Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur

Overall rating:
4.444 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
4
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 30 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Review 1 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jazzapple
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Smooth

Posted24 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Replaced Sora, 1000 times better. smooth shifting and easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cool
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great value

Posted05 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The shimano name does not disappoint,great value and great product.fast delivery.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jacko782
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well proven performance, ideal for an upgrade.

Posted22 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After damaging my derailleur set during a heavy fall, it was the right time to upgrade. Following strong reviews I opted for 105 components. A little bit of research was required to ensure that I had the right part and hey presto... Evans are the only store to have it in stock. A quick click and collect later and I was home fitting the components.
I found the rear derailleur simple to fit. Some adjustments were needed but 15 minutes of cable and screw adjustment using the adjusters for high and low gears and the new front and rear derailleur were running smoothly.
If you are fitting this yourself, I recommend running up and down the gears after each minor adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
FocusNick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Smooth classy derailleur

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Replacing the same due to a spring breaking which I guess happens.... - the 105 Shimano set is really good and smooth, and a decent price. Easy cleaning and maintenance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BMCBarney
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted22 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Bought this as a direct replacement for a previous unit, following damage in a minor crash.
At that point the previous one had around 14'000 miles on it with no issues. Over its lifetime I changed the Jockey wheels twice (once not long before the damage in question). It had taken a few knocks over time without issue too, so I can say it's made well and durable.
To the best of my knowledge, this unit is completely interchangeable with Tiagra and Ultegra 9/10 speed systems so will save you cost if you're changing the latter, and is a nice upgrade for the former.
Also, Shimano 105 570X and 560X components are also interchangeable. 570X is supposed to result in smoother shifting, but as a mere mortal, I'm afraid I can't really tell the difference!
Only suggestion with this unit is that at such time as you change the jockey wheels, swap them for a better set. I seem to remember the original Shimano ones only did around 4'000 miles. The BBB ones with ceramic bearings that I installed next did more than double that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
guck007
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

this product is on par with its bigger ultegra bro

Posted08 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great mech for the price very pleased with it,delivers promptly from a great seller. 5*
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Tummas
Country:Denmark
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Clean Shifting

Posted30 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Just installed this derailleur on my bike, and it shifts without any problems.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rikando
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

105 shifts smoothly

Posted23 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent upgrade from tiagra to 105.
Work better and smoother i have notice that even on climbs. The doesn't suffer any more just smoothly shifts.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano RD-5701 105 10 Speed Rear Derailleur
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Posh
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

At last, Shimano 10 spead rear mech taking 32T

Posted06 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, improved range of gears over previous mechs
Cons: Expensive, Unattractive
This is the first Shimano road, 10 speed rear mech of reasonable quality that takes 32T sprocket, however this only applies when used in conjunction with 50/34 compact chainset. Otherwise will only accommodate 28T.
Adjustment was simple and, after two months, retains its smoothness.
Note that Shimano do not make a 32T road block and I use an 11-32 Sram. Works just fine in conjunction with Ultegra shifters.
Setting chain length required multiple reading of instructions to understand which method applies to which chainset (tripple, double, compact).
Just waiting for Shimano to recognise that the older cyclists need lower gears on road bikes and have money to spend, then they'll produce an Ultegra standard 32T (or even 34T) block and mechs.
This works out expensive as upgrade will be bought when available.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Campagnolo
 
Please wait while more information about Campagnolo is loaded.
Additional information about Campagnolo could not be loaded.
Posted 08 March 2013
I have bought this rear because I know that it is good I have had it on another road bike before and I like it and it is a good group set so much that I am up dating all of my secend hand bike to 10 speed 105 group set and should be happy with it.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)