in size larger than my actual size. A big improvement in terms of comfort and I am very happy with these shoes. I can also use them on my hybrid and they are easier to walk in when needed. I recommend these for anybody like me who has feet like a Yeti.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LordNelson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

excellent all round bike shoe

PostedJuly 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I was looking for a shoe that was durable enough for the mtb trail abuse as well as being light and stiff enough to use for my road bike and commuting. This shoe fit the bill and I haven't looked back. The ratchet and velcro fastening means that I don't have to worry about it coming loose and doesn't cause any pressure points in the foot.
I have not used the shoe in the extreme wet just yet so can't comment on its performance in the rain.
Overall, the MO88 ticks all my boxes for a trail/road/commute shoe and I would 100% recommend. Plus, it looks good :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
ChrisTheTall
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Very impressed

PostedJune 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Having had specialized Tahoes for years I decided to get a shoe that I could use for road cycling and touring as well as MTBing and this does the trick. Really like the ratchet closure system. Stiff without being impossible to walk in.
Not actually used for MTBing yet and probably would avoid if doing a hike-a-bike as not quite as comfortable as the Tahoes. Also not quite enough room for thick waterproof socks.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Gooimielies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great shoe. Fits perfectly. Light but strong.

PostedJune 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First time using clip on's. Won't look back as helps with grip, pull, control and jumps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mull1979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Solid and Good Value

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is my second pair of Shimano shoes - previous were MO86, which I finally broke after two and half years hard service. The fit is excellent, helped by the ratchet, the tread is open and clears well. While the sole is equally stiff the MO88 is probably more of a summer/casual shoe rather than a all mountain/race shoe as it doesn't have the provision to add studs and the cleat fitting go through the sole. They look good and the uppers are excellent quality.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
markrs

Pleased so far

PostedJune 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Have performed well so far. My first set of shoes. Cleats rub slightly on the round even though they are recessed into the sole- not really a problem though. Still slightly expensive at 70 odd pounds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MiseryStreak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shoes

PostedMay 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first pair of Mtb spd shoes having had a pair of spd-sl shoes for my road bike for over a year, so I can't compare them to anything I've had before.
All I can say is they are very comfortable, easy to walk in and feel just as good as my road shoes for putting power down. I also find them very easy to unclip although this is down to the cleats and pedals.
The best thing about them is the ratchet strap, it's so good in fact that my next pair of road shoes will also have one, it means you can get the shoes on and off very quickly and get them really tight and secure and even adjust them easily whilst still clipped in and in the move.
They look nice too, far better than the picture suggests.
I'm an exact size 12.5 (UK) and the 47 fits me perfectly. If that helps.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Woolfy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

PostedApril 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really comfy and a good fit superb quality and love the ratchet straps
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ed1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

A good mountain bike shoe

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This was my first pair of bike shoes and I am very happy with them having had them recommended to me in the Fenchurch St store. I went a size bigger than my regular footwear. They are lightweight, comfortable, the ratchet is a nice touch, and they are easy to walk in.
Bought in conjunction with the M530 SPD Trail Pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Iwantacervelo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Excellent fast/long distance urban commuting shoe

PostedMarch 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These were recommeded by one of the staff in London West End branch and I'm very pleased. They're stiffer - and faster- than my old Specialized Tahoe Sport and actually more comfortable.
Nice and light and I love the ratchet straps - my first pair with these.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dan1234
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Got for my cyclocross bike

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Never used clip shoes or peddle before, but went on recommendation of a friend and can't believe how better they are
The shoes are very comfey and iv been completing 50+ mile rides in them.
They are also good to walk in.
Very pleased
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

A bit tight at time

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
Great shoes but can feel tight at time it might be a problem with the position of the cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Ramster

Good shoe for first timer to clipless pedals

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: nothing against
Afterh having done a quick review, I purchased this shoe for my new bike. Tried a pair at Evans and then ordered on-line for a size up once I was 100% sure. An excellent shoe for the price - works well with Shimano A530 Touring Pedals and Shimano SH56 SPD cleats.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTBRick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Comfortable soli shoe

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Got these on a price match - very happy with them. They size the same way that Louis Garneau shoes do - I take a UK shoe size 9 and wear a 44 MTB shoe. Shoes are well made and a good fit for toe area and at the heel - expect to get many comfortable miles out of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Width
Narrow
Narrow
Wide
Probie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes - great value

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a cyclist new to cleeted shoes I did a lot of research before making my purchase. I've narrow feet so was concerned initially about sizing. I'm delighted with the shoes - they're a great fit (thanks to the adjustable but secure straps) and make a huge difference in performance on my road bike. The soles are rigid enough to ensure maximum power is transmitted without making walking difficult - ideal for touring. Another big plus is that the shoes keep your feet warm and dry in all but the worst that the recent wet weather can throw at you. Great value, comfortable and very pleased with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
EnfieldRifle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fenchurch Street

Great shoes for a commuter at a good price.

PostedFebruary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought these from Evans, Fenchurch Street, who as a team give consistently high levels of service across the board. They priced matched the shoe so I got a quality product at a good price. I'm a bulk standard Size 10 in normal shoes, and have wide feet. A Size 46 fits perfectly even with thick SealSkin socks and they were comfortable to ride in and walk in from the off. Commuting into London each day, they've kept my feet warm and dry through the worst weather they're likely to face. I'd recommend them to a friend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alexis1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Plymouth

Great

PostedJanuary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great comfortable bike shoes. Great having the adjustable clip to fasten them. Easy to to slip on and off.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano M088 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Patrick97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Simple, functioning and good stability

PostedJanuary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: not the best out there, compromised
This shoe is neither XC stiff or AM grippy/compliant, it's an all around decent shoe. It is very stable when clipped in and there is no tortional flex meaning clipping out doesn't require any extra effort. It is a very mechanical feeling that works great with shimano XC md 520s or the broader XT trails (which I've stuck to) the shoe isn't particularly stiff vertically which means that power transfer isn't the best out there but you can't have everything! The fastening mechanism is very comfortable and easy to use (even when using gloves which is novel!) but can get stuck if done wound up all the way which is a pain. Decent mud shedding and good enough grip when pushing.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>