Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed

Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Review 1 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OliXC2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid rear mech

Posted20 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Decent rear mech at this price and better built than the previous generation it replaced. Small niggle that the cable wire hole is tiny and impossible to thread through without a strand of wire separating resulting in replacement taking a lot longer than normal. Care must also be taken to get the right mount type. Direct mount connects to the existing hanger not the rear wheel axle.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PaulOrGus
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value

Posted28 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The obvious choice at the price for my daughter's old 6 speed Giant hybrid.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
rustyoil
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheerfully budget minded.

Posted17 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This derailier might be slighted by some as "low-end" and "entry-level" but does a fine job in the gruelling day-to-day commute, year after year.
Takes a licking and keeps on ticking.
The only wish I had for it would be a hex-key cable retention fixing rather than the standard nut it has, but that's just me being fussy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Themadster
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Value for Money

Posted10 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Great bit of kit for the price, well pleased, easy to fit, gearing lovely & smooth, fitted this on my son's bike, he's said it's a lot better than the old one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thunderbutt
Country:France
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Ideal Replacement

Posted10 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, smooth operation
After the failure of the 'Rapid Rise' rear derailleur on my bike, I reverted to a standard operation Derailleur. Not needing an 'all singing and dancing' unit I opted for this TX35, firmly in the budget end of derailleurs - I didn't expect too much...
This unit was better than I expected, fitted and adjusted easily and tracks across the gears better than my old, failed, unit ever did. Matched to a Shimano 7 gear Revoshift twist gearchanger, it's everything I need and a perfect set-up for general use. I think it's brilliant!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluecjd
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

shock

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
hi, was taken back did not think the quality for the price wood be up to much but i was wrong it is good value and very well made i am very happy
with the product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Sophadelic

working well

Posted31 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Was fitted quick and all fine and working really well for me
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Syidid
Country:Malaysia
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cheap & cheerful, if a little dated

Posted02 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
Used this with an Acera 9-speed & Tiagra triple on my Genesis CdF to give me the gears to climb walls.
Shifts great when set up properly. Huge capacity & max tooth count massive plus for touring.
Minor niggle with hex pinch nut, rather than the now standard 5mm allen bolt, meaning an extra tool is required in the pack.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Tourney TX35 Rear Derailleur - Direct Mount - 6/7-Speed
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ady54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
The product was a direct replacement for the damaged original, it fitted perfectly and is working perfectly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.