Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes

Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes

Overall rating:
4.25 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Review 1 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
True to Size
Wide
Szabi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent budget cycling shoe

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought this as my first cycling shoe. Very comfortable the size matches well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
Nico1313
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beware of the sizes. Narrow and small fitting

PostedJuly 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: narrow fitting
Beware if you have broad feet and the fact that there is a returns charge means that unless you get the size right first time then you may as well have bought from a shop .
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Narrow
Wide
XCMrider
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and even stiff enough for xc race

PostedJune 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
For its price xc30 -shoe is a bargain! It is lightweight (608g /pair), it has a fairly stiff sole and its suitable even for xc-racing. The straps have worked well and once tightened the shoes stays quite well attached to your feet even after many hours of hard pedaling. Sure there are lots of stiffer shoes with carbon fibre soles out on the market, but you have to pay for them quite a bit. If you want to have an affordable - yet durable and lightweight xc-shoe - look no further.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarkB85
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

PostedMay 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I got these shoes to use on my Shimano SPD pedals on a Hoy Shizuoka. I have slightly wide feet, and as such, the normal road shoes are not that comfortable for me. These however are a bit wider, and generally more comfortable for me.
I take a UK 10, but got these in a 45, which I believe is slightly larger. Still, perfect fit for me, with the off centre straps preventing any digging in.
Very easy to walk in, as they are deisigned for off roading, and the cleats are very easy to attach.
They look good, and all in all, are a good shoe.
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Width
Narrow
Slightly Wide
Wide
QuickFired
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very good

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Has flashes of hi-viz. Nice and stiff. Easy to walk in, Good entry level shoe. SPD fit only
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
bavaria

Feels great in my legs

PostedJanuary 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
very handy and very reliable. I wear it every day to work and I find it very handy giving me a smooth and firm ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
marti
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Good Quality Shoe

PostedDecember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After reading other reviews went for size up and this was confirmed when I tried on at the shop. Shoe feels well made and Cleats were easy to fit. As shoe was on offer at Halfords Evans price matched and assistants at the Bristol store were very helpfull and knowlrdgeable.I am using for local cycling trips and spinning classes. I also purchased Shimano pedals(SPD) and the cleats were also suppied in the pedal box. Went on trip wearing shoes today and found them very comfortable- time will tell if also good for spinning but I think they will be.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BikeBuddy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Nice shoes, feel robust.

PostedNovember 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, price match
My old shimano shoes had finally had enough, and I bought the R088 shoes. Deciding they were too nice for winter commuting, and not ideal for use with MTB SPD cleats I decided to buy some Shimano XC30 shoes as well!
The fit is good, though not as soft & supple as the R088. However, you'll want something more robust for off road / commuting. The fit is nice & comfortable, and they feel well made.
I checked the stock online, visited on Wednesday after work and Evans price-matched a competitor. Fantastic service!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
mislet
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Be careful with sizing.

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: odd sizing
I can't give any information about the quality of the shoe itself, but I can tell you that that the sizing is rather odd. I take a 42 in all shoes but the Shimano 42 was too tight. Then the 43 was far too roomy. I changed the shoe for an alternative brand that fitted perfectly.
So, best go and try them on rather than order online. And don't accept this "Oh, all Shimano's sizes are on the small side" nonsense. A size should be a size and not an approximation.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Matt22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Good stiff sole and windproof fitting

PostedJune 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
This product speaks for itself, a good MTB shoe with reliable functionality and brand quality
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daveo007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Very good comfortable fit....

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I went with the intention of buying the Shimano M064 but with price match got these for the same price as the M064.
These shoes are the one up from the M064 with three velcro straps so as I have one foot slightly bigger than the other (most people have) Three straps mean bth shoes fit perfectly.
I bought some M520 SPD pedals at the same time and Evans fitted the SPD cleats to my shoes whilst I waited, Perfect....
Highly recommended would buy again...............
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano XC30 SPD MTB Shoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Terrapin63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality, good value for money SPD shoes

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: poor spd fitting instructions
These shoes are of the usual high standard you come to expect from Shimano. The quality of construction and finish is excellent and the fit first class. As they were a 2012 Xmas present they have not seen much use yet but look like they will do the job they are intended for. Only room for improvement would be better Shimano instructions for fittng the cleats. It is just a series of not very informative diagrams with minimal text. But overall excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.