Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike

Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.732 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 41
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
31
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
40 out of 41(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
28 Questions | 49 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Thurstan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Awesome bike !

PostedOctober 28, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My first proper road bike coming from a MTB. What a difference! Got the silver one and it looks superb. Light frame, comfortable and very quick indeed. Climbs not a problem anymore, great acceleration and very smooth gear changes.
Really impressed with this bike, highly recommended if you are looking for a first road bike.
+5points
6of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Kezza5353
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Average bike good winter bike

PostedJuly 26, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great, nice frame
Cons: Heavy, Uncomfortable, poor finishing kit
Okay bike for training but when it comes to racing it cant really compete with other bikes such as full carbon bikes with zip 404 wheels
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scooby1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great bike for price

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
Got the 2013 model £75 off price
Then purchased Fulcrum quattro racing wheels £60 off price with continental gator 23 mm
Now the bike is even better than before stiffer and more responsive.
So far have done approx 800 miles since sept.
Use the bike to work 20 miles a day
Use the bike for longer journeys when I'm off anything from 20 to 50 miles usually
Also use a speacialized sirrus for when the weather is a little hairy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Phill26
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Impressive bike!

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This is my first road bike, replacing an old mountain bike. Very impressed with it, light, responsive, and has transformed my commute to work! Great value for money, and looks great too.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mikey1968
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent value for money!

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I ordered my Allez over the internet as my nearest store is a fair drive away. I was somewhat sceptical about ordering online as I'm a particularly fussy person and I like to see what I'm buying and thought that my bike would probably arrive with a scratch or "dink" on it somewhere. I needn't have worried though as my bike arrived well packaged and safely boxed and when I inspected my bike on opening there wasn't a mark on it anywhere. I have to admit though that I did pay a visit to a bike shop to try one of these for size as I'm 6ft 2 and thought that a 58cm frame would be on the small side. I'm pleased to say that this size frame is a very comfortable fit and size for me.
For the money I paid its an absolute bargain!
Shimano Sora groupset shifts and operates as well as any higher spec one, the handlebar tape is thick,squashy and comfortable on your hands, the saddle is a fairly basic Specialized one but it doesn't hurt your bum on long rides and the frame welding is nicely done too! The frame also has nice,thick,chunky tubing which is pleasing to the eye but at the same time doesn't add to the weight.
I have to admit that I did upgrade the wheels (and tyres) as the supplied wheels were OK but I couldn't really see them lasting long if you're going to do a lot of miles-I bought the silver Allez and with the wheel upgrade it looks fantastic!
I'm 45 and need the more relaxed geometry that the Allez provides and yes it really does make a difference on longer rides.
Like I said earlier, I'm sceptical about buying online but Evans keep you informed of your order progress all the way through (it took 5 days to arrive),it was delivered courteously by Nightfreight and the bike itself is a real bargain for the money I paid.
To sum up-excellent service from Evans and I can't fault my new bike at all, really I cant. Very pleased, my carbon is now gathering dust!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dougie11
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

A joy to ride

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have upgraded from a mountain bike which was great fun but this bike is excellent and swallows up the miles on the road.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dominc74
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Great all round bike for the price!

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
An excellent bike for the price tag, Looks great ,light and sturdy, some great features and a great brand. Very happy with my purchase. would recommend.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cooky7777
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Good bike

PostedAugust 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Just got back into cycling after a break of over ten years - went for Specialized as I've had bikes from them before and this bike was bang on budget and appeared to have everything I need at the right price. I didn't want anything too flash as I don't have the fitness to back it up.
Other reviews state bike as good entry level bike and they appear right - I've done over 150 miles so far and bike is faultless so far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lma84

Top bike

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Great looking bike, smooth gear changes, light weight and a joy to ride.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mellatron
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chiswick

Zoom Zoom!

PostedAugust 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first road bike after many years of riding MTBs. When I moved down to London and started commuting I went down the road tyre route with the MTB which did make me quicker, but also left me way behind the road bike riders.
I went for the Allez sport mainly as to me it was the best bike I could get for my money and also due to the advice from the staff at Evans Chiswick. As soon as the shop mechanic said he liked it, that was good enough for me.
It took a while to get used to the gear shifters and not having a front suspension but now I'm flying. I've managed to get my time down by 5 minutes on my 10 mile ride to work. This bike is very extremely efficient, I don't feel like I'm wasting energy anymore. I initially thought the seat may be uncomfortable, but it's not too bad (with some help from the padded shorts).
If you are thinking of making the switch from a MTB or a Hybrid to a road bike then do so, you won't regret it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
whitebear55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Fun!

