Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light

Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light

Overall rating:
4.214 / 5
4.2
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 14(86%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 12 Answers
Customer reviews for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Review 1 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
thirtle1969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

what a let down!

Posted04 September 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Poor quality
I reviewed many, many lights from many retailers before purchasing this light. The reason I was drawn to the Super Drive was the high output and the (alleged) Lezyne high quality.
The first light failed to charge or show any signs of life.
The replacement charged no problem, and worked fine for 24 hours. It then stopped working on both the 500lm and flash modes. Nothing I tried would have any affect. All I had was the medium and low output.
Evans to their credit gave a full refund.
Lezyne however have failed to respond to my emails concerning this poor performance.
Good show Evans, poor show Lezyne
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
AlanB54
 
Please wait while more information about AlanB54 is loaded.
Additional information about AlanB54 could not be loaded.
Had the same experience
Posted 08 October 2013
I had the same experience with my intial light purchased, and the replacement behaved in the exact same way. Worked 2 or 3 times then totally dead.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 2 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steve05
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted26 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The Lezyne Super Drive XL is great value with high output and great battery life. The ability to run for 1.5 hrs on high beam is supported with ease. The light also shows up the side of the road very well with a broad beam promoting confidence. The battery does take longer to charge in my experience than stated but not a problem. All round great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DamianM
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Commuting Light

Posted03 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, easy set-up
Easy to set up, easy to use, looks good.
These little beauties have plenty of power for commuting. You don't really need more unless you're going to use them for either roo-shooting or guiding shipping away from rocks, so that shouldn't be a problem for most of us.
You do need to keep them charged, though this is an issue for all lights.
The Missus has also decided that it makes for good ambient lighting in the lounge room!?!?
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Martin94
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Good light, shakey bracket.

Posted28 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, good duration, feels solid
Cons: loose mounting bracket
The light itself is really good, it lights the road up well when it's dark. The flash setting is good for daytime riding with a little more confidence. Just be sure to keep it out of drivers eyes when it's on full beam, I turn it down to low beam when I'm on a busy road.
The mounting bracket is not up to the same standard, it suffers from a slightly loose fit between the light and the bracket, causing it to jiggle around. This does not fill me with confidence in the bracket. Additionally, the "adjustable angle" is a bit loose, it would benefit from a little friction to stop it from turning of its own accord.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rob12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good light but a oversized bracket loses stars

Posted17 March 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Cons: Heavy, Unattractive
Bright light but a oversized clumpy bracket means I cannot fit in on my Trek cross rip 2013 model due to the secondary brake leavers. So a bike light that will not fit on a bike.......
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pgh4166
Country:New Zealand
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says

Posted23 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Does what it says very well. I use it for the flash function in daylight only.
Not tried at night
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buckolfc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Light!

Posted17 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, good functionality
Cons: Expensive
Great light, very bright and lights up the road/path perfect. Gives you a confidence that you are being seen by drivers.
A little bit expensive but I bought it with gift vouchers so I wasn't as bothered with the price.
USB charger is perfect for me as I can charge it in work.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
enas
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Sublime all-round commuting light

Posted08 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
I was looking for a commuting light that would be bright enough to be seen with, even during bright days (my opinion is that very bright lights are better than the ubiquitous flashing lights, in terms of conspicuity), but that would also help me for the occasional unlit road. Also, although not my primary use, being able to train at night is also really nice. The reason I bought this light was that I already owned a Lezyne Super Drive (the previous model) and really valued it. Since I bought it recently enough that I could return it for a refund, I upgraded to that one for pretty much the same price, which happened to be a very good value. I have to say that initially I felt disappointed by the new design (just thought it's a bit less "classy", or other superficial considerations of the kind). I quickly got used to it though, and appreciate the fact it's a bit shorter. Also, the new features, such as being able to monitor the charge level, and the few extra lumens (not really felt to be honest), are really nice. But mostly, I feel that the beam pattern is better on the new model too, such that I get a better light at a similar power setting.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sib2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

nearly blinded me!

