Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal

Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal

Overall rating:
4.611 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(18 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 18 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
18 out of 18(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Review 1 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Nice first time pedal

PostedAugust 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Poor quality
As it says this is a nice first time pedal to use on a race or sportive bike until you get the hang of cycling as part of the bike, being fixed in helps transmit more power but these pedals won't last long due to the plastic plate and budget feel. Until time or confidence dictates use them before upgrading to more advance and expensive units
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
HillHunter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Does what it's supposed to!

PostedJuly 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: scratch easy
Not a lot to say really. The pedals work fine. They have scratched easily though from the clips, so look a little unsightly when not riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GW42
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

It's all good fun and part of the learning process

PostedJuly 16, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Moved to these from SPD's - I am still working with them to be honest but they are a great looking pedal, very light and easy to use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Domigurl69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Overall good product

PostedMay 13, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
They are very good but they are hard to get your foot into if you are not used to them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
StuartB84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

PostedMay 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Very easy pedals to use. easy to clip in and out off
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rowie71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Good looking and easy to use

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good looking and easy to use, these are good looking white pedals that fit my cleats easily!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BobTheBuilder

Cheap and good

PostedApril 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Good value for £25! just make sure you wait for offers if you want this model. The Light action is as stated, incredibly light and the cleats that it comes with has an incredible amount of float. Perfect for beginners with tight budgets!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
WAlex
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brentford

Good Quality

PostedMarch 31, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
These are my first Clipless Pedals and are great. They feel well made and are very easy to install and use.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DubV
Country:Slovenia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
It's a great product in the price range,exactly what i was looking for!And the white color makes it look very atractive!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
laapa
Country:Finland
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Match perfectly with my new bike

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This product match perfectly with my new carbon Focus Cayo Evo 3.0 and Shimano SH-R106L Road Bike Shoes and feels comfortable when riding. White colour looks perky!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bryan999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light action pedals

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
These pedals have been great, have just been told of arthritis in my knee I was looking for some pedals that would release without too much pressure but still hold my shoe firmly when pedalling. These are an absolute godsend. If you are looking for light action pedals for use during any recovery from injury, GP advice needed of course, these are the ones for you. Oh and in white they look the Dogs..!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AER2263
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

First clip in pedals

PostedMarch 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Pedals feel good, nice and sturdy - not too heavy. Clipping out easier than clipping in, will probably improve with time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gilby77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Very pleased with this product!

PostedFebruary 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Having only just purchased my first road bike, I quickly decided to change the pedals to SPD's and chose the SL version. They haven't taken long to get used to, I feel connected to my bike and can hit some great speeds! They are easy to install and I am very pleased I made the decision to buy these!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gary83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

must have sod sl

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
nice and light just what a rider needs looks good on any bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Boobear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great first time clip in pedals

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Can't believe I've only just moved on to clips, perfect first pedals. I do think I'll be upgrading soon though, but I'm still very glad I got these for my first attempt with them. I cycle a lot, so for anyone that only cycles occasionally, these would be perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Niall123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very easy to clip in and out off!

PostedMarch 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I brought these pedals to put on my new carbon bike; after reading that they were easier to clip in and out off than other pedals on the market, because after not using clipless pedals for over a year I was worried about not being able to disengage from the pedals in a hurry, and subsequently falling of my bike and damaging it. These pedals immediately eradicated my concerns, as straight away I found it really easy to clip in and out, which put me at ease.
This is a great quality product from Shimano, as you would expect! In addition to being able to easily clip in and out off, these pedals look great on the bike and are good value for money.
I would definitely recommend these pedals to first time users of clipless pedals or people seeking a pedal which is extremely easy to get out off in a hurry.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
These are my first clipless pedals so I wanted some that I could clip in and out of easily. I bought these with Spiuk ZS11R Road Shoes and they are easy to clip into and out of for me. They are a definite upgrade from the standard flat pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano R540 Light Action SPD SL Road Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Henry1982

very good for beginner

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
very good, never worry fall, and disengage quickly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.