Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal

Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal

Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
28 out of 28Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 25 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Review 1 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Leicester

Whats more to a pedal?

Posted23 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Lightweight pedal works well, first time in clip in pedals and I've had no problems getting in or out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Does the job

Posted19 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Easy enough to fit, easy to adjust.
Takes some getting used to, but I guess all SPD SL clipless pedals will be similar.
The sideways lip allows by these is good as it takes some pressure of my knees - probably my bad technique, but still, it alows for getting used to them before tightening them up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Very good product

Posted26 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
After a long lay off from cycling , getting back to using SPD pedalsl would not be easy I thought, but using these made it vey easy.
Good adjustment. Started off with the low setting moved up until I was comfortable with the higher setting. Would recommend these
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Posted24 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great pedals used to have spd before but never go back
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Shimano r540 pedals

Posted04 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
No frills but does the job perfectly,what else do you expect from a pedal
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great pedals

Posted27 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
hey do the job perfectly smooth free running bearings easy to clip into and comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Good Value

Posted13 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value
Easy to fit set up and use, you will certainly notice the difference
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Really like them

Posted22 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
This was the first time I've used cleats, they are a bit daunting at first and I did come to a standstill at a junction and forget to take my feet out, have been told everyone does this.
After a week I now clip in with no hassle, no looking down to see what I'm doing. They make a huge difference to my cycling and can't imagine how I survived without them.
The shimano pedals themselves are very robust and simple to use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Sure footed

Posted04 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
My first set of clip in pedals and I was well impressed with the build quality I would easily spend twice this on a normal set of Mtb or bmx pedals. These are the light action version and there is some movement when clipped in but I don't mind as I'm getting used to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great looking

Posted19 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Nice tight fit and you are able to adjust the tension for the cleet
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Nice first time pedal

Posted02 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
As it says this is a nice first time pedal to use on a race or sportive bike until you get the hang of cycling as part of the bike, being fixed in helps transmit more power but these pedals won't last long due to the plastic plate and budget feel. Until time or confidence dictates use them before upgrading to more advance and expensive units
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Does what it's supposed to!

Posted17 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: scratch easy
Not a lot to say really. The pedals work fine. They have scratched easily though from the clips, so look a little unsightly when not riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

It's all good fun and part of the learning process

Posted16 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Moved to these from SPD's - I am still working with them to be honest but they are a great looking pedal, very light and easy to use
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Overall good product

Posted13 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
They are very good but they are hard to get your foot into if you are not used to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Posted04 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy pedals to use. easy to clip in and out off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good looking and easy to use

Posted01 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good looking and easy to use, these are good looking white pedals that fit my cleats easily!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

Cheap and good

Posted05 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good value for £25! just make sure you wait for offers if you want this model. The Light action is as stated, incredibly light and the cleats that it comes with has an incredible amount of float. Perfect for beginners with tight budgets!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good Quality

Posted31 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These are my first Clipless Pedals and are great. They feel well made and are very easy to install and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Slovenia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted23 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It's a great product in the price range,exactly what i was looking for!And the white color makes it look very atractive!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Finland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Match perfectly with my new bike

Posted22 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product match perfectly with my new carbon Focus Cayo Evo 3.0 and Shimano SH-R106L Road Bike Shoes and feels comfortable when riding. White colour looks perky!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>