Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gangelos

Very good product. Execellent selling service

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Bykk arrived in few days. I had no problem in assembling it. Everything was ok.
I've tried the bike for 60 km. The handle is very good, light and very comfortable. In line with expectations.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wheresmybike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

a whole lot of bike for the price

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, internal cabling and smooth weld
Essentially this is a road bike with the more comfortable rider position of a hybrid - is quiet, fast and excellent for commuting. Dont let the lack of a carbon fork put you off - the ride feels just as good as my Boardman Pro but this was a whole lot cheaper.
The internal cable runs are a nice touch and the gear change is crisp and precise (only niggle - would have preferred double tap - its so much easier than the rapidfire shifters). You can pay a few hundred more for the hydraulic brake version but you dont really need them as stopping power is pretty good without hydraulic brakes. All in its a great bike - and it looks pretty good to.
ps chuck the pedals away and get some decent ones -they're not great. But then again pedals are down to personal preference.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Calex30
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect Commuter

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'd been using a road bike for a 20 mile round commute which, although was quick, it wasn't really practical with SPD SLs and the head down position on bike with all of the stop starts at lights and roundabouts etc. So... I decided it was time to invest in a quick hybrid.
After setting a budget and looking at a number of hybrids I kept coming back to this one as it appeared to tick all of the right boxes with its lightweight frame and forks and road mechs, chainwheel and cassette.
This bike itself in quite understated (a good thing for commuting in my opinion) but I have changed a few things to get it just right as it felt a little slow after the road bike understandably. Upgraded the wheels to the basic Fulcrum 7s and also added 28 Conti Gatorskins - this alone has transformed the performance and ride. Other small changes include a Charge Spoon saddle and double sided Shimano R324 pedals taken from another bike. I also flipped the stem to give a lower riding position.
All in all and well put together and attractive bike which is great fun to ride and perfect for the daily commute. Recommended.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DarwinAward
Country:Finland
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Cross between hybrid and road bike = "Hy-Road?"

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: not quite as pictured
After extensive research, I figured this bike would fit my needs beautifully. I needed a bike that could do double duty: primarily as a hybrid for commuting to work and zipping around town on errands and secondarily as a fast-ish touring bike for weekend explorations into the countryside.
After 2 weeks, I have yet to find fault with it. It is light and fast, although so far, I am more hesitant to jump curbs in the city as I used to with my old Scott Sportster hybrid with hydraulic suspension and heavier wheels. Unless you can afford to own 2 bikes, the Sirrus Elite represents a terrific compromise, with an emphasis towards being more of a road bike.
I would have given this product 5 full five stars, but I was disappointed that the bike does not come with the mounting points for a frame lock as was pictured on the web page. I had already bought a frame lock for this bike, and now I am stuck with it. I suppose the picture on the store's page is a stock image provided by the manufacturer, so no fault to Evans for this.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
James55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Very good but more road than hybrid

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
Lovely bike - excellent components and particularly frame, but I think my initial impression is that the ride is harsher than I was expecting - mostly to do with narrower wheels and tyres which make it fast on the road, but a bit bumpy off-road or on poor urban surfaces. I might see if different tyres soften this a bit.
I should say that this is a comparative experience - my previous Specialised hybrid is more sluggish but much softer on more genuinely hybrid wheels and tyres.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tomahawk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Good General Commuter/Leisure Bike

PostedJune 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Have had the 2012 version of this which is pretty much the same bike and have had a great time. I bought it last year and rode through the winter. I read reviews about the saddle being uncomfortable but I've not had an issue with it.
Have done commutes of about 7 miles each way and longer rides of up to 25 miles. I wouldn't take it across country as it doesn't really handle too well in the mud it's really more of a city bike but I have taken it on country park type tracks and it was fine, It's really good when you want to accelerate away at traffic lights as well to get out of the way of the tin cans.
My only downer was with the Nimbus flack jacket tyres which had regular punctures. I've swapped them for 23mm specialised armadillo tyres which seem to be bullet proof so far and also have added about 3 to 4 mph onto my speeds.
Riding position is great in traffic and generally but sometimes I wish I had gone for a bike with drop handlebars especially when I feel the wind resistance.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cotter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Fast, light and fun to ride.

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I haven't owned a bike for a long time and am highly impressed with my new purchase. I love how light the bike is and that it is simple to operate the gears. The geometry of the bike allows my back to stretch out providing a very comfortable ride over longer distances.
It's a bit of a looker too as I have checked people checking it out as I go passed. (hopefully not just to steal it!)
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Sirrus Elite 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarcusB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

A Great Hybrid Bike

PostedApril 15, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: for the price. none
After a long cold winter it has been great to get out on this bike. The steering is positive, the gears and brakes smooth and responsive and the gear range is so flexible riding in traffic or open road is not a problem. For the price it is excellent value although it has a lot of competition.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.