Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger

Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger

Overall rating:
4.357 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
26 out of 28(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Review 1 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lashers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Lights

PostedJune 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: no on/off button
The installation of these lights on to the bike are ready easy, all you need to do is pull the rubber round the bar and then they won't move.
The lights could do with a switch to turn them on and off, but once you have started to use them you get used to the function of them
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brent77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

To be seen but not heard

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: plastic screw top
Amazing product for the money, I've been looking around for a while and didn't want to spend £200 on a set of lights. This product is bright and allows anyone around you to see you easily.
Especially in the London commute. I recommend to spend the extra money to upgrade to this set. I do agree with some of the other reviews that the plastic screw top requires you to be careful. But Evans said to bring back if you ever had any problems, which to date they haven't had any returned.
An overall good purchase!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Eric2424
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Truly visible...

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: plastic lense screw should be stronger
Bought these lights having noticed another cyclist had them (who was a good 200m ahead of me). Haven't seen better.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bazzer50
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

This product packs a punch

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Exposure's flash and flare lights really get you seen. When commuting in the city they provide great illumination both in flashing and fixed mode. Although, if travelling on less well lit roads you may need a more powerful product. They are easy to attach to both seat post and handlebars and the battery life is good (I would definitely recommend the rechargeable version). When you do need to recharge it only takes about 45 minutes. All in all a terrific set of lights.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
nbw330
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great strobe lights - less good fittings

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The lights themselves are excellent, and give a good, strong strobe light. The longest I have run them for is around four hours, with no signs of the battery reducing in power; I anyway recharge them fully before each ride.
My main problem with them is the fittings, and the lack of adjustment. 'Ladder' bungees are all that is holding the lights in place, and keeping them pointing as required.
The front light fits to the handlebars, but can only be adjusted up or down. If your bars have any kind of taper or sweep (like mine), the light is not looking straight ahead. This limits where the front light can be fitted.
Similarly, the rear light fits into a plastic clip at right-angles to the seat post. If the post is near vertical, the light will be horizontal. If the seat post is sloping (like mine), the light will be angled well down and will need to be fitted as high up as possible as a result.
The 'ladder' bungees will not last forever, particularly stretched over wider-diameter bars like mine.
Having said all that, it could be that the brightness and diffusion of the lights mean that adjustment is not needed, and the bungees last. Time will tell ...
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
xerxescat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Strong, powerful lights

PostedOctober 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I am very happy I went with these lights. They are worth the money. I use them to cycle in London, day and night, to make me more visible on the road. The beam is powerful - almost blindingly so. It has a long range and is leaps and bounds better than the £30 cat's eye set I had before.
These lights are easy to use and last a few days (I use them on flash during my 2 hour commute each day) before needing to be recharged. My husband has the newest version (exposure trace) of these lights which are rechargeable by USB. I think prefer the 'old' style (exposure flash/flare RCR123) as it's not too much trouble to just take the battery out and plonk them in the charger. The 'old' version is a lot less fiddly to turn on and off and to switch modes. With the newest version you have to click and hold and double click to change from flashing to non-flashing. The new style are a bit too fiddly for me.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scot78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very small but very bright and great battery life

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Only had them 3 weeks but been used about 4 days a week and in that time I haven't yet recharged the batteries.
Still new but they seem quite solid and appear to be much better built than the usual Cat Eye things I buy.
I would definitely rcommend them at this stage.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DaveMc74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Blinding!!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent product, rear light is fantastic and can be seen for miles..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
KwayChup
Country:Singapore
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good set of commuter lights

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
What i like - Performance of both Flash and Flare lights is very good. These are powerful commuter lights. Both lights are awesome in blinking mode. Flash is able to light up road signs hundreds of metres away and Flare is retina busting for those travelling behind you. I also bought the Saddle mount for the flare which makes the setup much neater.
What i hate - If they make a proper on/off switch and proper USB charging, this is perfect. The light's extremely dedicate to cross threading when replacing the CR123 batteries.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnWB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Just what I was looking for!

PostedJune 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Although somewhwt more expensive than expected these lights will be ideal for what they are needed for, daylight running lights. They show up bright and clear to other road users at junctions, roundabouts and to the rear at normal times allowing others to be aware of my presence. Very pleased.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hayling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant! Just be careful

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, super bright, high visibility, genuine road safety
These lights are fantastic. Fact.
At no point have I felt in danger - all vehicles see you in plenty of time. The lights are easy to attach and the fittings much stronger than I thought they would be. I'm not worried that the lights will come off while cycling. The rechargeable batteries are lasting about 8 hours and they charge quickly and without fuss. The lights came with a great case which will come in handy for storage.
I have two worries with these lights.......
1] The ease with which you could cross thread the light body and light head. Seeing as you need to remove the battery for charging there will be plenty of opportunity to damage the lights in this manner. So far I've been taking a deep breath and only attempting this in a quiet and calm room.
2] I wear glasses and the front light reflects into my eyes when cycling in the very dark. Most of the time I do not notice this effect but when it strikes it can be very off putting. I might try some dark tape around the edge of the light.
Don't let my worries put you off. These lights are really really really amazing. I'd definitely buy another set if I lost these.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SuzieR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Neat, very bright, highly recommended

