Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light

Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light

Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Review 1 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Spikeyboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Great little light and good quality. Easy to fit and use
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rob500
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Small, light and powerful

PostedSeptember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this when it was on offer and so got a bit of a bargain. It's a small and powerful light and has enough functions for most conditions. The flashing feature last for over 6 hours, although I haven't tried the full and low beams over a long ride yet.
My only issue, which has been raised by others is that the on/off button is a bit fiddly, which would probably be even more so when wearing full finger/winter gloves.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Coomberider
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great performing low cost headlight

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I was really surprised at how bright this lamp is for such a small unit. I used it on dark and unlit country lanes where it gave adequate light to be able to cycle with complete confidence in that you can both see where you are going and be seen. Battery life will not be good for rides over 2 hours with a mix of the low and high beam settings. Recharging is really simple from USB on lap top. I bought this reduced in the sale and am realy impressed with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Rawtaw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Expensive for what it is

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive, better alternatives
I ride with guys who bought lights from china for £16 that are a lot brighter and last longer. Wish I knew this before I bought this. But is a good quality light but not really bright enough on its own for trail riding.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grumpy1949
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

The way forward is bright....

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, good even spread
With just one night-time ride so far to assess the lamp I have to say it is brilliant (pun...). Mounted on my helmet you can see wherever you look and some of the lanes we use are narrow, twisty, pot-holed, flooded with ditches to the side so you really do need to see more than just straight ahead. An interaction with a badger in the road or to judge a bend wrong could be painful.
The Mini gives a wide even spread of light for probably 200m. It's lightweight and if there is a downside that is only apparent when a chum gets his reflective jacket in front of you – it's then blinding. For rural riding this is a great bit of kit.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndrewH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect commuter light

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This cleverly designed light is very bright for its small size. While you might want something bigger if doing long night time rides at full tilt along unlit roads, this is bright enough to get me down an unlit canal towpath at 15mph. I can see it lighting up roadsigns at a surprising distance, giving me confidence that drivers cannot miss it.
Charging is via a mini-USB socket with no need to remove batteries. I can charge it from an electric socket while at home or from my computer at work. I do 90 minutes commuting per day and charge every couple of days. Very convenient and highly recommended.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BJUK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Deceptively powerful

PostedDecember 8, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, ease of use
For such a small package this thing packs a reasonable punch!
Ended up getting this one in a pinch after realizing my normal front light had died and had wanted to upgrade the front light anyway to something rechargeable so I could ensure I had a good bright light for each return journey.
The fact this charges off a micro-USB plug means I always have a means to charge it at work and don't even need to remove the battery as the charge port is built into the light.
Normally use it on the 100L setting and switch to the 200L when I get to some darker roads near home, lights up the immediate road fairly well however I'm still typically riding with street lighting, however at times they can be a bit patchy! I have also started using it on the flash mode during daylight hours to try and avert some SMIDSY situations :-)
Have been so impressed I'm planning on relegating this little beast to helmet lights duties and getting a Power Drive XL as the main bike light :-D
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Fantastic Light from a great priced product.

PostedNovember 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Riding in the pitch black with this light gives you confidence and priced really well against other lights.To top it all Evans Cycles give 10% off the marked price on lights.Great VALUE++++++++
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ilkleypeter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright enough

PostedNovember 15, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
-This light is too bright.
I was encouraged by the brightness to ride too fast and punctured the rear tyre hitting a pothole at speed.
-But at least it's small
Small enough to hold in your mouth while you fix punctures on the side of unlit roads in the rain.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Lezyne Mini Drive XL Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pod291
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Fantastic light easy to fit good value for money

PostedOctober 16, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I have just purchased this Lezyne xl light today very easy to assemble onto the bike with two different brackets to fit onto the handlebars I had to charge up the light before I could use it but once charged up it worked to perfection giving plenty of illumination for road cycling up to 200 lumen out put contained in a CNN machined aluminium body with side visibility cuts and MOR optics . The power indicator button allows users to check the power level left at any time I would recommend this light
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.