Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Cyclocross Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike

Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike

The CAADX Sora features a CAADX Cyclocross, Optimized 6061 Alloy frame, Cannondale Ultra X fork with carbon blades, FSA Vero Cross Compact chainset (46x36), and Maddux DRX 6000 rims, finished off with Schwalbe Sammy Slick, 700x35x tyres.
Overall rating:
4.733 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 27 Answers
Customer reviews for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Review 1 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JimmyEssex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Excellent Cyclocross Race Bike

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, excellent cyclocross racing cycle
For anyone seriously considering Competitive Cyclocross the Cannondale CAADX Sora (2013) has to be the best quality and value for money Cyclocross machine on the market at the present time at (£680)
Perfectly balanced, strong but lightweight frame with excellent clearance for quick shouldering. The Schwalbe Sammy Slick tyres are versatile for road & trail/bridle way riding but obviously would change these for dedicated Cyclocross race tyres dependant upon the conditions of the off road race circuit.
I'd recommend test riding the 2013 model for anyone looking for a perfect go anywhere commuter bike or first class Cyclocross event race bike that matches in quality and build to many a cyclocross bike in the £1000 bracket!!!
Disregard any reviews concerning brake shudder or poor gear changing as these are simple brake and derailleur adjustments that are misleading when reviewed by people not technically cycle minded. Any problem should easily be rectified by the Evans cycle technicians after purchase.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skinnydog1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent CX Starter Bike

PostedDecember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: brakes, tyres
I have had this bike for 2 months now and have done over 500 miles on it,all off road i have really enjoyed riding it and is a nice change to the road bike, i feel i can chuck it around a bit more, i would recommend this bike to someone that wants to do CX but not pay a lot of money. The only problem is that after 500 miles the brake pads are completely shot and the tyres could do with being changed.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

fast, easy riding bike

PostedNovember 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
got this on the ride to work scheme, have ridden it every day since. yet to take it off road tho.
easy to set up, comfortable, fast and good quality
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ianrgill
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Excellent buy

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight and very well built bike ideal for any terrain. Reasonably priced for a cylcecross bike was in 2 minds between road bike or hybrid and opted for this and has worked out really well. Can defiantly see me putting some serious miles in Excellent service and knowledge from Evans cycles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CaledoniaCalls
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:York

Excellent value

PostedNovember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike is perfect if you want all the fun and style of a road bike...but without the razor edge tyres and with the comfort of being able to fit mudguards for those wet days! It is lightweight, comfortable and a good looking bike. Love it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AcidClown
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth comfortable ride

PostedOctober 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Before this bike I had a cannondale caadx 6 2011, and I replaced it after it was stolen with this 2013 sora, it is almost the same bike except a few differences, such as the sora gears instead of tiagra, and plastic pedals (urgh) besides that it's a smooth ride with easy gear changes, it is fun to rip around town and accelerates well. I have to say Evans were helpful and made the transaction a joy. Big thanks to the staff at the Bristol branch, you should all get a pay rise and a free bike for Christmas :-)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bazzle99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent bike

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
So far have been very pleased with the caadx it rides very smooth and is also light and well constructed everything on it works well, have done a couple of long tarmac rides and the bike keeps up easily with friends on racers.
Have also done some cx riding on it and performs great the frame is nice and stiff and i feel confident being aggressive on it
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
RG001
Country:Denmark
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

versatile, easy bike

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This is my first cross bike, which I want to use for commuting to work (15 km each way) and for recreational use. My impression after a week of daily use: a good, reliable, well built bike, surprisingly lightweight and easy to ride. Geometry is very good. The bike is nice and soft to ride, especially after changing from my road bike. The weak point are the breaks (not too powerful). Shimano Sora is not as precise as my 105 on the road bike, but works OK.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Joeapples
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Great bike for starting out on

PostedSeptember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent gear set for the money; very lite; good wheels. It it is all good value, definitely worth considering. I personally wouldn't swap it for anything, and it's the first cyclocross bike I've owned.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JB74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Awesome do everything bike

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: brakes
Excellent lightweight frame, dependable components, great looking and lightweight bike. Frame more than good enough to warrant component upgrades over time. Very capable off road and on a commute, could be fast on road with some skinnier tyres too. Room for mudguards, and rear panniers. My only criticism is the brakes, they don't really inspire me with confidence, and the front brake judders a bit in the wet, but cantilevers can be tricky to set up just right. Overall though, a great value do everything bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jufa
Country:Finland
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This suits to me

PostedSeptember 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I have testdriven this for couple of weeks and impressions are good. Bike is lightweight and enought fast on tarmac for me. I have driven bike some kilometers on rough terrain and it satifies me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really great commuter

PostedAugust 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought this in the sale. Really pleased with it. Its lightweight and the carbon fork and fat tyres ag brill on Hull's poor roads. Will be commuting on this all year round
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Great all-rounder

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After riding my old Claud Butler steel-framed touring bike for 30+ years I wanted to try a modern bike. I opted for the CAADX cyclocross because it offered a slightly more relaxed riding position, the option to go off road and with a sale reduction of £120 was the right price!
So far it has proved great on the road and I'm looking forward to taking it out on forest tracks next. It's a very stable bike, the brakes are excellent and the ride isn't as hard as I feared from an alloy frame. The rear gear shifts are very smooth although the front derailleur seems a bit clunky so may need adjustment.
If you're looking for a bike that should be able to do most things well, you should certainly look at this or its 2014 successor.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Biigphil
Wirral
 
Please wait while more information about Biigphil is loaded.
Additional information about Biigphil could not be loaded.
Recommended
Posted September 23, 2013
After riding a steel frame mountain bike for the last couple of years I cant believe the difference in the ride. Its so light, fast and comfortable. I bought this one in the sale and saved £120 so that was a major plus.
The only thing I expected more from were the brakes, they just don't seem responsive at all, as in they don't slow me down very quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 14 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SueF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Edinburgh

Light and fast, great commuter

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It's a very long time since I had a 'racer', the gears have moved off the frame now! I tested a few bikes before settling on this one. When I hopped on the Cannondale CAADX Sora I felt I was riding 'my' bike. It was immediately comfortable, it handled the cobbles well (part of my commute is over cobbles). The set up is not a hard-core race set up, so perfect for commuting. I have been riding this bike for the last few weeks and I now arrive a work with more energy in the tank, I feel like I could go further, faster, higher! I've been detouring on the way home and enjoying a longer ride as it is comfortable and a pleasure to be enjoyed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cannondale CAADX Sora 2013 Cyclocross Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Asas
Country:Lithuania
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality product

PostedJuly 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I've had this bike for few days, but so far I'm really enjoying it. I'm using it for commuting. It works well both on road and simple offroad. My first impressions is that this bike is comfortable (not so aggresive like road bike) but Im still thinking about changing seat, since it feels hard. The bike itselft looks well built and already survived some punishment (stone paved steep downhill and couple accidental jumps off a few stairs). So far it is perfect for my everyday commutes (20miles to work and back).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
ChrisWRG
 
Please wait while more information about ChrisWRG is loaded.
Additional information about ChrisWRG could not be loaded.
Posted August 26, 2013
How does it compare to a racer speed wise ?
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)