Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Hybrid Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Skunk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good step move from Mountain Bike

PostedAugust 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
After 10+ years on chunky-tyred mountain bikes, bought this bike to go on longer journeys.
I like riding it, can do 90 percent what an MTB can do.
Several Spokes snapped, lots of spokes went loose, after first 7days/200miles.
The front suspension is quite rattly.
The front suspension lockout knob is very sticky.
Apart from that it runs lovely and smooth and feels good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marcus358

Good quality, a nice ride.

PostedAugust 14, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: concealed cables would have been nice
Bike met all my expectations for quality and performs well. I am enjoying riding it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
pete2000

A good affordable product.

PostedAugust 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: noisy disc brakes
The Crosstrail Elite is a very comfortable bike to ride with the exception of the noise the discs and pads sooner or later produce and I agree with DemonTraitor's review that this is a good bike overall but there's some problem with the disc breaks and its nose that is quite annoying.
It's a good product for the price you pay.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
DemonTraitor
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Fantastic bike. But has its flaws, eventually...

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: squeals so so bad!, cables cut into frame
Had the bike for 2 years. Use it every day to commute to work, which is 6.5 miles each way. It's lovely to ride, but for several months I have had problems.
Both brakes squeal terribly to the point where I don't use them like I should. The front brake has had new pads, and a new disc, but the squeal is still present, and is very very bad and hurts my ears. The rear brake has only had new pads, and still squeals!
The cables at the front have been rubbing on the forks has rubbed away, not only paint, but grooves in the metal itself. I only noticed this after the warranty had expired, otherwise I would have got it sorted.
The bike has now picked up a creak and click sound while cycling. It's so annoying and difficult to describe. The creak/clicking sound stops if I take one hand off either hand from the handlebar and if I lean forward or stop peddling.
I have had the whole bike checked over and serviced, and all of the above still apply.
Front derailleur keeps seizing lately. Although I do clean and lube the bike regularly. I'm getting it replaced this week...
I have been trying to get help from Specialized about the brakes. They are asking me to send the whole brake units to them, but considering this is my only form of transport for work, it's not going to happen.
Lately the bike is becoming a chore to ride :(
Even with all this, I do recommend the bike, but please look out for the above...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
skoffkruddle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Excellent

PostedJuly 15, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: seat
Effortless to ride and very rapid. Saddle is hard so require a gel cover, other than that it's excellent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ms154
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Great all rounder bike

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is perfect for anyone who requires a good all rounder for use on road, trail paths or even getting off the beaten track on to some gravel or dirt roads. The bike has some great high quality features, in particular the gearing and brakes which feel really solid regardless of what surface you are on. The bike is very responsive and the frame build quality is excellent. Being able to lock out the suspension is a great feature and one which differentiated this bike from others for me. I have only had the bike a few weeks but have absolutely no complaints!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kornelia245
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Chiswick

This product has many pluses

PostedMay 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I really do enjoy my new bike to the fullest.
I think size wise is perfect as even though it has bigger wheels, they are very good coverage for the roads as well as off road. Great breaks and firm pedals, amazing in wet conditions (good grip), plenty gear combination options, comfortable handlebars and overall very solid frame.
I would also like to compliment and thank the Evans team in Chiswick for their support and advise provided first hand, as well as supporting my later service of the bike and repairs. :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bushleybiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

compared with my old bike it is a dream

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The gearing and road ride is excellent. I have transferred my existing saddle and suspension which has made the stiff ride into a really comfortable and enjoyable experience. The gearing has enabled me to negotiate some rather unpleasant hills in the Malvern area much to the surprise of my colleagues.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great bike for all occasions

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
i bought this to replace a Rockhopper. I wanted front suspension but didnt need the off road capability of a mountain bike.
I find this rides and rolls well (especially on Armadilllos).
The only thing im not sure about is the saddle but that could just be me.
Really nothing bad to say
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Braeside
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellant bike

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Returning to cycling for fitness reasons at nearly 50 years of age. This bike is comfortable & a pleasure to ride on the road. I am heavy but it is quick & easy to ride with terrific gears & brakes.
If you are thinking of purchasing this bike I would strongly recommend it.
The staff at Evans are helpful & knowledgeable & have given me some great advice with this purchase & with several other products I have bought to go with it.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoolDavid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

easy to ride and great to look at all new for 2014

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, great bike
I love my new bike! I used to say that when I was a kid and the thrill of having a new Elite disc 2014 has created the same feeling again and guess what - I am out on it every day just about...
Easy and responsive, the right price bracket, strong enough for this big lad. I love going off road too...
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ian123
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Very quick

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Excellent bike, surprisingly fast on the road and handles light trails with ease. Gears are very easy and precise and the hydraulic disc brakes stop the bike very quickly. Only down side is its a little bit heavy but I imagine most hardtail hybrids are and I wouldnt let this put you off its not overly heavy, its just not a carbon road bike. The Guys at Evans recommended Specialized as one of the better build quality bikes and I have to say I havent been dissapointed
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Crosstrail Elite Disc 2014 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigBadAnt
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Bike

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
A great bike, finished a matt black with good solid compenents, highly recommend
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.