Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike

Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike

The CAAD8 2300 features the CAAD8, Optimized 6061 Alloy SAVE frame, Cannondale Ultra fork with carbon blades, Shimano Shifters and Maddux RS 3.0 rims, finished off with Schwalbe Lugano 700x23c tyres.
Overall rating:
4.786 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 19 Answers
Customer reviews for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Review 1 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pemb
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedNovember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Excellent bike, and great delivery service. Just some tweaking after get it. The bike has been riding flawless for two weeks. I haven't ride it more than 20 miles at once yet, nonetheless I have used it every day.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beanz16
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

PostedOctober 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Purchased this on the cycle to work scheme to use for commuting and winter riding. It's a good value entry level bike. Relatively light and smooth to ride and comfortable, as you'd expect from Cannondale. Looks good too and the black colour scheme makes it easier to keep clean!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roycey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

First road bike

PostedOctober 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been riding a cannondale bad boy for years and decided to get a road bike. I can honestly say it was a great decision. The caad8 looks great, it's very stiff and light and really comfortable, I can not fault it. I've seen other reviews stating that the positioning of the shifters is not very comfortable...it may be that I'm a road bike novice but it does not bother me at all.
For the price it is hard to beat.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Stephen63
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

First road bike purchase in 25 years !

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I left racing road bikes behind to take up marathon canoeing and rowing, but have decided to return to pedal power to maintain fitness and to have fun on local club runs. My only other road bike is a custom made Reynolds 531 DB tubing from the late 1980's, complete with friction gear shift, so my choice for a modern design was always going to be a shock - happy to say the reports in the magazines and from fellow cyclists which described the Cannondale as a quality but affordably priced bike were accurate. First serious ride was Barnstable to Plymouth, so fairly demanding terrain. I'm confident the aluminium frame and components will last, and the gear ratios were well chosen, but pleased I changed the pedals, saddle and tyres through purely personal choice - I'm certain the original components would be perfectly adequate for shorter and easier rides. I really can appreciate the design evolution from my old school bike, and I have to say, the new machine grabbed just as much attention. My racing days may be gone, but the excitement and enjoyment of road riding is still to be found with this bike. Thank you Cannondale !
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
lightningtom
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Amazing frame, gears could be better

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: badly designed gearshift
Framewise this has the feel of something much more expensive, especially when sold at the sale price of £500.
I knew the 2300 groupset wasn't top end Shimano but it seems to have enough gears for me. The one niggle is with the positioning of the shifters which prevent you from changing to a faster gear when in the dropped handlebar position (exactly when you want to go faster). Not sure why the up and down shift couldn't have been on the brake lever, same as the more expensive groupsets.
People have commented that the wheels are heavy but overall the bike still feels very light.
Highly recommended though I may look to upgrade the groupset in the future - this is the only thing that stops the bike getting a 5.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roiberd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good spec & well priced bike

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After reading a lot of reviews and doing lots of homework before buying a new bike, this one stood out as the one to get.
Apart from changing the stock saddle everything else is running ok after a few bedding in issues such as, slight derailor adjustments, wheel trueing after a day or so on the road.
Before this bike I used a falcon corsa which was basically a cheap bike for short distance say getting to work and back, the new bike was like having a Ferrari after a Robin Reliant. I'v done several sportives on the old bike and one on the new, distance is certainly no problem for the CAAD, it wants to ride and at speed. Feels very solid and rides good, and is a very comfortable bike, I could have rode all day to be honest.
If your getting into cycling, in my opinion, is the best bike to get.
Very happy.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazy2013
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I ordered this bike as a second winter bike. The order was done over the internet and I was messaged at every stage up to what time it would be delivered. This was an excellent service with no quibbles. The bike itself is excellent. It rolls along smoothly and quietly absorbing the bumps an rough roads. I felt so comfortable and relaxed the gear changes where smooth and precise. I have a more expensive bike that I thought was good but I have to say that the Cannondale has put it to shame. I fully recommend this bike to anyone experienced or not.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JAM95
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Extremely good value

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Other cyclists are always surprised when I tell them how much this bike cost- it is one of the lightest bikes available for this sort of price range and I have found it to be of excellent quality.
I had to adjust the front derailleur (the chain came off a few times when changing up) but otherwise it has been perfect!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigdan46

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Complete novice to road cycling so bought this on reviews, looks and price. Not disappointed its a fantastic bike easy to get to grips with and I'm hooked on riding. Superb for the price
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
now39

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
wanted to get back into road cycling after a good few years away from it so did a lot of research and looked at quite a few bikes and to me this one stood out.
excellent build quality and finish aswell as being lightweight.
I am 5ft 8 1/2 with a 79cm inside leg and went for the 51cm frame.in theory I should be a 54cm frame if you go off my height but a 51 felt right as I have a slighter shorter inside leg .pleased I went with the smaller frame.it fits me perfectly.
very impressed with the bike.very quick and I am climbing hills I could only dream about up here in the north pennines.
well worth adding to your shortlist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ms2407
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great first bike, got me hooked, simple to set up adjust and great fun to ride
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
irishcyclist30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Great first road bike

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After doing a lot of research in to buying a first road bike, this Cannondale came out top in my opinion.
Lightweight, firm, and with great features for the price of the bike.
Very smooth ride and handling - will be great for individuals with a strong fitness base who want to compete in duathlons / triathlons in the coming months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PhilHW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent Bike

PostedJuly 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great bike. Very quick due to the very light frame and very adequate entry level group-set , give an overall impressive bike set-up. This is my first road bike after changing over from a mountain bike. Very impressed with the quality and glad I made the purchase (after doing alot of research).
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cannondale CAAD8 2300 2013 Compact Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rich1985
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

all round good bike

PostedJuly 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: would suggest changing pedals (personal opinion
Very green behind the gills when it comes to bikes but trying to learn quickly. I've had this bike for a month now and done a couple of hundred miles on it, I find it comfortable and quickly got on with it. It takes smooth roads or more rough country lane's equaly well. The ride position is comfortable (I'm 6' 1") and good set up of equipment on an entry level bike, I'm never found wanting on hills.
Good bike all round, great frame to build on as you progress.
 
Products related to my review
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.