Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike

Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.739 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
16 Questions | 23 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
rob12345678
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Allez Elite Road Bike

PostedNovember 3, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
What can i say? well it really is a fantastic bike, great quality and rides like a dream. I'am 6ft 4in and 18 stone, i bought the 61cm which fits me perfectly (and takes my weight). Done approx 500 miles in 5 weeks and loving every minute of it. The gears are a dream to use and the bike is sooooooo smooth to ride. Evans online customer service is great from start to finish. One very happy customer Thankyou :-)
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Redred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fast, lightweight, quality detailing and style.

PostedOctober 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, modern styling, good fittings, brand credablity
A great looking frame with very modern styling and extremely lightweight. Out on the country roads the compact wide ranging gears work wonderfully, steep hills are now more ridable with fast descents such a breeze. Gear change is as smooth as I would expect from Shimano top of the tree Tiagra alloy gear, chainset and brakes. This is my first bike to be fitted with the gear shifters on the brake levers and I found this such a joy to use making multiple gear changes easy, quick and positive. The carbon forks react suddenly to any bumps which one would expect from the near vertical straight shape to the forks. The bars are wider than my previous bike which surprised me. The brakes are side-pull not centre-pull, however they work reasonably well. The pedals that came with the bike are rubbish, made of cheap plastic with rough bearings. The frame is a real work of art, the finish and welding top class. The wheels look smart with the black spokes and strong enough to handle the terrible potholes I have found so far, and we get some terrible ones out on the Hampshire lanes. This is a fast bike to ride, I am 5ft 11inches in height and I choose the 58 cm sized bike and it fits me perfectly. I am looking to get some new pedals fitted as I am using those from my old bike and I have already fitted a Bontranger 5W computer to the bars, so far I have reached 48mph on one descent. I am pleased with this machine. I have been riding my previous bike for 38 years, a Falcon San Remo designed by Eddie Clements. I bought it new in 1974 and fitted the bike out myself using components I sourced from FWEvans, this is now going to be hung on the wall.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saxon1987
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great upgrade from my first road bike

PostedOctober 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Got the bike on a work scheme and could not resist with the end of season discount!
What I love about this:
-Great looks and finishing
-Gearing is perfect on me and a great step up from my previous 8 speed GT
-The frame is light and handles the UK roads well
-The bike's geometry is not too aggressive making it perfect for sportives and weekend rides
The only downside is the frame is white meaning it needs cleaning more often than not.
Also, great service from the shop!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carloss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Beat my expectation!

PostedSeptember 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The previous reviews have said it all. Great bike to ride miles on. Used to ride occasional, but now have become addicted and look for any opportunity to go and ride.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
evovilol
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Bombproof starter bike

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, gear ratios
Cons: Heavy
It's not particularly light, even at this price. It tips the scale at over 10kg if memory serves, in particular the wheels are heavy (just under 2.1kg). One only hope they are absolutely bomb proof. They've seen some knocks from potholes and so far no problem with them. They're on my list of being replaced in the near future for something lighter.
The saddle wasn't particularly comfortable (and again, heavy) so it has already been replaced. Because of that I also needed a new seat post as the stock seat post requires a saddle with a centre channel hole for tightening the bolts from above.
Tyres were also replaced almost immediately for a set of Continental Gatorskins which give a bit more confidence and are lighter.
As I was used to disc brakes fro MTBs I was a bit surprised over the lack of brake performance, even with rim brakes. I've replaced the stock Tiagra brake pads/shoes with great results. I recommend you do too!
Overall I quite like the frame, geometry, and the Tiagra kit works overall well without any hiccups or surprises.
I particularly find I've made the right choice with a 'compact' chain set as I'm unlikely to go much quicker than what the current top gear offers and I can get up any hill I've seen so far with the lower gears. Had I lived outside London or where it's flatter I would probably have wanted a regular chainset.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Hendon

Great bike

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A great bike, for the price, You can't go wrong. very nice looking.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jiz2004
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

More than an entry level bike

PostedAugust 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, sexy
As the elite part of the name suggests this is much more than an entry level bike. Firstly you need to upgrade the pedals (I recommend 105's) but from here you have a very good bike with decent components for less than 1k.
I've ridden around 1250 miles in the 11 months I have owned it and had very few issues, it is very comfortable, has good acceleration and handles well. It is not the lightest bike, the specialized logo looks upside down to me but still a sexy look. Overall i'm very pleased with my purchase it has served me well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freddyfred
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great Ride -

PostedJuly 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Have to admit, I was a little worried moving from a mountain bike (Scott Scale 60) to road bike. My main concern was, would I be comfortable.
Although this bike has been designed to race, it is still really comfortable too. I have been on a few longer rides (50 miles plus) and have not had any issues with the bike whatsoever. It's fairly light and handles inclines really well.
If you are just getting in to road bikes, this would be a great place to start - or even upgrade to if you already use a budget bike.
Highly recommended bike that is just fun to ride!
Get one now!
Evans Cycles is also a great place to buy one - at least they have cyclist selling bikes and not salesmen......
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ddev1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Excellent first road bike

PostedJuly 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I've been looking for a good introductory road bike to get me started. Searched high and low and found nothing until the guys at Evans introduced me to the Allez Elite. What a great bike! Stiff but comfortable. Great racing geometry so you can definitely pick up some excellent speed but its no slouch up hills too.
As a newbie into road biking, I cannot fault the bike.
The wheels are a little heavy but that can be changed over time once i am more comfortable rider
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RedImp
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedJune 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I have been riding my new bike for 3 weeks now and I am loving it.
It is is proving to be a great purchase, it is light responsive and and has a great range of hears for me to tackle the hills I am attempting. One con is the gears are a little sticky at the top but I think the free 6 week service should sort that out for me.
I am very happy with my purchase and would thoroughly recommend this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Cyclingstu
 
Please wait while more information about Cyclingstu is loaded.
Additional information about Cyclingstu could not be loaded.
Posted September 21, 2013
After riding a orbea bike for five years,I was a bit wary of changing make,but this bike has proved me wrong.
As a club rider I was looking for a good reliable bike to ride 80mile rides on Sundays,and this bike took all they could throw at it,it ate the hills for dinner and lapped up the flat pursuits for desert, hardly any road buzz,I was most pleased with the cornering if this bike,especially around the country lanes,and brakes were responsive.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 11 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jshez
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Love it!