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, incredibly bright, spare battery, handle bar & helmet mount options
Cons: expensive but worth it!
Received this item for Xmas, and although not used properly on the bike yet can easily say the best light I've ever had. Sturdy construction, spare battery, two mounting options, but most importantly, blimey is this light bright......when switched on for the first time I made the mistake of looking into it! It lit up my dark garden better then my huge maglite torch! Expensive, yes.........but a small price to pay to safety and visibility on the daily commute........you can't put a price on being seen on the roads!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
simon2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

awesome light

Posted15 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very bright, even the low setting makes drivers notice you, and the high setting is perfect for catching drivers eyes in the daylight or for fast runs along unlit paths at night. I only use race mode so I can flick between high and low with just a single press. The bracket is good as long as you tighten it up properly, it is easy to cross thread the screw and then it won't tighten properly so be careful. Can charge it with my phone cable as well so no issues running out as warning light is fairly accurate giving plenty of notice for you to charge it. It also remains at full brightness even as the charge level drops which is very good. Buy one to see and be seen.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
veryrarelystble
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Powerful, but not as good as predecessor

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: powerful
Cons: weak flash mode
I updated to this when my previously trusty Super Drive developed an intermittent fault. There are some improvements over the previous model:
- on/off button incorporates an LED indicating battery juice left.
- battery life lasts a little longer.
But there are a couple of disappointments in comparison to the previous model:
- although it claims to be brighter (500 as opposed to 450 lumens) it appears to me slightly less powerful when I shine both on a wall. The new model's light has a slight yellow hue (previous model was much whiter) and spread of light is slightly narrower.
- in flash mode, the flash rate is about once-a-second. This is a very slow rate, and is not as noticeable as the previous model. There is a chance that a car driver "scanning" (e.g. at a junction) might miss this, as the flash may not correspond to a driver's glance. I can find no way of adjusting the flash rate.
It's the flash rate issue which has irritated me most, because in a city environment I believe this mode should be avoided. Which means that this high-spec light really is only fit for constant beam use; unfortunately I didn't buy it for that purpose.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TwyfordAdamant
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Robust and very effective

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A powerful and well built front light, giving a variety of power options for on and off road use. Fits securely in handle bar and helmet mounting brackets.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulj56
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds CyclePoint

superb

Posted22 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, very bright
Cons: none you get what you pay for quality
I have just purchased this light and it is fantastic out on a dark unlit road, it also is very good during the day when making yourself noticed, it has a mini and standard usb cable supplied which i plug into either an adaptor inthe car or my iphone charger plug, would highly recommend this front light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lezyne Super Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AlanB54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Excellent value

Posted25 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Just bought this.
The beam diffusion is brilliant at about 10-15 feet at 15-20 feet distance......superb for unlit country roads.
It's 4 mode capability is really useful, and with the strongest mode "blast", it's 50% brighter (@ 500 Lumens) than the Joystick Mk6 and £50 cheaper.....what's not to like?
The only "downside" is it only seem to be chargeable via a USB link to a computer, so it's quite slow to re-charge.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comments (2)
Comments (2)
Customer avatar
SRS45
Cornwall
 
Please wait while more information about SRS45 is loaded.
Additional information about SRS45 could not be loaded.
Posted 17 October 2012
Hi buddy, I use a high speed wall charger for mine, make sure you get a high speed usb cable otherwise it won't charge any faster. Standard USB charging is at 500mA. If your using say a Portapow USB wall charger on the high speed socket it will give 2A for charging... should be much faster.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Customer avatar
DeRosa
Sydney, Oz
 
Please wait while more information about DeRosa is loaded.
Additional information about DeRosa could not be loaded.
Wall Charger
Posted 06 October 2012
Have you tried using one of the 'mains to USB' chargers like those supplied with Garmin Edge computers or available for iPods etc. That may reduce the charging time for you.
That said, if it charges OK when plugged into a PC overnight or within 8hrs at the office it's probably not a big problem.
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (2)
Read comments (2)