Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike

Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nando
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Great Bike!

PostedAugust 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a great purchase for the price. Looks great.
I use it for my daily commute which is a 26 mile round trip. Its a great ride, very comfortable. Its got great stability and takes road shocks well. It has great acceleration, which is great in London's traffic light ridden city and good speed and gear ratios which allow for maintenance of good velocity on straight roads. Much faster than my previous road bike. I would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phil531
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Confident and comfortable ride

PostedJuly 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Had this bike for 3 months now and am really pleased with it. It is well specced for the price and looks fab. Bike feels very stable so gives confidence. Taken it out on some longish rides and it is very comfortable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AJL111
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantasic Bike

PostedJune 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
For the price point, this bike should be on everyone's shortlist!
Good for hours in the saddle as well as blasting out short sharp sessions.
And it is seriously beautiful!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RacerRichT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wowers!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
What a great bike! First of all I'd like to say that its black and NOT gunmetal grey as it looks in the photo's and looks so much better in the flesh.
For the money the spec is great, couldn't really ask for much more!
I reseached loads of bikes as this was my first roadbike and this Scott was up there with the best of them. The magazine reviews were good as well.
Straight away I felt at home on the bike, it inspires confidence looks great and makes me want to ride it!
What more could you ask??
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
holmla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Lakeside

Great bike

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I would thoroughly recommend this bike. It is my first road bike and I tried out a Cannondale, a Trek and this Scott. The Scott was the best for me, it was comfortable and when I took it out recently it handled so well.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MiseryStreak
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

The perfect Ride2Work Road Racer

PostedApril 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, great quality components, aero frame, fast geometry
I looked at about 30 bikes (not just in Evans) before deciding on the Scott Speedster 20. My budget was up to £1,000 as I was buying through the Ride2Work scheme. I think for the money you can't do any better than this bike. Sure you can get a Planet X Carbon Pro for a grand but have you felt it flex? Personally I think decent carbon frames with good components start at around £1,500.
Firstly (and least importantly) it looks fantastic, it's a tired old cliche but the photos do not do it justice, the metallic gunmetal grey paintwork and white flashes with all black components make the bike look mean and spoiling for a fight. The polished out welds and concealed cables along with the virtual tail downtube profile make it look a few years ahead of some of its competitors. I've had to leave it in the living room for the first few days (much to the chagrin of my wife) just so I can keep looking at it.
The (almost) full Shimano 105 groupset is what sets this bike above the £899 Speedster 30 (and other similarly priced bikes), the shifters are much higher quality in feel and operation. I originally looked at the 30 so I would have some change for accessories but was convinced by an independent bike mechanic that the 105 components are worth the extra outlay. The way you can downshift even under hard braking is superb.
The bike feels totally solid and light, it is completely smooth and silent and my average speed is already up to 30kph on a commute. This is possibly more a comment on road bikes in general as I have come from riding a full sus mtb everywhere for 15 years. The frame is unquestionably stiff with no appreciable flex anywhere in the frame, forks or wheels when leaning on it out of the saddle. The geometry and stiffness feels like a racer rather than a Sportive but I've done some pretty long rides on it so far with no real discomfort and I don't have any cycling gear like padded shorts yet. So far I'm glad I went for the racier option.
I am 6' 7" (2.0m) so needed a big frame, I ordered the 61cm frame (XXL) and it is a perfect fit. With the seatpost set to just shy of the maximum my legs are outstretched and the front hub is just south of the bar when holding the hoods. It feels spot on.
I am absolutely loving this bike and I can't find anything to fault it yet. Apart from maybe a 11-XX cassette would be better, the 12-30 it comes with is a tad low for my liking. But an Ultegra 11-25 is £50 at the moment and having more than one cassette on the shelf instantly makes you appear more Eddie Merckx.
The Evans staff in Brighton are fantastic too. As friendly and knowledgeable as any of the very good independents in Brighton.
Ignore the lead time, mine said 6th June and I picked it up 6th April!
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
R7EHW
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great looking bike

PostedMarch 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Delighted with my new bike and really pleased with the look of this bike. The Scott pictures do nothing for the Matt black slick graphics and great look. Great groupset although I have changed cassette as standard unit too wide for my needs and i have plumped for a 11-25. Great value racer that's the real deal.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Scott Speedster 20 Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jamesno25

Good Quality

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
This is my first road bike, I have had many mountain bikes so I have nothing to compare against.
It feels very light to me, great controls, gears etc. I am 6ft2 and it does feel a bit uncomfortable but I put that down to the fact that I am not used to the riding position.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.