Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Saddles or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Riva Road Saddle

Specialized Riva Road Saddle

Overall rating:
4.19 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
18 out of 21(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Review 1 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EdwardoRuf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Comfy 'n' cheap

PostedSeptember 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I've been using BG saddles for quite a few years now - they're comfortable and durable. This one, even though it's a cheaper one than I've had before, seems just as comfy as those on my other bikes. I'm quite a big chap, but this saddle suits me perfectly and keeps all the squishy bits from getting squished.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scott135
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great saddle

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This saddle has been a huge improvement to my daily ride to work. It has the right firmness and shape to be comfortable and have no uncomfortable rubbing or pressure points for my shape. We'll worth it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RaleighRider01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

It stopped numb groin

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, stops numbness
After years of problems, increasing with age, on numbness in groin finally found an answer and this seat works. Not the most comfortable seat I have had but then again I realized that too much comfort was causing the problem and leading to the compression of vital blood circulation parts. But can't say this seat is uncomfortable and from day could ride 10 miles or more non-stop without the groin numbness and tingling in legs. Used to have to stop every 20 minutes to shake out tingling legs and numbness and was getting worried I might damage parts. Amazingly could find no one in any cycle shop, and I tried many, who knew what I was talking about with the problem and put that down to age. Wait till they're 65! Finally found good suggestions on the Evans review forum and am grateful for all those who have contributed and now want to add my bit. It must be the cut out in the seat and geo design that makes the difference and the more firm seat parts under the seat bones - I measured for right size 143mm but larger width also possible in this product. Basically a weekender cruise rider on a hybrid and weekday shopper bike user but can go further now and recently 15 miles non-stop and again no probs. Thanks to all who wrote in on these reviews - helped me enormously.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Poloniumsoup
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner

Great Saddle at a Cheap Price

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Its not the lightest or the prettiest...but being an overweight cyclist i find it wide, comfortable and perfect if you are on a budget or just refuse to pay rip off prices. Everything you need from a saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Dragonwight
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Poor Design

PostedMay 16, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable, catches shorts, cover too grippy
Having owned the previous Riva I thought I would buy the newly redesigned one. Its reasonably comfortable as a saddle although it has two major flaws. The first it has an edge from the moulding process which catches your shorts and the second the cover is very very grippy it pulls at your shorts especially when your out of the saddle, pulls at any seams and it makes moving about extremely uncomfortable like your always fighting the saddle, it also wears out your shorts at an alarming rate.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RolfGolf
Country:Denmark
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

3rd specialized saddle

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
So I bought this for my singlespeed bike, after buying Specialized saddles for my MTB and road bike as well. I had a butt measurement done, and turns out this saddlewith is just my size.
Really loving the geometry of the saddles and they are all relatively light.
This one is a bit more comfy than my other two, but it's also for riding without bike shorts, so works great. Really happy about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
hughesee
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Decent quality reasonable price MTB saddle for regular rider
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Hillbeley
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saddle sorted my booty prob

PostedMay 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I had a bent rail and my saddle was too small ( it matters!) so the 155mm was bought and I did the frighteningly hard Tour of Pembrokeshire and the 'bottom end' was not one of my many problems!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rhoders68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

support where you need it

PostedApril 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
A good reasonably priced saddle that I bought to replace the stock saddle on my road bike, which was continuing to be a pain in the .... well you know where!
This saddle is firm which at first worried me a little, but after a few rides it proves to offer the comfort since it supports me in the right places and makes the longer rides much more comfortable.
The cover is very grippy which took a bit of getting used to as my previous saddle was much more slippy
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IanC54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Early days but so far, so good

PostedMarch 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Bought to replace the saddle on a cheapish hybrid. Its a great improvement for very little cash.
V. helpful staff at Chillfactore store measured me and provided good advice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
datpiff
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Better than the stock saddle

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Bought this because the stock Pinnacle Saddle is awful. This is better and wide enough for me to sit comfortably and I think it was on sale when I bought it so not bad for £25
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nezza46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

PostedFebruary 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, no more numbness
I bought this saddle as the stock one that came with my bike was cutting my blood supply off and making things a tad numb 30 minutes into the ride!
I've had this one about 2 months now and I've had no problems since, so mission accomplished as far as I'm concerned :)
The saddle is fairly hard though, so if you are used to a nice soft one then this probably isn't for you. I prefer a harder saddle on a road bike so this suits me just fine.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GOddstream
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best economy saddle in it's class

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
I've been on a campaign to find a comfortable saddle, and ended up trying about 20 of various types in the last six months. I got this to see if the Specialized Body Geometry thing would work for me, as I've been bedevilled by the 'numbness in the delicates' problem.
Yes, it works. And it's a fine saddle in it's own right, easily more comfortable for me than any other in it's class I've tried.
Maybe a little too much padding for a really long ride (I do like 'em hard and wear no padding), but I've kept it on my run-to-the-shops fixie hack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Devito

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great product, good value.
Needs a little while to get used to; but great after the first few rides
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bl14

Great Value

PostedNovember 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this saddle for a fixie. Cycle 15 miles a day no very comfortable, no issues
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Vikky33

This saddle is good but not the best

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I have just purchased the saddle and it is good for brief rides but for long or touring rides is very uncomfortable. Would recommend to buy it as a cheap options otherwise if you have more money to spend buy more comfy saddle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
g0dfather
Country:Slovenia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfekt saddle. Cheap, comfort and reliable.

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I used it before and now I bought new one, because I sold my old bike with saddle. Recommend it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Chris2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Not bad for the commute

PostedAugust 22, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Uncomfortable
Comfortable in the short term, but I have my doubts about it on a 100k sportive. I had to tilt it slightly further down at the front than I normally would.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
aerobrain
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First Century Ride and no discomfort

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this to replace then same one that came with my bike as it got torn. Used it on my first century ride last weekend and had no issues, not sure what more I could ask for from a saddle! Great for the price!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Riva Road Saddle
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
michael27

FIrm, well-designed saddle

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
The saddle is firm so that the rider doesn't sink down into it. This combined with the saddle's shape ensures good blood flow. Good value for money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>