Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike

Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike

Overall rating:
4.788 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 33
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
32 out of 33(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
36 Questions | 67 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
queegle
Country:Luxumbourg
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great all-rounder, but off-road ability limited.

Posted29 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am 6ft4 and, having bought this bike a year ago, it has certainly lived up to my expectations. I ride up to 60 miles a week on it, a mixture of road and mountain trails, and I have found it to be exceptionally comfortable and competent for what it was designed for.
On the road, you have the benefit of being able to easily lock the front suspension so that you can get all your power through the frame. When the suspension is unlocked, such as on the trails, it has performed flawlessly and impressively.
I have found the gears to be great for every purpose I have thrown at it so far. You can easily reach a decent speed on the road, but the wide range of gears means that the bike is also great for climbing those very steep mountainous inclines.
I have found the standard tyres to be great on the road, grippy but with little vibration or road noise. However - and this is the first of only two gripes about the standard bike - the grip quickly becomes limited when the trails get muddy!
My other gripe is that the frame is perhaps a little more delicate-looking than a standard mountain bike, so I am a little apprehensive about being too "enthusiastic" with riding fast over the serious rocks and bumps!
However, these gripes are very small indeed, and not really in keeping with what the bike is truly for - it is an all-rounder rather than a pure mountain bike.
Even though I have put it through some very hard use indeed, it still looks and rides fantastically. The finish of the frame and components are top-notch and, if looked after properly, I am sure the bike will be good for many years of even this hard use.
I am very happy with my cycle and, given that it has renewed my interest in cycling as a sport, I will be purchasing a second cycle from the Specialized range shorty (which will be something specifically for the trails, unsurprisingly!)
If you are looking for an all-rounder, I cannot recommend this bike highly enough!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BrumArms
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Prefect for the taller rider

Posted10 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am 6ft 5inches tall, I found it difficult to get a bike that was the right size. Have only used it a few times however is very comfortable.
I have to navigate a range of gradient and road surfaces on my commute, this bike has no problems with any of them.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
palacefan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great bike for getting into cycling

Posted09 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, good brakes
I bought this bike to get more into cycling having had a bike shaped object for the last 6 years.
The bike is very comfortable to ride with smooth gearing and fantastic brakes.
The front suspension can be locked off which is very handy when cycling on roads.
I am 6ft and found the xl frame to be the best option having testing out the large and the xl.
My only bad experience so far is that the seat clamp isn't very strong and broke within 5 weeks of buying the bike, Evans were very good though and replaced it with another as part of the 6 week bike check up.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BacK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

its awesome bike!

Posted05 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I use this bike to ride to work in London, it rides really good on tarmac or gravel. I am very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Othniel777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Extremely good bike

Posted05 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I find this bike comfortable and fit for the purpose which is to get me fit, it rides well, gear change is smooth great product.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PBMagi
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Well rounded beast, happy owner!

Posted03 August 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: all-rounder
This bike is the perfect hybrid for me. I spent a long time considering different bikes before settling on this one, it is the best I've owned. I ride it on a huge variety of terrains: road, dirt, gravel, grass and some quite rocky paths. My commute pretty much follows the river Wandle, it's not your average commuter journey, so I needed a bike that could handle it. It's held up terrifically well, a few not quite tightened and non-essential bolts came a little loose, but otherwise no signs of wear and tear after 75 miles of hard riding. I was worried the larger 700 wheels wouldn't stand up to the off-road sections I take it on, but again no problems yet, and the larger wheels are great on the road sections. The gear ratio's are superb too, from mountain bike easy for big off-road climbs to on-road downhill and still peddling fast. I'm new to disk brakes and loving them, always wanted them and now I'm happy!
I wanted a bike that could do it all and this one does it all. Chuffed!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
grfgsdfgw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great!