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, bright
These lights are great; good value for money in my opinion & extremely bright (no excuses for motorists not seeing me now!). Yes the on/off mechanism could be improved as you need to use both hands to switch them on, but I don't think that's an issue as I tend to switch them on before a ride rather than half way through. I can see what people mean about the threads as well but if you take care screwing them up it's unlikely to be a problem. I'm very happy with them and would definitely recommend. The battery life is certainly better than the Blackburn fleas I used to have.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuart54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Cant fault them, excellent

PostedMarch 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I ummed and arred about buying these due to the price, but dont be fooled they are an excellent light. Ive found the front bright enough to cycle off road round my local park and river in the pitch black. The rear is also very bright as someone said before it really is like the back of an f1 car! The rear has a good setting i like to use which incoporates a constant beam with a flash which does the job nicely. If you want to be seen, you need these in your life!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
SecuritySam
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't buy this set, the Flare is faulty.

PostedMarch 11, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
The light performs well, nice and bright, light weight, reasonable recharge time, fits on a helmet and bars, but, and it's a big BUT, the plastic used to manufacture the lens element needs to screw onto the aluminium body under tension of a strong spring and the formulation of the plastic is so wrong. I vacillated for two of the five months after I bought this light, I wasn't sure if it was the poor quality of the light or my mishandling. Eventually I manned up and Evans took it back no questions asked.
Don't buy this light and if you did buy it, take it back to the vendor and demand a replacement.
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
JimKen
Norfolk
 
Please wait while more information about JimKen is loaded.
Additional information about JimKen could not be loaded.
Agree With Security Sam
Posted April 1, 2013
Had exactly the same problem only with the "Flash" as Sam clearly it's a design floor, your screwing a fine plastic thread into a metal body so it very easy to cross thread and damage the LED housing thread this happened quite quickly, and if you do, it then becomes very difficult to make the light work.
When working the light is very bright and has a pulse mode which I really liked, light and small, but I will return them as disappointed after I first thought I found the ideal city commuter light! would buy if there is new model where this is fixed.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
SecuritySam
London
 
Please wait while more information about SecuritySam is loaded.
Additional information about SecuritySam could not be loaded.
Posted March 21, 2013
Evans returned these lights to Exposure who replaced the entire kit within a week, design remains the same on 1st inspection, so will update after a few recharges.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)
Review 15 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RM22222
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Exposure!

PostedFebruary 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
I bought the lights as I noticed them brightly on other cyclists. They are excellent lights and the best I have found thus far. The lights are bright and mount easily. The look like the lights on the back of F1 cars and feel incredibly safe.
The bad - they are a bit finicky as they need to twist to turn on and off. They can be a hassle in the rain and mud. Nonetheless, the brightest and best I have found. Save your money on cheaper lights as you will need many to match these bright lights.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Abes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Exposure flash & Flare

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent light set. Very bright, very small & seem well made (I think the casing is now alliminium rather than plastic). Bit fiddly to unscrew the cap with winter gloves but what do you expect with something this small?) Originally bought for my road bike but I will also start putting them in my camelbak for MTB rides in case I'm stuck / running late as their really portable & pretty light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
chug70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lights, very, very bright & light !

PostedDecember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: careful choosing additional batteries
With a bright back flashing red light most cars give you lots of room when out on the road. I certainly feel safer using these. They are light in weight and easy to attached to any shaped handlebars or or seat pillar.
On the down side they come packaged in an unnecessary case (puts the cost up I'm sure). Also beware when looking for spare rechargable batteries (e.g. on eBay), not all 'CR123A' batteries fit properly, as the tolerances of the design are tight. If you want spare rechargables make sure you get the bespoke 'Exposure' ones - they are just the right size.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
welshboi74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Great lights

PostedDecember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very bright just make sure you get the charger set for max brightness! little fiddly in wet but they do the job of getting you seen which is the whole point!
Be careful when screwing light on as VERY VERY easy to cross thread, i went the opposite way until felt ridge drop and then screwed in SLOWLY the other way, i nearly cross threaded 3 times but when you get the hang of it then its easy!
EXCELLENT BRIGHTNESS and they look cool!!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
patagonian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple,sturdy quite powerful for the size, However

PostedDecember 11, 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great, bright
Cons: scatter, faulty charger
The rear light is nice and bright and the mounting bracket works well.
The front light is powerful but there is too much light given off peripherally (around the plastic bezel) and this totally destroys any night vision and impedes near vision in the dark. There is just too much scatter. I would not buy this again if I had known and for this reason would not recommend it. The charger works well enough but the status LEDs in the charging unit do not work. Not good for the price. Too much scatter.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Exposure Flash & Flare Light Set w/RCR123 Charger
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
si3142
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent, bright light

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
good side visibility and bright, pulsing function very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>