Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike

Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 29 Answers
Customer reviews for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Review 1 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
mjohnson
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent first SS/FG bike

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, hi-ten steel, quill stem
Charge Plug offers great value for a decent amount of money so it is very suitable for people looking to buy their first single speed or fixed gear bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShotgunWilly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike. Looks amazing.

PostedJune 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I bought this bike as a reintroduction to cycling after a 10 year break. Despite initial pain through lack of fitness, it quickly became an absolute pleasure. The single speed ratio is perfectly set to manage reasonable inclines and downhills, as well as steady speed onthe flat. It looks fantastic and is comfortable to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ol45
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product, but check the size

PostedJune 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
All the previous reviews of this product are great, but I would advise you to check the size, as the advertised suitable size is not correct, ie a size M is for people over 175cm, not under.
Apart from that, beautiful bike really good for commuting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alevtyna
Country:Ukraine
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very comfortable, lightweight and fast

PostedJune 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After 350 km I can say the following:
Pros:
1. It's sturdy, lightweight, easy to ride bike. I used it on road and off-road (rolled earth). I don't know is it CrMo frame or 700C wheels, but it goes though bumps in the road more smooth than my aluminum 26" wheels MTB hardtail.
2. The Charge Spoon saddle is very comfortable and perfect for those cyclists who hates padded shorts like me.
3. Bullhorn handlebar gives you a many options of hands position.
Cons:
There no bores to adjust full mudguards with stays.
About hills. It is only a matter of time and practice how fast you'll drive up the hill, first time on the feet than in the sitting position. Everything is possible.
It's a great simple commuting bike. And of cause it's very, very beautiful.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GerInSweden
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple bike done well.

PostedMay 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I'm not a regular consumer of bikes. The last bike I bought was 2006 and the fact that this years maintenance costs would have been around the same as a new bike forced my hand a little. As the town I live in has no real hills to talk of, I have considered buying a single speed for a while. The choice seemed to be either between 'tracky' or 'tricky', though when I saw this bike for the first time I knew I had found my ride for the next ten years or so. I've ridden at least ten miles a day on it since i got it about a month ago, back and fore work, shopping etc., and it feels like a quality bike. The gear ratio (42:16) is fine, getting up steepinsh inclinations is no problem, holding aginst the bike going downhill is too. Longish shallow downhills can feel a little like riding a tricycle, though on the flat the pace feels leisurley. I kept scraping my legs on the zip ties that keep the brake cables in place so i had to fix that. The bike feels stable and rigid getting up curbs and the like. The tyres that came with the bike will never win a road race, though are fine all weather tyres and for riding around town on a Saturday morning. I highly recommend this bike, very stylish, very stable, very quality bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
earsopen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Notting Hill

Perfect

PostedMay 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It's exactly what I need. No complications, no hassle, no gratuitous features to under-use, just a beautiful, sturdy, elegant ride for commuting across London. If you like Linux and can't socialise with women you'll probably insist this is a triumph of form over function, but unless you're planning on 'building jumps' in your backgarden I struggle to understand how you couldn't love this bike. Victim of fashion? Perhaps. But with compliments over its looks reigning in from cyclists, pedestrians and drivers alike, riding it along the CS7 feels a little like walking into a Wetherspoons with a supermodel on my arm.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeilJ
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Well built, beautiful design, incredible value

PostedApril 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
First of all, this looks and feels like a more expensive bike. Other bikes in this price range that I looked at don't come close in terms of quality of components and design. It handles well, and the bull-horns are great for getting up steep hills - I cycle up Tulse Hill on it with no problem, The design is simple, and everything about it seems well crafted. I'm still in my honey-moon phase with it, but really can't get over how happy I am with it for the price. The only drawback is that it looks too nice and is attractive to thieves. I've had a few unwanted comments cycling through South London already, so make sure you get 2 good locks and insurance.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Charge Plug 2013 Single Speed Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BianchiCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

For the money, the best single speed out there

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
After I decided I wasn't going to ride my road bike to work, bought this.
The idea was to have something I could jump on, ride, and get about without needing clip in shoes and padded shorts.
I was umming and ahhing about single speed vs hybrid, worried I would be achingly slow accelerating from lights or not have enough speed on the flat without gears - but a test ride of the Plug convinced me otherwise.
The bull-horn bars, which I liked the look of but wasn't sure had a point, are incredibly useful when standing on the pedals. You get a great sense of control and can put the power through far better than with your hands on them rather than the straight section. That solved the acceleration worries.
The speed is good, it's never going to be as fast as a road bike, but it's not meant to be, and I'm only losing 2-3mph really.
Hill climbing? Well, if you lived in Snowdonia that could be a problem, I don't. I live in London. It's fine (and I know at least one person who did London to Brighton last year on a single speed and made it up Ditchling Beacon on it without walking).
In terms of comfort, the saddle is excellent (aparently Charge sells them independently and they're rather popular) so a pair of jeans is fine for rides of 5-6 miles. I've not gone longer on it, but then that's not what it's for.
The handling is great too, really inspiring confidence going past cars through the narrow gaps they like to leave you waiting at a red light, or when carrying speed through a corner.
It does have less stopping power than I'm used to, but then I'm used to a carbon bike with Ultegra brakes. But not having to move your hands to get to them means you can start braking sooner.
It's made of steel, so it's not the lightest thing around. But it saves on weight by not bothering with gears. You could knock a fair bit more off with better wheels and tyres too (25mm Gatorskins would be my pick for tyres). Actually, that's my biggest annoyance, the wheels are noticable less well rolling than they could be.
And I haven't even mentioned the looks. I probably don't need to as there's a picture of it above this comment. But I will. It's really, really pretty.
If I could give it 4.5 stars I would, but I can't give it five with the braking and wheels.
That said, for £400, it's an excellent bike.
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.