Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)

Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)

Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
8 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Review 1 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Happymumanddad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great build quality and style

PostedFebruary 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
To begin, it is expensive (but not ridiculously so..) and it is worth it! We bought this bike for our 4 year old- it's almost too big but just ok so plenty of growing room. The last bike we had for her was a £40 basics bike and although she's used it enough, the tyres which are made of non-grip material were just one of the budget features which convinced me we should spend a little more to get good value for money. I'm certain the new bike will still be good as new when our 1.5 year old is big enough to ride it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiwigardener
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Lovely girls bike

PostedSeptember 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent for starting out on a 2wheeler, this bike is really light and easy to manoeuvre with easy to use brakes. My daughter age 5 loves it! (Only downfall with this years model is "not pink enough"!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrGMarsh7
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Perfect first 'Real' bike

PostedSeptember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
We bought this for our daughter's 5th birthday. It is her first bike whilst almost sorted getting off of stabilisers. This bike is so much better and you can see the confidence she has when riding it. Pleased with the bike and the service in Lakeside - so much so I've now wet my appetite for a road bike!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazza16
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The best children's bike on the market

PostedApril 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
After learning to ride her bike my four year old daughter grew more confident after each Saturday & Sunday morning session. We started her on a famous British branded 16" bike although we soon learned that the brakes were not adequate for the speed she was now riding her bike at.
Fearing the worse I decided to bite the bullet and buy an appropriate bike which was fit for purpose. After hours of reading various reviews I decided on the Ridgeback. There are two things which stood out a mile. First was the service from Evans. The bike came on time and well packaged. Second, was the build quality of the bike itself. It has adult mountain bike brakes and stops on a six pence piece. The confidence my daughter now has riding this bike is phenomenal. We had our first family excursion on the canal side yesterday and both myself and my wife could tell the difference this brilliant bike has had on her riding experience. I know that there are much cheaper 16" bikes on the market and the only thing I would say is if you decide to invest in this bike it will be money well invested both in a safety aspect and also to bring the best out of your child's riding capabilities.
But one now!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chutchie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Smart, lightweight bike

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The design is very fresh and funky, the bike is lightweight with a comfortable saddle
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FasterThanYou
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chiswick

Great first bike, not too girly for a sporty girl!

PostedFebruary 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: bell could be better
At three years old I watched the Olympics and thought I could be a super cyclist too. I needed a light and comfortable bike that didn't have all the chintz that you quite often find on a girly bike. And this is what this bike is. Fast, streamlined, comfy tyres and sadle, and good brakes on both wheels - none of that reverse pedalling nonsense. It's nice that the manufacturer has made it look rugged with a slight hint of femininity to it (after all I'm not a boy). So far, only a couple of minor mishaps on the corners, but hey, that's what a helmet is for. Overall it's a great bike and looks like it will last even a tall girl like me a long time (sadle and handlebars go up a long way) and the stabilisers will eventually come off leaving me with a cool looking mountain bike. L (now aged 4 and a little bit).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChezzieM
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

A great bike, nice and lightweight.

PostedJanuary 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
We bought this bike for our daughters 4th birthday (she's tall for her age). The bike fits her perfectly. The crossbar is nice and low near the seat enabling her to stand with her feet on the floor when needed and there seems to be plenty of room for growth. The lightweight alloy used in the frame ensures that she is able to pedal easily or pull/push the bike up kerbs etc when she hasn't been able to ride up. It also makes it easier for me to carry or push when, on the odd occasion, she's become too tired to ride it. The brakes are easy to use although she hasn't quite mastered them just yet her 6yr old brother has no problem at all with them.
We had the bike delivered the day before her birthday and needed minimal assembly before it was ready to go.
All in all we are very happy with the bike and also with the service provided by Evans cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
wileycoyote
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

"It's better than my old bike."

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Her first words on opening up the Xmas present were "It's better than my old bike." Now I can't get my daughter off her new bike which is great. It looks the part (white with a hint of pink), but also seems comfortable and she got the hang of the brakes in no time. It's tough without being too heavy. Very happy with it.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
FitzUnwin1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent childs bike

PostedJanuary 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
We bought this bike for our daughter for Christmas. It looks great, is sturdy and robust. She is 5 years old and it is the perfect size for her. We are expecting her to have lots of happy cycling on her big girls bike!!!
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorraine75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Superb quality bike

PostedDecember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Excellent service from Evans Cycles. ordering was so easy and delivery was quick. Bike arrived made up in a large box. The bike itself is ideal for my 4 year old and it is worth paying a little more for a quality bike as it makes such a difference when your little ones are learning to ride a bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Ridgeback Melody 2013 Kids Bike (16" Wheel)
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chippie41
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made and a good spec, I'm very happy

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
We bought this bike as a Christmas present for my daughter so she hasn't ridden it yet but I know she'll love it. I've been mad on bikes for years and I will only buy good quality bikes, this one is no exception. It is well designed with great build quality. The components are of good quality including some very effective brakes. Overall the bike is fairly light and pleasing to the eye with just enough pink to make it appeal to girls.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.