Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light

Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light

Overall rating:
4.643 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(14 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 14 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 14(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Review 1 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nigelb73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Incredible brightness in such a compact light

Posted30 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I got this light to light up the pitch black roads in Richmond park on my commute back home. I usually keep it on the setting just below the brightest one as I ride back home through London and find it gets me noticed by traffic and pedestrians more easily than my previous lower powered light.
It is perhaps a little overkill for city commuting. Where it really comes into its own is when you are riding on unlit streets. On the brightest setting it lights up the whole road with the beam stretching out for several feet in front making it safe to ride at a normal speed and see what is ahead.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
allezspeeder
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great powerful light

Posted29 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, battery life
This light is truly fantastic. You can ride with confidence knowing that you will be seen. The only real downside is the battery life which isn't great, however charging via USB makes it very simple.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikemadmonkey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Blinding!

Posted05 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I bought this light in the sale in the Liverpool store and it is a must for the dark nights and you will most definitely be seen! It has four settings and the flashing mode is brilliant, battery life isn't bad either. I run this with a lezyne mini drive and both units are very well built.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GaryT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Strong light

Posted14 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Extremely visible light source on the road.
The on/off button is pretty hard to press down but otherwise it's a great product.
The high/low strength settings is perfect when traveling to darker places.
The flashing function is very useful on the roads.
Great design (mine is silver), comes with 2 mount sizes.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
GiantOtter1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Very bright

Posted11 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: bright
Cons: bit wobbly
If you are planning to go off road then you may need more battery life and illumination, but as a main commuter lamp it is a very bright point of light that illuminates the unlit sections or road adequately and is plenty bright enough for being seen by all but the most distracted drivers, the intermittent flashing period is a little slow compared to other units, but it is far far more effective than those lamps costing 29-30 quid in my experience. It will need toping up with electrons at the end of a journey, the standard micro USB connector makes this easy to do.
The bracket is not the best, and in that it requires shims to fit t, if you have to use shims it is the wrong size, nevertheless it clamps to the handlebar but it is not up to the Cateye ones
Aslo the button requires allot of force such that switching it on and off mounted on the bike will require micro adjusting the direction after , However it would not switch on by itself if packed into a luggage, (well very unlikely). The lamp itself is made to a high quality and fashioned like professor Zarkoffs space rocket, looks best in silver.
The slow flash and the wobbly bracket save this from five stars, the lamp on its own is worth it
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jeba
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great value light with powerful beam.

Posted05 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I have been using my light to commute through the darkest depths of winter. I ride 15 miles using mostly unlit country roads. The Power Drive XL is sufficient and I'm sure that for the money it's about as good as it gets. Don't expect daylight type visibility as you won't get it, that comes at much greater expense.
The light comes with a USB cable to use with a standard USB port on your computer. I take this with me to work and leave the light on charge all day to ensure I can use the brightest setting on my way home too.
I am happy with my purchase and would buy another product from this manufacturer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
IBarnwell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist

Fantastic

Posted16 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Like the previous reviewer I like to cut through Richmond park on my way to work but my previous lights weren't bright enough so I was forced to take the dangerous route up roehampton vale then down putney hill - awful.
This morning I was able to cycle in the pitch black through the park (6.10 am) at 20 mph without any worries whatsoever.
Would wholeheartedly recommend the light for commuting as it is very bright, lightweight and seems exceptional value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
frequentcyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great light output

Posted09 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Whilst relatively heavy due to the metal construction, this also means the light is very solid and durable. The light output is excellent and definitely shines the way ahead and massively improves your visibility to pedestrians and drivers. The flashing mode is not particularly useful as the flash interval is long - this means there is too much time when the light is off - but because the battery life is good even with a constant 'on' beam and because the light is easy to recharge with the USB cable I do not need to rely on the flashing light mode. It's worth nothing that the charge time is 5-6 hours but in practice this has not proved to be an issue yet as I just leave the light to charge when I arrive in the office and it's ready to go again by the end of the day.The rubber cover over the USB charging slot does have a tendency to slip out of place which does potentially allow water to penetrate when riding on wet days unless you are careful to ensure the cover is always in place. However, despite all of this I am very happy with the purchase.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Peter17
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An excellent light

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Lightweight with excellent light, not too wide a focus, cars over half a mile dip their headlights. Quoted running times are accurate. I would definitely recommend this product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
spanky
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male

Great light

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I originally used the cateye uno for commuting which was fine for lit roads, but this light is much more powerful and great for cycle track or country roads not lit, i generally use it on its lowest setting and it is fine for this, well made and easy to mount, i am always worried it will blind other road users so i have it pointing straight to the floor, but it still gives great visability. Great usb charging to plug into the computer while at work, battery life hasnt caused any probs, has a handy warning light to remind you to charge wen getting low.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dave8pies
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

An Excellent light, with recharging issues...

Posted26 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, brilliant beam
Cons: slow to recharge
A really powerful light with a great combined near and far beam... Battery life is true to stated claims... Recharging is a bit slow but that's because its USB.... I had a faulty one, (Wouldn't stop charging),.. but it was promptly replaced by Evans within a couple of days. Overall I'd say this light is more than enough for any serious night Cyclist..... It's one thing to see and be seen.... but this beast has enough power to convince motorists to pull over and let you pass..... They're wondering what this slow moving "Arc Welding-like" light is,.. that is approaching them... Nice looking piece of kit to boot#.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Astelia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good for Night Training Rides on the Road

Posted12 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, bloody bright
Used on a 77m night ride on unlit country roads - proved perfect on the lower power setting.
Also proving good for faster night training rides of a couple of hours on twisty turny poor quality country lanes.
Does have a good power down warning and is very compact and light for the power.
Worthwhile getting another battery as back up (a none Lezyne one is doing me fine).
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
adip
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice light for a reasonable price.

Posted12 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Not tested in total darkness yet but it looks a lot brighter than my old lights.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Lezyne Power Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
EazeeRyda
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

AWESOME!

Posted29 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This light is amazing! It is very powerful with a long and wide beam that lights street signs hundreds of meters away. It is so fantastic for unlit or poorly lit streets & paths.
Excellent value for money. I have been recommended other lights which are similar but twice the price so extremely happy with this one.
Caution do not shine it your the eyes as I did accidentally and couldn't see properly for about 20 mins (that is how powerful it is).
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.