Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket

Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket

Overall rating:
4.381 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 15 Answers
Customer reviews for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Review 1 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Fish99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

awsome

Posted08 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
as thin and light as anything, didn't actually think it would keep me warm, but is does the trick, and it keep me nice and dry.
One problem is the sleeves are too long and they ride up to my ebows
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
biker777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality jacket

Posted12 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
recent reviews say it all, amazing jacket, surprisingly warm yet incredibly light, the perfect jacket for the jersey pocket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
kingy837
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ultra light race cape.

Posted11 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, very packable
Cons: baggy arms
I looked around a lot before deciding on this jacket and went for this one as it was apparently very breathable and most importantly waterproof.
I've not had chance to test it to the limits but it seems a good bit of kit and packs away into an incredibly small space, ideal for a jersey pocket.
It's ideal for slipping on when blasting down an alpine descent and it's 30 degrees at the bottom, roll it up and in the pocket.
As others have mentioned, the arms are a bit baggy but i think overall PI gear is sized larger than it's Italian comparitor's so take note.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rider88
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Extremely lightweight and breathable jacket

Posted03 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, highly breathable
Cons: no pockets, no storage pouch
The first thing to strike you about this jacket is how light this is. It is unbelievably light. I have other jackets which are supposed to be light - but this one is incredible. The next thing is the slippery feel of the fabric. It has a kind of sheen to the fabric finish and with the DWR finish makes this glide on over your jersey. Excepting the materials - its a very simple jacket. Elasticate cuffs and hem. No pockets. And some reflective trim to the rear. Zip takes the collar up an inch or so to provide neck coverage and there is adequate drop on the back for rear coverage also.
On the bike it's a very good wind beater but breathable at the same time. You can work up quite an intensity on the bike without the jacket becoming clammy on the inside.
Size small was good to go over a jersey and 37in chest. Fit was close race fit - except for the arms which I found are marginally baggy.
Otherwise, arm length and overall length of jacket good for 5ft 7in frame.
Excellent quality and packs down very very small - but does not come with its own pouch.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Love2Ride
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't Leave Home Without It!

Posted05 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, true bright yellow, keeps out wind
Cons: Expensive, tight body/loose sleeves
An amazingly light jacket that pack down tiny (mandarine or golf ball size if you want to really squeeze it down.) This makes it ideal and convenient enough to always carry with you - just in case the weather turns bad.
It's windproof enough to keep a gale out, but stays breathable. It has no problem keeping out showers - I haven't been caught in a downpour so I can't vouch for that.
The cut is very slim, but the arms are fairly loose - should be the other way around. Because of this the light fabric can flap noisily around the shoulders if your zip isn't done up completely and the wind angle is right for this. Also the long tail should be longer to keep your but dry from road splash. A bit more reflective area would enhance safety which the bright yellow does really well.
In any case since I got it - I always carry it with me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
10stoneweakling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality at a great price.

Posted30 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: sleeves long and cuff elastic could be tighter
A good quality lightweight jacket. Enough to keep the wind out and the chill out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
genesisj

Great product highly recommended

Posted25 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The jacket does exactly what it says on the tin. I highly recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richwhitty01
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Light and breathable

Posted24 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Perfect for long rides, very light, good protection against the rain...
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MP123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice to have in your pocket in case of showers

Posted08 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Folds up nice and small and is very light.
In terms of performance the jacket seems reasonably water and wind resistant , although I haven't been out in much more than light shower since this purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Samba123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Jacket let down by the sleeves

Posted12 August 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: sleeves miles to baggy
This is a really nice jacket, well made, looks good on, but it has one problem for me that means I'll be looking for something else, the sleeves are far too wide, just plain wrong. I'm a 44" chest so I went for the XL, fits great on the body and the length is just right but I've not got arms like Popeye so the sleeves billow around making lots of noise when getting a move on.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Winslowboy9
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great lite jacket

Posted28 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is lite and packs small enough to fit in a back pocket. Worn a couple of times in rain, on the second time in heavy drizzle for over an hour. It remained dry inside without any sweat problems. A good value item.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Graz
Country:Australia

Superlight, fitted, good coverage

Posted23 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Crazy light and packable, literally fits in a jersey pocket. This shell is a single layer of rip-stop, effectively wind and water proof, but with next to no breathability. Keep it at hand for sudden rain, windy spots, or long descents.
Good length and fit, roomy arms for the slim torso, but no stretch in the material itself (the cuffs are however elasticated). Nice zip and garage, easy enough with gloves. No pockets, hood, or rear access. The yellow is dayglo bright - safety first.
Great for what it says on the tin - and reasonable value, recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JariJ
Country:Finland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good choice for spring/summer commuting

Posted19 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Cons: no pocket for folding in
The jacket is light enough to carry along always when riding, I like to have it in little pouch in my pocket.
Great for pulling over whatever shirt or jersey you are wearing when the rain hits. Dries in an instant so after the rain has passed you can stuff it back to where it came from, as the water resistance comes at a price as always.
Feels quite cold to the skin when wet, so long sleeves are recommended for longer rainy rides. On the other hand, provides just enough warmth by blocking the wind when riding back home at late hours after the chill of the night comes on. Works great with merino underneath.
Would be perfect if there was a small pocket in the jacket itself so it'd be self-containing. I guess it would add too many extra grams.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Pin1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight and pretty water/windproof

Posted18 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: arms too long, elastic on sleaves too loose
Very lightweight and packs up very small, but a bag in which to pack it would have been useful. Sizes are generous and the arm length even more generous. Seems reasonably waterproof, windproof and breathable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Barbiter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all round qualities but a little flappy

Posted16 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, packs small
Cons: noisey, cuffs loose
Just returned from a trip to the French Alps so this jacket had some serious use. The weather was mixed, I'm sure you've seen the 2013 Giro.
The jacket was used in both cool and wet conditions. The jacket is so thin and small it fits excellently into a back pocket. The jacket never turned into boil in a bag but always kept the wet out. It was also excellent for keeping warm on the descents.
Negatives, I bought a large and although it was not a skin tight fit it was comfortable however the flapping noise on the shoulders above 13mph was horrendous and could not be silenced. The sleeves never quite feel secure due to a soft elastic cuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick101
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted10 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Ideal for changeable British summer conditions. Lightweight, easy to carry in a pocket & provides goog protection from wind & light showers.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
djt67
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Lightweight & surprisingly warm.

Posted04 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket fulfils a multitude of functions. It is incredibly thin, but this belies its ability to keep you warm on a cold spring morning. Additionally, the jacket will compress into a very small volume when it needs to be packed away.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pc07

Wow extremely small, light and waterproof

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, good rain protection for a jacket of this type
This is my fourth "emergency" rain jacket (+ undercooling prevention jacket) and the first which truly satisfies me. While in terms of warmth this jacket is similar to one of my jackets from Craft it is absolutely superior when it comes to rain and in addition is extremely light and can be packed to a very small size - must buy, best so far (I think I can stop searching).
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ickrust
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight just in case jacket

Posted08 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: maybe a lttle to lightweight
Very light with a great packdown size.
Will get you to somewhere warm so you can wait out the storm
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Pearl Izumi P.R.O Barrier Lite Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
benji17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Haven't really tested it yet !

Posted12 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Jacket looks well made and is light and can easily be packed away in your pocket! However I haven't had the need to wear it yet so can't comment on its performance
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>