Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike

Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike

Overall rating:
4.889 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Saki
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

The bicycle is as expected

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: noise from the disk breaks
I was looking to purchase this bicycle for the last six months. I was waiting for a good offer and finally I got it. The bicycle looks well designed. When u riding it, it feels solid and stable. I have tested to some hard trials an is working fine so far. The suspension is better than expected. The 29 size wheels are really good to cross over obstacles. The bicycle is not heavy but not light as well. I think it has the right weight for a mountain bike. The only disadvantage is that the disc breaks making a small noise when you I am slowing down with soft breaking.
Apart from that the bike is very good and I am well satisfied with my choice.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sacer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great Bike

Posted19 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this bike 3 months ago from Evans in Hendon. By far the best bike i have owned and very very comfortable. Had no problems at all with it and is great on normal terrain as well as really rocky paths
Would def recommend this bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leyla92
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Superb mountain bike!

Posted04 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, great handling, high quality frame
Cons: Expensive
I've just got back into mountain biking after about 6 years away, and decided this was the bike to help me on my way! The quality of the frame on this bike is fantastic, the components are good for the price too, but it is made by Specialized, so remember you are paying for that too, but I think it's definitely worth it! I love this bike, it looks incredible, and the 29er wheels are a vast improvement on 26 inch, you pick up so much speed, and handling is amazing! It's only fault would be the poor quality pedals, but I purchased a pair of Nukeproof elctrons and now the bike is perfect! Size wise, I'm 5'9 and decided on the 19inch frame, and the stretch is just right. Would recommend this bike for anyone from a beginner to an intermediate level mountain biker, because once you get better an you want to be attempting bigger jumps you'll be needing a full suspension, but I'd say its probably the best hardtail out there.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichR
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Forward thinking bike

Posted14 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I had previously owned a Rockhopper 2011 (it was a 26" model then), but this bike was unfortunately stolen this December. At the time I was actually taking an interest in road bikes as I was feeling the Rockhopper was struggling on road riding, it felt like it was losing a lot of energy. When looking to replace my 2011 RH with a modern one I was surprised to learn that they had shifted all of their RH models up to 29" wheels. Originally a little put off, I began to wonder whether this actually would actually solve my replacement issue, both satisfying road riding, and also some off-roading. When I got on the bike for the first time I was incredibly surprised by the 'feel' of the larger wheel model. Handling didn't feel sluggish, I would say it felt different, I found myself putting my balancing during turns slightly differently from before. The biggest thing I noticed was how it accelerated and maintained speed. On the 2011 I felt like in order to accelerate I would be shifting between gears very quickly, and the best cadence was normally quite high. With the 2013 it feels like you can ride a gear for far longer, and the optimal cadence is more moderate. It maintains its speed far more efficiently than the 26" model before it. However, you may not feel you are going faster, but you really are, if you have any gadgets like gps you will see for yourself.
As someone who is 193cm, and in between sizes, I went with the 21/xl, so slightly smaller, yet it feels very comfortable. The components are a good selection for the price point. I am not too sure if the forks are good or not, this isn't something I can comment on. The frame feels very impressive, and was one of the most attractive features of the bike, considering its upgrade potential. It has a very appealing black matte finish, with portions of gloss black in order to make the logo and model. The geometry of the frame is also very well designed for the new 29" format, the rear wheel is REALLY tight to the seat tube in order to keep the wheelbase and chainstay short. I can't see this as being a problem unless you collect mud on your tyres, in which case it would only take an inch to mess with the rear derailleur. Additionally, I'll also say that the fact that the bottom bracket is lower than the axle of the wheel which makes your sense of control very high, you certainly feel like you're in control of the bike, and not positioned on top and out of the centre of gravity.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ATMP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

29er - great all rounder

Posted07 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: bars feel slightly too wide
I was sold on the Rockhopper frame by online reviews, but had to be persuaded that the larger 29" wheel was better than the 26" wheeled MTBs I have ridden for 25yrs. 6 months on and I have enjoyed the bike on road just as much as off road - never felt that way about previous MTBs. Until the recent improvement in the weather I was riding it on road in preference to my road bike and I commute to work on it 3 days a week on a mix of on and off road. The tyres supplied are great on tarmac and cope well with all but the worst trail conditions off road. The bars feel slightly too wide for weaving through some of the trails I regularly ride, but other than that I have no regrets moving to the larger wheels.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Darley
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it

Posted13 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first MTB I really like the bike in fact prefere to ride this than my hybrid.With the bigger tyres its a far smoother ride on tarmac and not a lot of drag, The bikes description, I would say was spot on
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Explosive103
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Excelant for the price

Posted29 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great smooth running all terrain MTB, only had this a few weeks but have already had loads of fun on it I feel comfortable and very safe on it. All controls are just there and are accurate but smooth dropping into gear ect.
Overall a great MTB
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sam37

Excellent Bike

Posted21 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Looks great
Got this about a month ago. Thorougly sturdy an comfortable ride plus handling.
Well worth the investment and just waiting for better weather to take it to the trails...
AS from London.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Rockhopper Comp 2013 Mountain Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ErikFr
Country:Lithuania
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Superb!

Posted16 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first Specialized bicycle ever and I simply love it! Yay! Had it for two weeks now and it is still shining!
I am usually riding on a road, but time after time I take it on a graveled road as well. It picks up speed fast on a road and even with these chunky tires I can go fast. It feels like I can ride over anything with this bicycle!
Very responsive on any tarmac. Very light. Smooth gear shifting. Every detail very well finished!
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.