Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal

Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal

The third generation of Saint - the m820 group was developed under the "Pure Gravity" design philosophy with a clear focus on downhill speed. New Saint is dedicated to DH racing, new Saint enhances concentration and focus through seamless and stable bike control, new Saint accelerates and decelerates at Word cup levels.
Overall rating:
4.78 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
41 out of 41Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 31 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Review 1 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
loaf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Posted22 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, good grip
so far very good but lets see in 1 years time as I think that's the time to review a product and give a honest and valued review but as I said up to now very good
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Micha
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Excellent upgrade pedal

Posted16 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Have tried there pedals on mtb trail and they performed excellently very grippy I left washers off on middle pins as pedals are concaved so pins sit lower but left on outer pin washers and never slipped once do feel if pins where higher it might become difficult to reposition your feet will riding as they are very grippy also seemed to allow me to deliver more power in to the pedals
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gatto
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Slick

Posted23 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Perfect size for where your foot needs to be with min. amount of metal and grip in the right places. I feel well balanced, have set the pins low and haven't come off them yet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBBlack
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

Posted03 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I bought these to replace the stock pedals on a 29er cannondale mtb. I use the bike as a city commuter so I needed a good flat pedal as cleats arent really an option. First of all the pedals are nice and wide which is good for my size 14 shoes. The also have really excellent grippy and adjustable pins. They are a little heavy but seem well made and strong.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MarvellousMarv
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Look great, great grip, good price

Posted02 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
They look great especially if you have a black frame and silver cranks. they are literally the same size and weight as the £80-£90 vault pedals. they pedal really good. much better than box standard pedals. make you a much more confident rider. I have these on my TREX 7.4 FX
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steven786
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Fantastic with the right shoes.

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: supplied tool is not correct one.
Wanting to keep to flats so I could cycle with the kids as well as downhill and not worry to much about show choice I purchased these.
I'm completely amazed on how much grip they offer however at first I was worried so please read on.
I first tried a set of Shimano MTB shoes with the clip cover plates still on in the Surrey Hills and I was very underwhelmed by the grip. They did not seem to offer much.
Switching to a set of trainers and things were much better.
Switching to my FiveTens and they are a world apart.
I think the issue with the Shimanos was the rubber is quite firm on them whereas the pedals require a softer rubber with a smaller tread pattern.
I've just returned from another weekend in BikePark Wales and these pedals are still performing perfectly even after some heavy bashes.
these pedals paired with a set of FiveTens are truly amazing. you can feel them pulling at the pedals on the upstroke.
One thing of note. They come with spacers fitted shortening the size of the grips. The supplied tool is not the correct one for the grips so you'll need your own star drive to remove the spacers if thats your wish.
If you do remove the spacers it's harder to reposition your feet once on the bike but you get more grip from the pedals.
I have tried other flats and these are far superior.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saintsman2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Excellent build quality, looks cool, price no too bad get what you pay for!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChrisP69
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Shimano Saint MX80.

Posted26 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great pedals, sufficient grip without wrecking the sole of your footwear.
Very light weight, yet feel strong enough for anything you can throw at them. They look great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GhostRider52

Posted10 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, silver coloring has worn out very quickly, bearing slightly stiff
Good quality product, though the silver colouring has worn off almost after the first ride. Bearings are slightly stiff but I imagine they will loosen up with time. Great grip, the adjustable pins work a treat. Very Solid and comfortable, giving you great confidence even when wearing heavy boots.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coopster

Solid and grippy pedals

Posted29 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I am a seasoned SPD rider but decided to recently try flats with good shoes (Five Ten Freeriders), in order to improve my MTB skills.
I can safely say that after the first outing I am glad I have tried making the switch as I felt more confident on technical single track and on descending. My friends also commented that I was faster a took on terrain that I would previously avoid.
I went for the Saint pedals as I know that Shimano entails dependable engineering and I am glad I chose these pedals, they seem to work really well and I didn't have any issues or really even notice them while riding.
I would highly recommend them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrjaybugsymalon
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

top pedals

Posted12 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
good grip easy to install and very light.
a lot more stability than my old plastic ones
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Morphenator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Solid pedals, large platform, grippy long pins!

Posted08 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, grippy, adjustable
Cracking set of pedals. Look great on the bike, perform even better.
Bought these on a bit of a whim as wanted some DMR's but they were out of stock. These are good sized pedals for my size 9 feet, the pins can be extended in the platform by removing a small washer, but you'll need a torx bit. They are well made, have been bashed on rocks and withheld really well, still look like new.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
stuinbrazil
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Top flat pedal

Posted27 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
They creaked a bit on the first ride. A bit of WD on the threads, a proper tighten and bob is my uncle. Feet sit solid as a rock on bumpy descents. I've really whacked them on rocks at speed with nothing more than some scratches to show for it. Sturdy bullet proof pedals that look brilliant also. Actually slimmer than they appear in the pic. Don't be fooled into buying different platforms because they are 100g lighter; you'll want something that feels really strong and sure underfoot. Steel axle, and no bush inside either. Fully serviceable. By the way, I ride 100k XC races, not downhill.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Can29er

Great pedals

Posted18 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
These are great lightweight pedals. Not badly priced. Look the business. Would highly recommend
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
gary00
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

great value for money

Posted18 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Have used these pedals in all types of weather and had no problems with my feet slipping. Pedals turn with no friction and give great purchase. Great for pushing off at traffic lights and junctions while others try to locate their cleats.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
videonastie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Excellent flat pedals for everyone.

Posted02 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Excellent pedals that blow away the standard pedals that came with my Road bike. Sturdy, well made & good looking. Best of all I got them a lot cheaper by ordering online, with quick delivery as usual from Evans. Highly, highly recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AS127
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted30 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This Pedal has style and is good quality and looks great on my MTB. It allows for different levels of grip with adjustable screws and has not let me down or disappointed me. Friends have purchased this product on my recommendation and are also suitably impressed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wil109
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Grippy, easy to swap out pins, and they are Saint

Posted13 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have had quite a few pedals, DMR, Superstar, Easton, Specialized, these I have found are the best so far. Really grippy and they come with the spacers should you prefer shorter pins. Whats really good as opposed to other pedals I have had is that all the pins are optional which is good.
I really like the style and the fact they are saints.
I was surprised as they felt quite a bit lighter than I expected.
All in all very good pedal and just looking forward to getting more trail riding in on them. They also have a decent platform size as I've got big banana feet so they make a good pedalling platform.
Well recommended!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ratman72
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Excellent pedal for wider feet

Posted12 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, great for wider feet
I bought a pair of these pedals for my off road 2012 Rockhopper expert as I was having issues with my feet tingling after approx 10 miles. They have totally transformed the bike, not only so they look better than the standard pedals but are so much better for my size 12 and wide feet.
I feel that more of my effort is going into the drivetrain, much grippier and comfortable. Liked them so much I just bought a second set for my road tyre shod 2012 Rockhopper as well :)
I must admit though I did take the spacers out of the studs for extra grip as I only ever wear trainers.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano Saint MX80 2013 Flat Pedal
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nobby11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Shimano Saint flat pedals, great

Posted31 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Went to the Afan cycle park, have been using SPD's for years, thought I'd give these ago as a park virgin. Loved them, nice and wide, very grippy. Great pedals well constructed typical Shimano quality.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>