Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Derailleurs & Mechs or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
26 out of 26Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
27 Questions | 44 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent item

Posted30 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I bought this medium length derailleur to replace the short version fitted to my bike, it enabled me to increase my lowest gear from 30 to 32 teeth for climbing Mont Ventoux.. Well chuffed, job done.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent upgrade from Tiagra

Posted17 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Over the year since I bought my specialized allez with Tiagra I have been slowly tinkering with the drive train and finally swapped out the rear Tiagra mech to this
In case anyone is asking about compatibility with Tiagra shifters this all works fine for only a few pounds more note this is 10 speed compact
Now running 105 cassette, 105 rear mech, 105 chainrings, Tiagra front mech and ultegra chain all smooth, just need to do cranks and shifters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Great as long as they fit it properly!

Posted30 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: fitting
Definitely more robust design that the Shimao OEM 10 speed fitted as standard by Giant...seems really legit.
Would have helped if they actually tightened the derailleur to the hanger or could order a Giant hanger instead of asking customer to supply it as part of the 'service'.
Otherwise all good!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Super Smooth Shifting

Posted26 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this to upgrade my old Bianchi Via Nirone groupset from Tiagra to 105. Vast difference in shifting quality. Almost as good as Ultegra and a lot cheaper.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic rear mech

Posted22 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
bought this to extend my gear ratios as it will cope with a wider range cassette than my old one.
Works really nicely - slick gear changes and looks good on the bike too.
No need to buy ultegra when 105 looks this good and works so well
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
It was bought:Online

Perfect shifting

Posted07 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Upgraded from a cheap Campag set up to new 105 shifters and this 105 rear mech. It's shifts efficiently and smoothly and is lighter than the Campag mech it replaced. I think 105 is a great groupset and excellent value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Almost cheaper than servicing one

Posted18 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
When the old mech got all gummed up with road muck & miscellaneous chain-delivered crud and the wheels worn, I looked to clean it and replace the jockeys. Then found I could have a whole new mech for washers more.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Online

good derailleur

Posted07 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Good upgrade on the tiagra stock for compatible sets. No complaints from me. Get the 105 FD, cassette and cracks and you are really rocking and rolling...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good value easy to fit and adjust and looks great.

Posted07 August 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this (the gs long cage version) as I was changing my cassette for lower gears (11 - 32 tooth). The product was easy to fit and adjust and works perfectly. Compatible with 9 speed HG chains and cassettes too so good when I finally upgrade to 10 speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Precise shifting

Posted13 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
Incrediably easy to fit!! Great quality and value.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Good product & easy to install

Posted06 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Really easy to install & set up for use.
This is the first drear derailleur I've installed & once I'd had a look at hot the original was fitted it took no time to replace with this one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

105 Great improvement over my stock Sora part

Posted13 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Good quality
I was looking for a replacement Sora 9spd rear mech and decided after lots of Internet searching and forum hunting to upgrade to the 105 10spd. I have not been disappointed. The derailleur delivers silky smooth gear transitions and the best bit was the price, which when bought from Evans cycles meant that the 105 was around the same price as buying the Sora from Halfords. Next upgrade 105 brifters
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Fine

Posted09 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Cons: Heavy
Perfectly functional, works OK. ideal for training bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
It was bought:Online

Posted08 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great product - the quality you would expect from Shimano.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A Reliable component from Shimano

Posted20 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, reliable
Bought this as a straight replacement for my existing 105 rear mech which I damaged in a crash. Easy to fit and once adjusted just forget about it and enjoy hassle free shifting, looks good and will undoubtedly give several years of service like my previous one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Price and Great Deraileur

Posted23 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
10 speed with Very crisp shifts and well engineered. Looks very clean and works perfectly. Certainly as good as the 10 speed Ultegra at the same job and only a few grams in it.
I only replaced this due to someone riding into the back of me. They are tough but once bent and springs bashed they just are never the same.
Luckily this was at a great price and was available for quick pick up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and great performance

Posted22 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, easy to install
I have matched this with a Tiagra 10 speed cassette (28t) and chain. Installation was incredibly easy (as long as you read the instructions) and it has performed admirably under CX race conditions covered in sticky mud and grass. You really can't fault it and it will not break the bank if you do need to replace it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Replaced Sora, 1000 times better. smooth shifting and easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great value

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The shimano name does not disappoint,great value and great product.fast delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well proven performance, ideal for an upgrade.

Posted22 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After damaging my derailleur set during a heavy fall, it was the right time to upgrade. Following strong reviews I opted for 105 components. A little bit of research was required to ensure that I had the right part and hey presto... Evans are the only store to have it in stock. A quick click and collect later and I was home fitting the components.
I found the rear derailleur simple to fit. Some adjustments were needed but 15 minutes of cable and screw adjustment using the adjusters for high and low gears and the new front and rear derailleur were running smoothly.
If you are fitting this yourself, I recommend running up and down the gears after each minor adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>