Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Shifters or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter

Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter

Overall rating:
4.714 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
13 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Review 1 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

What an upgrade from Deore

Posted08 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Quicker shifts, no jumping gears, and 2 way release. Smooth.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

Posted05 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great shifters! love the way you can take of the gear indicator
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and does the job

Posted04 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought these to replace broken shifters on my 11 year old Marin Palisade Trail. Easy to fit and required very little adjustment to get them functioning. I have yet to ride off road since installing but from the short road rides I have no doubt they will be fine.
I paid more then I would have liked for the pair but they seemed to be the only shifters that matched the 9 gear cassette and 3 chain ring set up. They should see out the life of the bike though, particularly as I now have a full suspension Whyte as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value and I would highly recommend them

Posted03 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, precise gear shifting
These are second pair of XT Shifters I have purchased from Evans Cycles. So impressed with them I have fitted them to my second bike a Trek Hybed.
The first pair were fitted to my Scott Octane to replace worn out XTR shifters and I found gear changing to be easier with the XT shifters
They are easy to fit and gear changing is precise with them. I would highly recommend these XT Gear Shifter Pods
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:Singapore
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good shifters

Posted25 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable
Have to get these as they are they last few sets for 9 speed drive trains... Good quality but if you owns a pair of xtr, you know they are the best shifters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great shifters, mega smooth!

Posted19 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Really good shifters, transformed the gear change on my Sirrus Elite (along with XT FD & RD). Fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement for worn out part, very pleased

Posted15 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
After 15 years my previous LX shifter had worn out. I bought this XT shifter and am very pleased. It came with replacement cable and cable sheath. The shifter has a good action.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Quick changes

Posted28 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
A great upgrade at a good price. Easy to fit and the dial or indicator was quick to remove. A cover plate is supplied so that it all ends up clean and tidy.
Cable inner and outer came with it, along with ferrules and what not.
Overall a great buy and has a feeling of quality to it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A worthy upgrade

Posted01 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
i upgraded from shimano deore set up, with these xt shifters, xt front mech, xt rear mech and its a great step up gears are alot smoother, plus you can change up with your thumb or finger because the lever has that function. I didn't change my front chainset or cassette to xt and it still works great. Might get the xt versions of them though at a later date so they all match. Highly recommend :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:USA
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent shifters

Posted14 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
This is an excellent shifter for those still running Mega 9 drivetrains. Worlds above the stock Deore lots of bikes came with.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5

Shimano XT M770 Shifter

Posted07 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great shifter to replace the existing left hand unit which, being 11 years old, had broken losing high gear. It came complete with cable and outer and was easy to fit. In due course, will change the right hand shifter to match ( existing being silver, whilst new is black - which looks great)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says it will

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great replacement for my defunct M750 9 speed shifter
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

An amazing upgrade

Posted01 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: none
If you're using Deore or Alivio, you'll know you sometimes have to hold the trigger and wait for the clunk from the back when going up the cassette no matter how good your set-up is. Sometimes there's a pause before the front derailleur does its job too. We'll forget all that. These shifters give a loud click when you shift and the response is instant and reliable. One of the best upgrades I've done. XTR quality on the cheap.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Deore XT M770 9 Speed Rapidfire Shifter
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Hard to find.

Posted16 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The XT Mega 9 shifters don't really need much reviewing. They work a treat. I am using them for a tandem and the extra 60cm of cable doesn't really bother them too much. XT is a world yardstick in MTB components so you wouldn't expect any less than the best in performance and finish.
Since the advent of 10 speed MTB shifting, it is getting harder to find these shifters in a 9 speed version. Evans have both left and right shifters and at a good price.
Many Thanks Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.