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I live in UK for 1 month and enjoy riding this bike on every evening.
I feel this bike is very light and smooth change gear by shimano Sora system.
I will recomend it!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
OCanada
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Clapham

Great bike for someone starting out

PostedJuly 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As a novice cyclist I decided to make use of the Cycle Scheme and went for an up-scale, yet not top-of-the-range, bike to start commuting to work. The bike is great and has all the features one would expect of a decent mid-range road bike. Comfortable saddle, easy to use gears and very light weight. The only negative is the highest gear isn't strong enough for me. (could do with one more for speed)
I went for Shimano dual-sided peddals for use with mountain bike shoes/clip. Took a bit of getting used to but you quickly get the hang of them.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CeeJayThinAir
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Great Bike

PostedJuly 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is my first proper road bike after having been on a hybrid for many months before this.
This is a great bike, and I would recommend it to anyone else making the transition from hybrid to 'racer'
The frame is light and durable and it looks great. The matte black and red finish really suits the bike.
The gearing is smooth and easy to use and makes riding this bike very easy. Climbs are not what they used to be (or maybe I am just getting fitter)?!
The only criticism I have of the cycle is that seat is really not very comfortable, but I yet to experiment with different positions so haven't taken anything from the bike for this one thing, as it could be something I can remedy by adjustment.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Chochner
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Excellent value for starters

PostedJune 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
My previous bike was a £156 purchase from Amazon that I had given the title of "most value for money purchase ever". The Secislized Allez Sport is such a great step up considering its price that I have now bestowed the "most value for money" title upon it instead. It
The frame feels light, stiff and fast for its price tag. The components work effortlessly well together, I've found the wheels and tires grippy, yet perhaps slightly heavy, however they are most likely the first upgrade a cyclist would do.
I am currently 1 month into its usage and most of the components are still working well, gears are a little slack now and bottom bracket ball bearings need regular oiling so I will be bookingy free 5 week service shortly to tighten her up again.
Overall a very happy customer.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
David84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic bike

PostedJune 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Bought this to replace a cheap road bike when I realised I was regularly doing much longer rides than I expected and that cycling was quickly becoming my main form of exercise.
In the couple of weeks since I bought it I have increased the number of times I ride a week and also the distance I cover has increased further. It climbs well and the added bonus is that it looks fantastic.
Would definitely recommend this to anyone who is looking for a bike for social or commuting use that is well built feels incredibly durable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rich69

PostedJune 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Absolutely fantastic bike great for entry level rider and beyond. Definitely recommend this bike to anyone.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Biking4Fun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Very pleased with my first serious road bike

PostedJune 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
After thrashing around on a old Raleigh Equipe for some time I decided to upgrade to a more modern road bike. Using the Cycle2Work scheme I went into Evans expecting to get the Specialized Allez Compact bike. However, the staff were extremely helpful and explained the benefits of going for this Sport version with the upgraded Sora kit. I am so pleased they did. I have now had my bike about a month and love it.
It's not as light as I was expecting but maybe that was just my incorrect expectation. It glides up the hills far easier than my old bike and accelerates much quicker down the hills.
I considered getting the Cannondale Synapse but am glad I stuck with the recommendation of the Evan's staff and got the Specialized.
As a bonus I think it looks great in black and red, although black grip tape would have been more practical than white.
The one negative is the pedals that you get with it. However, i'm sure like me, any serious cyclist will immediately replace them with SPD pedals.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
InThePeloton
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

A great value bike

PostedJune 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
if you are new to road cycling or getting back into it after a while then you may not wish to spend over £1000 on something which could be a fad. For the cycling I do, commuting to work, and charity bike rides the Allez Sport ticks all the boxes.
It is light considering it has the aluminium frame and this helps you get up to a good speed. it is very responsive and its stiff frame installs confidence when descending hills. The compact chainset allows you to get a quick pace on the flat and enables you to get to the climbs so for the area I live in and cycling I do this is perfect for me.
Other reviews have said the saddle is uncomfortable but I have not found this to be a problem. This is an individual choice and the saddle can be easily changed.
I have attached Shimano R540 SPD pedals and use Spiuk ZS11R shoes and these really help you get a shift on. This is the first time I have used clipless pedals and i can say they make a massive difference.
The bike is available in two colours and I opted for the silver, mainly as i wanted the black handlebar tape, but this could be changed if you have the bike build in store. There could be a charge for this so please check. I however like both the colour schemes the Allez Sport is available in.
An excellent feature about this bike is the Sora gears from Shimano. These are seen on more expensive models and allow you to comfortably change gears up and down the cassette whilst in the drop handlebar position. This has been useful when you want to maintain speed on the gentle lumps and bumps in the road.
The only downside to this bike is the weight of the wheels, but you will get this with all bikes in this range as the technology is is put in other areas. This is an area I might look into but it's only a might.
Overall this bike is excellent for the money and will serve me well. I can't see me needing to upgrade unless I get really serious about the sport.
If you're looking at a road bike then this certainly ticks all the boxes.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Texjerk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

Much better than getting the tube

PostedMay 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: silly stickers
After researching for months to find a bike that could: get me to work, be fun, quick, lightweight and be within my budget (£1000). I finally found this specialized. Took it for a test ride twice and test road the various other models. I found this bike to respond quickly to power, really light and agile. Loving the journey to work now.
The only downside for me is the silly stickers they have plastered all over the slick matte black paint job... I'm going to keep them for a month and then probably strip them off.
Really affordable, smooth ride, quick and fun. What more could you ask for?
Picked the bike up from victoria station and road it straight back home through London to SE20. Was a dream.
get one.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Allez Sport Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
recycling
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

A good winter bike

PostedMay 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, compact chainset
Cons: saddle
I bought this Specialized to replace my old winter bike. My only concern was whether I could get mudguards on it, I bought a set of road cruds and they do fit although there is hardly any clearance but there is no rubbing. As with every other bike I've bought from Evans it has been set up perfectly and it's nice to ride. I've changed the saddle to one that's more comfortable but apart from that the bike was good to go.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>