PostedJune 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, fast
Cons: Expensive
I am 6"1' and have the XL frame which is a perfect fit.
I have had this bike for a couple of months now and done a few sportives around the 100k sort of length and everything has deffinately stood up to the test.
The geometry is very racy so you can get very low, as a newbie to this I have also been surprised at how good the excelleration is, I have been flying past people on sprints that are certainly more experienced than me. It also means if you're going for a pedal around the park at slow speeds with your head up you might find yourself getting a bit of neck ache. It handles brilliantly and most surfaces are comfortable, although if the tarmac gets very rough at high speeds the vibrations can be quite uncomfortable, the roubaix might be better suited if you're cycling to work on rough roads.
The first thing you will do is put new pedals on this (that is expected with any bike like this) so count that in to the price.
The gears are great but definitely need adjustment in your 6 week check up, I would suggest you work out how to do it your self to keep them running smoothly. The compact set up is very good not only for the fast sections but so far I have found most hills ok as well although my fitness has held me back on anything over 8/9% gradient for to long!
It is a strange selling point but this bike is extremely pretty, on my first outing with friends they all remarked how good looking it is. Might not be important to you but it is nice to hear!
The only slight downside is the price, particulary with new HOY bikes just arrived this bike seems to be slightly over priced, but good in comparison to many others.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Kemboi82
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wandsworth

I lover her!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
As a real newbie to road cycling with a focus on short commutes and fitness/training I decided to go for something I could grow with. I would be lying if I said starting out was easy and found the flat/test ride pedals a bit a weak link.
As such i upgraded shortly after to some grippy MTB style flats. The wheels could be lighter and I am sure the more sport focused rider would benefit from an alternative set but i assure you this is not required by any means. The saddle is comfortable and it only took me, a new rider, approx 3 days of 1hr -- 2hr rides to bed in.
Aside from pedals I am incredibly happy with my purchase and strongly believe it's a great choice for a first road bike as well as a seasoned rider.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DanCS
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Love this Bike!

PostedMay 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Previously I had the standard Allez compact and cannot believe the difference. Although a heavier bike, I feel much more confident racing this bike than the other. It also makes light work of potholes on the way to work if I hit one unexpectedly. Oh and it looks FAB!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricardo1981

Getting started

PostedMay 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
First road bike bought under the cycle to work scheme. I went into the NCC store in Manchester. I was given some great advice by Ted. The bike is superb and I am extremely happy with it. It is comfortable yet feels razor sharp through the corners. Tiagra set up makes gear changes smooth and braking assured. Highly recommend both the NCC store and the Allez Elite.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seany32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

fantastic road bike!

PostedMay 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Havent riden a road bike for years and wanted a first bike inwhich could lead me through to local club racing or certain events and just long distance rides etc. i was pleasently suprised how comftorable i felt on this bike and the confidence it gave me.fab bike to ride and very smooth and light, with good gearing,looks good too.very good value for money and would highly recommend it.was going to go for the allez sport inwhich im sure is also fab,however i just wanted that extra bit of gearing. evans in reading of berks were also fantastic and their help was appriciated muchly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
markg40
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedApril 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
it took a long time to be delivered(almost two weeks) but once set up i took my fist 35 mile ride this bike is all i expected it to be its well made and looks good group set tiagra is without any faults and the brakes and handling cause no concerns compact cassette is a plus on the long climbs and to me seem perfect
200+ miles now covered with no issues so fairly happy only thing i would replace is the wheels for a lighter set but thats what you get in this price range looked at carbon models which are lighter but as i seem to fall off (twice in the last five years )thought alloy would be better
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nevvski
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic Bike

PostedApril 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After considering other brands I decided to buy this bike. The quality of the bike is excellent. Colour scheme looks great. I am 6ft tall so bought a 58" frame which fits perfectly. I spent a little time adjusting the seat height etc to get it just right. I took it for a 25 mile ride on my first outing the bike felt comfortable with no problems at all. This is my first new road bike for some time and I am very happy with my choice.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigStu8
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Well impressed

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Great looking bike,fairly lightweight & handles well.No problem with hills.Great value.
Brilliant service from Jack at Lakeside.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Paul1584
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Quality all round

PostedMarch 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike looks great and has fantastic performance. Anyone wanting to buy a quality bike with high performance for under £1000 look no further. Also the Evans team were knowledgable and extremely helpful when trying to decide which products to purchase, I will definitely be coming back.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Allez Elite Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NT17
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent cycle, very comfortable and good value

PostedFebruary 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: limited instructions
This was a great service, the bike is very nice to rideand is an upgrade on my previous Specialized road bike. The only minor downside was that the gears operate slightly differently (using the brakes) and I had to find this up on youtube rather than any material that was delivered with the bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>