Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light

Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light

The 2013 Diablo benefits from the new Optimised Mode Selector technology. OMS, Optimised Mode Selector is a new feature for 2013 and allows you to easily select from a concise number of programs to provide the optimum lighting for your ride. OMS programs enable you to obtain the lights full potential and optimise the output whether it's a two hour trail burn or a week's commuting.
Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
8 out of 9(89%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Review 1 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chopa
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super bright light

Posted16 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This light is about three times brighter than the previous lights that i have been mountain biking at night with, making it even more enjoyable.
Even for commuting to and from work the low or flash settings are sensational for visibility to others on the road. Highly recommended to all.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Thomas24
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Faulty

Posted25 March 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, unreliable
I bought this product and it stopped working within warranty period. I returned it to Evans who in turn returned it to the manufacturer. The manufacturer repaired the light and returned it to me. It worked for 2 days and then stopped working again. I returned it directly to the manufacturer asking for a replacement unit. This was ignored and an attempt was made to fix the light again. They returned the light but after 2 days the light stopped working again. I am in the process of returning the light for a third time. UNACCEPTABLE for a light that costs this much!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ethan2468
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

2013 Diablo Mk4. 1100 lumens. Made in the UK

Posted06 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, very visible
Cons: none
Fantastic light with enclosed helmet mount and lanyard. Deliberated between the Diablo and the Joystick. Joystick has longer running times. In the end it came down to brightness and the size. The Diablo is not as big as it looks when you see it in the flesh. It is a great size, similar to Joystick, but much brighter and larger physical size of light emitter.
I use it specifically as intended - helmet mounted on a Kask Mojito helmet, but it could be mounted alternatively with an optional mount. I use it mostly in the daytime on flash, and boy does it get you noticed, even on a low setting. I have had people pull out at junctions across my path and then stop suddenly when you glare at them. Others who are more on the ball see it from a distance and wait for you. Others look startled by it's presence. I would not ride now without it. At night time I flick it into normal mode (non flashing) and it works excellent as a head torch and really lights your path whatever the road or light levels. I have never had use to use it on high, other than when playing with it! I use it mostly on Level 3, which gives 3hrs on high, 10hrs medium, and 24hrs on low. It works great with the Exposure RedEye Micro.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
londonscottish
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Blinding Light

Posted14 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, first choice
Cannot recommend this light highly enough its exceptional ! I wanted something that really made me stand out with car drivers and the like but purchased something better than that. Battery life is top notch Ive never needed to use the brighter settings even on unlit farm paths at he start of November on a trip to North Yorks (Austwick) The fact its also torch shaped with the handy wrist strap is a real bonus on your helmet it stops the impossible happening if it was to fall out the well designed holder. The at first seemingly hefty price is more than worth it.
Bryan
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Zander69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Blindingly Good!!

Posted11 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Awesome, for a small lightweight light, the Diablo really lights up the road. I bought the handlebar mount and it fits solid. Cars almost move out of the way for you, it's great! Would recommend to anybody!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moonboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality, brilliant light

Posted02 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I use this on unlit country roads. It gives great vision for avoiding potholes.
Not only that but every car sees it & reacts, dipping their full beam early & no longer blinding me.
Great quality piece of equipment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichardM
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Well worth the extra over the joystick

Posted29 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I tried the Diablo for the first time this week and I was very impressed. It is much much brighter than the joystick even when set to medium, so if you need at least 3 hours runtime this is great to run in medium and you can switch to high when needed whilst still being brighter than the joystick.
The published run times are minimum and I found it lasted much longer.
I found it better to purchase the handle bar mount.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
andyjazz

Just can't wait until it gets dark!

Posted27 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
This is the 1st proper light I've used, last winter I made do with a Sigma Karma, which was ok, this is completely different though, I'm slightly unsure of how long it will last, so I've not used the full power much, but actually the low power setting gives plenty of light anyway. I like the helmet mount, and the lack of wires makes it very user friendly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Exposure Diablo Mk4 Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Flappy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Excellent but doesnt last as long as the joystick

Posted28 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, longevity
Bought this to replace a joystick that I lost! Use as a head torch as well as a Toro handlebar light. Would not be happy to rely on this as my sole light but as a back up / head torch it is great even if it doesnt last that long.Know people who do you it as their sole/handlebar light and they turn it off when they can to ensure it lasts!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.