Posted29 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This bike is sweet! I bought the XXL version and it's pretty massive but isn't really that heavy I'm 6 foot 3 and this size of bike is a good fit for me. The colour is apparently black but it's a dark metal gray but is really nice. The quality of the bike feels really well built compared to the Trek 7.5FX that I had - not as light though.
The tyres on the bike have a max pressure of 60PSI. I'll use these tyres until I need new ones and upgrade them to something with a higher PSI and less tred for higher rolling distance. I've not tried these tyres out for long but for the specs of them they do seem good if you need this type of tyre. For my I'm used to 28C Gatorskins so am able to notice a difference.
On this version of the bike there's no apparent eyelets for mounting a full mudguard on the front of the bike. There's two plugged holes in the rear of the shock which contains a thread. I managed to fit them successfully but some customization was required. I had to cut onf og the prongs from the 'V' shape mount off and bend the end of the eyelet to face the rear of the shock. I was able to mount it like this. There's a hole in the suspension crown for the top mount. It works just as well fitting it this way. On the rear of the frame there is eyelets just at the dropouts for fitting.
Overall I'd recommend this bike.
There's no real cons but if I had to pick one it would be that it wasn't free :)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Felix247
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great quality bike

Posted21 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Great quality for the price. First time I have had hydraulic disc brakes and they have helped me out already with their responsiveness. Gears are also very responsive. Overall, a very good bike for the price tag
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Moog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Solid Bike

Posted18 July 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
After talking to various friends about getting my first bike in years, i decided on the Crosstrail Sport Disc. I have little practical experience of other bikes to compare it to, but am very pleased with my choice. It's lightweight in comparison to bikes I had years ago and a solid and comfy ride. I've replaced the grips which were uncomfortable on long rides, and the seat is okay now I've adjusted the position.
Overall, I'm very happy with my choice. Although the forks stay locked most of the time, it's nice to have the option for the sake of a couple of pounds extra weight.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kevjoc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike and love riding it

Posted20 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike having seen one in the shop and ordered on-line through the ride to work scheme. It was out of stock and delivery took some time, but was worth the wait.
I am 6'1" and bought the large, which is ideal in size for me. The lock out forks are great, taking the vibration out of the rough stuff ( and I only really mean tow paths, pathways and forest tracks, not serious off road here) and stiff on the asphalt.
It is solid, so not particularly light, but then it is not a road racer. It is a lot lighter though than my previous bike, which was only seven or eight years old.
Gears are smooth and easy to work, the lows make easy effort of steepish inclines, the highs are perhaps a little too low if you want to cycle hard on the road (I don't).
The brakes are absolutely superb! I have never had discs before and these have saved me more than once already from an oops moment.
The only downside, is it comes with slightly skinny tyres if you do want to do something a bit more adventurous. If you can, swap the new ones fro a nobbled side wall one and get the best of both. And for you purists, I know that is not the right term, but you know what I mean.
Finally, it looks great too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
guidofcb
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Good bike with limitations

Posted12 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: soft fork, pedals and grips poor quality
I bought the bike with the main aim of getting fit on it, but also looking for versatility - I wanted something quicker than a mountain bike on the road, but that I could still use for some lighter off-road terrain. On the road I have no complaints - the bike is much quicker than my old mountain bike and feels great to ride. Off-road it is definitely quite limited though - the fork is too soft to absorb any real punishment, so aside from fairly gentle paths things can be a struggle; the tyres are also nowhere near as grippy as proper MTB tyres. I do like the bike, but sometimes wonder if a 29er may have been a better choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yawa
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great product at a great price.

Posted12 June 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I picked up this bike yesterday using the Ride2work scheme. I needed a bike that I would predominately use to commute to work along a cycle path and also to off road from time to time. The Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc ticked all the boxes.
I personally think it's a good looking bike plus has all the advantages of a hybrid with excellent tyres suitable for both on and off road. To get hydraulic brakes, hydraulic shifters and front suspension for this price it cannot be faulted.
I've already got 9 miles done cycling this back home and can't wait to get out on it again. Highly recommended.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
marc1
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Too many mechanical and assembly failures

Posted07 May 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Uncomfortable, difficult to get parts for repairs
I purchased two of these bikes about 5 months ago (Jan 2013). To date both bikes have been a pain with constant long term workshop repairs:
- within 5 minutes paying for and purchasing for one of these bikes the chain became severely jammed and I had to walk the bike back to the shop to get it repaired. Ridiculous!
- since then one bike has had a recurring problem with the left hand (rear) brake leaking oil, and quickly loosing any grip due the hydraulic nature of the device. It has been repaired twice. The first time just a simple bleed, but the second time it was out of action a month (!) while the retailer pottered around fixing bits of it, and ordering parts. It appears with this bike, parts are difficult to get hold of - so if it breaks down, don't expect a quick response.
- in parallel the other identical bike has had problems with the "Suntour NEXi lockout fork" switch/toggle not working - it's just won't engage, so is constantly on the full suspension mode, which is less than ideal when on an open road. The bike has been back twice for repairs; the first time some quick repair that failed within a week, and then the second time a temporary glue fix (!), until a more permanent solution is identified (Ummm...maybe just replace the broken part perhaps?)
Oh and the seat is still fairly uncomfortable - but then I've not really had a chance for my rear to get used to the used to the bike seat, due to the ongoing operational failures!
In summary it is a rare day when both of these bikes are at home together - they are always instead in the shop being repaired.
Do NOT purchase any type of Specialised Crosstrail bike - you are looking for problems!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
YoDJMC
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Genuinely versatile, good looking bike

