Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette

Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette

Overall rating:
4.167 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
12 out of 12(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Review 1 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daveo83

Easy to fit Cassette

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is an easy to fit no nonsense cassette. Although it is not particularly light it does allow for smooth gear transitions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brazenguff

Decent budget cassette

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Bought this for my winter bike and it does the job - easy to fit, durable, and reasonably priced so I don't need to worry if it's getting covered in mud etc!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Crumbo789
Country:France
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Easy to fit and had no problems with it as yet. Since fitting I have been cycling 4 or 5 times, so all in all very good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ROSSAR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A basic rear cluster that does the job

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good value named brand product that does the job it is meant to do
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChuckFH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gave an old bike a new lease of life.

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought this cassette to replace a very worn one on an old Merida MTB and it's given it a new lease of life. There aren't a great deal of choices when it comes to 7-speed cassettes these days (things have moved on a bit), however, this one does a good job and works perfectly with the existing mech on my bike.
It may not be cutting edge, but it is well made and together with a new chain (Shimano HG40) it's turned a knackered old bike into a decent commuter ride for less than 20 quid in total.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jessy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for my needs

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Easy to fit. Sturdy mechanism. Good all round gear ratios.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value no frills cassette.

PostedJuly 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Easily fitted and adjusted. Works well so far. Have done approximately eighty miles of fairly hilly country using the full range of gears and have not as yet come across any issues with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dominic235
Country:Canada
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very nice cassette for the price

PostedJuly 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I like that all of the cogs are attached (except the one with 12 teeth), prevents wear on the hub. Especially if your hub is the older aluminium Shimano type. I like the painted look vs. nickle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
tomjpd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brought my old bike back to life.

PostedApril 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
A good basic block which, together with a new chain, has enabled me to get an old mountain bike back into service. Good price and quick delivery are impressive.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Thomas71
Age:25-34

Value for money!

PostedJanuary 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
I got this cassette to replace my old Shimano Cassette in a very good prize! I commute 16miles per day to and so far I had no problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Josh60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb value

PostedNovember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Easily fitted and worked perfectly with a new chain fitted. Ideal gearing to make a racing bike with a twin set up more useable as an around town/commuter.
Would give five stars but longivity not tested.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Alivio HG20 7 Speed Cassette
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuart7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

PostedNovember 2, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
This is a great quality product for the price. It's not too heavy, it looks good and as a replacement for an old 7 speed cassette you really can't complain. There are better shifting units if you're going to be aggressive but that's not surprising given the price!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.