Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring

Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring

Overall rating:
4.571 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 6 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Review 1 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
KevF1964
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Use the best

PostedMarch 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Do not go for cheap alternatives Shimano originals are best , good value from Evans cycles.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GABRI3L
Country:Brazil
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedMarch 17, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Original part, great quality entry level hidraulic brake set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ASnail
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They do what they should - they stop the bike

PostedMarch 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
They do the job.
These are much quieter than previous break pads. In someways I miss the screech when breaking because pedestrians who decide to walk out in front of me knew they were about to get run over with the old ones and stopped going any further.
Evans had a few problems with the original pads I ordered being out of stock. Once Evans had worked out there was a problem, they offered to send an alternative at no extra cost which was nice, which turned up soon after.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Blowsy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfectly working pads!

PostedMarch 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Not much to say about these. They are easy to fit and work! A decent value option
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
NBobs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does the job

PostedFebruary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Not much to say about brake pads. I bought these as they are the same as the ones that came with my bike and I didn't have any issue with them, so I replaced with the same again. I like that they're secured with a split pin. Easy to fit, but holds them securely. They're also good at slowing me down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grimz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

OE Replacement Pads

PostedOctober 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
There's not a lot to be said other than they're quick and easy to fit and bed in, and will restore braking performance back to stock.
Get those stock pads replaced and enjoy confident braking performance again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bridkid
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

They work!

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Can't improve on previous reviews - they say it all.
One word of advice. If fitting to BR-M486 actuators, don't discard the old retaining split pin in a hurry. The pin supplied with the new set is fractionally too short for these actuators.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HighlandPeat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Replacement OE parts at lowest price from Evans

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, best price from evans
Searched the internet for these replacement Shimano pads and Evans were the cheapest with free and quick delivery - no brainer!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jamis1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Easy to fit

PostedJune 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cant say too much about brake pads but they were easy to fit , bedded in quickly with the disc and braking is now very good even in the wet.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
HillsHavWheels
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what you need it to do

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, easy to fit
Decent product at a good price. Very easy to fit. My previous set lasted over a year and half with fairly regular usage on journeys into work so they do last fairly long considering the price. I've only used my MTB once or twice on proper single track courses. The brakes seemed to do the trick but if you you are in the hills fairly often it is probably worth upgrading your brakes to a better quality brake set.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Maverick680
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Original Part replacement

PostedJanuary 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Not a whole lot to say about this given its an original component used to replace the same shimano brake-pads - nothing better nothing worse. Brakes just working like new again :)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ethnicsnacks
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Quality Shimano product at excellent price.

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, easy to fit.
As this was my first attempt at replacing disc pads, I was a little apprehensive, but with the typically comprehensive Shimano instructions installation was a doddle!
They were actually easier than some rim pads I've encountered in the past. As long as the pistons are reset, you can't go far wrong.
Admittedly, the front brake required bleeding and topping up with hydraulic fluid, but that's a side / maintenance issue.
Just remember to bed them in under clean / dry conditions before hitting the trail as, apparently, water and / or grit can wipe out new pads that haven't been bedded in on one outing.
All in all, typical Shimano quality. Recommended.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ed0102
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
New pads have restored braking performance. Not bad for the price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano BR-M485 Resin Pad BO1S and Spring
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
sonjon60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin!

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Good product. Easy to install. The usual great delivery service from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.