Posted29 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, versatile, fast
I bought this bike on (a) recommendation of the brand from a friend, and (b) to cover my options on types of use for this my first bike in 25 years. It delivers on the versatility and packs alot of spec for the money. Over the last 6 weeks, I've had it on a few 12 mile mostly off-road (trail, mud, shale) runs, and a 40-mile return journey to work by cycle track (mostly concrete, tarmac and towpath) 2 or 3 times per week.
Its much faster than a mountain bike (about 30% faster by trial with an equivalent spec MTB that my friend has), but handles all the off-road I've done so far. I've overtaken most other bikes on the commuter run, except for the serious looking road bikers. Not quite up to riding parallel to the steeper riverbanks quite as well as my mates MTB; the semi-knobbly tires slide away a little more, but it has no problem getting up the slopes and attacking the inclines and declines when on the wet stuff.
I have minor niggles on the space within the frame limiting the options for attaching both a D-Lock and a water bottle, but then that frame is what makes it look good! The seat can be a little uncomfortable after an hour or so; but I suspect that would be the same for any seat to be honest, and a little variation on seating position makes it acceptable. But I had to think hard to call it a con, rather more of an observation.
I'd recommend this for anyone looking for a single bike or a starter bike, who wants to learn a little more about their potential interests going forward as it will allow you to have an all round bike that genuinely achieves it all with very little compromise.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chris891
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Outstanding bicycle!

Posted27 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not the best brakes
All in all this is a great bicycle. It is fast, smooth and not too heavy. It is quite versatile as well, allowing you to ride on different terrains and conditions.
I've been riding it for about 2 months and I couldn't be more happy with my purchase. I highly recommend it for anyone looking for a flexible and versatile bicycle excellent for commuting or for general leisure rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MB1185
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great value and looks superb

Posted22 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable
I purchased this bike on the ride2work scheme and was unsure whether to get a road bike or something with a little more flexibility.
After a little research I decided to go for this bike as it looked the best bike on offer in the £500 price range.
I have been out on the bike (including commuting to work) a number of times. My commute to work involves roads, canal tow paths and hills. The bike performs well in each of these areas, although the seat is a little hard when you're not used to it - especially cycling over yorkshire cobbles.
It is light, fast and looks great and I'd definately recommend purchasing this bike to others.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BenderRodriguez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

All good so far

Posted15 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I really like this bike. The gears are smooth, the front suspension works a treat and I have no complaints.
I've had it a couple of weeks and I've already put a hundred miles on it (this is good for me - I havn't owned a bike for 10 years). Handles raods and tow paths (even muddy, gravely ones) without any issues.
Very happy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
chunkster

Posted14 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am new to cycling and am looking to ride some long distance, this bike is not only nice to ride but is actually a pleasure to ride and you enjoy getting on it. I would recommend it to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
czwric
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Grat bike to get back into cycling!

Posted01 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
At 32 years old and having not ridden a bike since my late teens i was looking for something that i could ride to work and take on trails at the weekend and after some research i decided on the cross trail sport disc 2013 and could not be happier.
It looks amazing and rides even better, everything about it feels of a high quality and it is a joy to ride.
I can get up to 20mph with very little effort and it gets me to my destination a lot quicker than i expected.
I ordered the bike online online and was kept up to date with delivery times and when it got here it was very easy to build using the free tools included.
Its great to be cycling again and its great doing it on this bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Crosstrail Sport Disc 2013 Hybrid Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jaffe

Great bike

Posted20 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Fantastic to ride and strikes the right balance for me regarding comfort and speed.
All components seem to have solid quality.
Much recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>