Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal

Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal

The third generation of Saint - the m820 group was developed under the "Pure Gravity" design philosophy with a clear focus on downhill speed. New Saint is dedicated to DH racing, new Saint enhances concentration and focus through seamless and stable bike control, new Saint accelerates and decelerates at Word cup levels.
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
34 out of 34(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
17 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Review 1 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisP69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Shimano Saint MX80.

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great pedals, sufficient grip without wrecking the sole of your footwear.
Very light weight, yet feel strong enough for anything you can throw at them. They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GhostRider52

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, silver coloring has worn out very quickly, bearing slightly stiff
Good quality product, though the silver colouring has worn off almost after the first ride. Bearings are slightly stiff but I imagine they will loosen up with time. Great grip, the adjustable pins work a treat. Very Solid and comfortable, giving you great confidence even when wearing heavy boots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coopster

Solid and grippy pedals

PostedApril 29, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I am a seasoned SPD rider but decided to recently try flats with good shoes (Five Ten Freeriders), in order to improve my MTB skills.
I can safely say that after the first outing I am glad I have tried making the switch as I felt more confident on technical single track and on descending. My friends also commented that I was faster a took on terrain that I would previously avoid.
I went for the Saint pedals as I know that Shimano entails dependable engineering and I am glad I chose these pedals, they seem to work really well and I didn't have any issues or really even notice them while riding.
I would highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

top pedals

PostedApril 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
good grip easy to install and very light.
a lot more stability than my old plastic ones
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morphenator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid pedals, large platform, grippy long pins!

PostedApril 8, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, grippy, adjustable
Cracking set of pedals. Look great on the bike, perform even better.
Bought these on a bit of a whim as wanted some DMR's but they were out of stock. These are good sized pedals for my size 9 feet, the pins can be extended in the platform by removing a small washer, but you'll need a torx bit. They are well made, have been bashed on rocks and withheld really well, still look like new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuinbrazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Top flat pedal

PostedMarch 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
They creaked a bit on the first ride. A bit of WD on the threads, a proper tighten and bob is my uncle. Feet sit solid as a rock on bumpy descents. I've really whacked them on rocks at speed with nothing more than some scratches to show for it. Sturdy bullet proof pedals that look brilliant also. Actually slimmer than they appear in the pic. Don't be fooled into buying different platforms because they are 100g lighter; you'll want something that feels really strong and sure underfoot. Steel axle, and no bush inside either. Fully serviceable. By the way, I ride 100k XC races, not downhill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can29er

Great pedals

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are great lightweight pedals. Not badly priced. Look the business. Would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gary00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

great value for money

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Have used these pedals in all types of weather and had no problems with my feet slipping. Pedals turn with no friction and give great purchase. Great for pushing off at traffic lights and junctions while others try to locate their cleats.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
videonastie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent flat pedals for everyone.

PostedOctober 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent pedals that blow away the standard pedals that came with my Road bike. Sturdy, well made & good looking. Best of all I got them a lot cheaper by ordering online, with quick delivery as usual from Evans. Highly, highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AS127
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This Pedal has style and is good quality and looks great on my MTB. It allows for different levels of grip with adjustable screws and has not let me down or disappointed me. Friends have purchased this product on my recommendation and are also suitably impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wil109
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Grippy, easy to swap out pins, and they are Saint

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have had quite a few pedals, DMR, Superstar, Easton, Specialized, these I have found are the best so far. Really grippy and they come with the spacers should you prefer shorter pins. Whats really good as opposed to other pedals I have had is that all the pins are optional which is good.
I really like the style and the fact they are saints.
I was surprised as they felt quite a bit lighter than I expected.
All in all very good pedal and just looking forward to getting more trail riding in on them. They also have a decent platform size as I've got big banana feet so they make a good pedalling platform.
Well recommended!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ratman72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent pedal for wider feet

PostedSeptember 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, great for wider feet
I bought a pair of these pedals for my off road 2012 Rockhopper expert as I was having issues with my feet tingling after approx 10 miles. They have totally transformed the bike, not only so they look better than the standard pedals but are so much better for my size 12 and wide feet.
I feel that more of my effort is going into the drivetrain, much grippier and comfortable. Liked them so much I just bought a second set for my road tyre shod 2012 Rockhopper as well :)
I must admit though I did take the spacers out of the studs for extra grip as I only ever wear trainers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobby11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Saint flat pedals, great

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Went to the Afan cycle park, have been using SPD's for years, thought I'd give these ago as a park virgin. Loved them, nice and wide, very grippy. Great pedals well constructed typical Shimano quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikeyj1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great pedals

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Very pleased with the pedals look good very strong good investment. .looks like they will stand the test of time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanJ77
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Very nice pedals

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased these to go on my new bike as it didn't come with any, they are light weight,smooth,tones of grip which is adjustable to your needs, comes with a spare set of pins for when the originals wear out.
Very pleased with them and they look great on the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CarlosUK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Very good pedals.

PostedAugust 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I liked the pedals but I had to remove the washers to have taller pin height. After this change, the pedals were excellent. I wear Fiveten Freerider shoes and the pedal are perfect for these shoes too. Go for it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JordanT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money.

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, adjustable
Cons: Heavy, large profile
Well a flat pedal is a flat pedal really. Not the lightest on the market but makes no real difference for people not looking to shed weight. Comes with adjustable studs, i found them perfectly adequate and grippy without having to extend them, unlike some other reviews.
They seem pretty robust, being all metal, and have a decent design.
The only real downside of the product is they are slightly large in terms of profile and thickness. Not too much of an issue to put a buyer off but worth mentioning as the ground clearance is reduced.
Overall for the price you can't really go wrong!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ExeterWavey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

great piece of kit for the money

PostedAugust 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very happy with the pedals they are a nice piece of kit, sturdy (quite a few knocks already) and good grip with extra / spare bolts provided.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Liam57
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional

Great all round pedal

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
A really nice pedal with good grip and nice looks
Can only add to your biking experience!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PuddingAndPie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Saintly Shims..

PostedJuly 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: but for how long..
Quality you'd expect from Shimano - Bombproof, smooth & a nice, wide platform - shims incl'd to vary the stud length are a nice touch.. Your shins may appreciate them, too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>