Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Road Bikes or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike

Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.829 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(70 reviews) 70
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 70 reviews
5 Stars
59
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
69 out of 70(99%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
75 Questions | 102 Answers
Customer reviews for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richie34
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

A great first road bike

PostedFebruary 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Very pleased with the purchase as it's a smooth ride to work and good over long distances
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
James32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great value and speed in a compact package

PostedJanuary 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great, aggressive
I love it, great value (especially at past season's prices). This bike is exactly what it says on the tin - compact - the result is you feel the need to tuck a bit tighter and thrash a bit harder wherever you go. Bike is built for shorter more intense rides and not ideal for all day epic adventures.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnPaul
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Fantastic Bike

PostedOctober 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
It rides amazingly and I love the weight. It is my first ride bike and I absolutely love it.
Great quality and looks great!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheMcDay
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bike

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I had been wanting a road bike for about a month before I got this, I had outgrown my mountain bike and wanted something a bit quicker on the roads.
The Allez has been fantastic. Before I could barely do 10 miles on my old bike but the day I got the Allez I did about 20! I chose the Allez because everything I saw about it was positive and it was in many of "Best bikes for beginners" and the like lists.
It handles very well, climbs and descends brilliantly and is very fast. Perfect for a beginner who wants to go on longer rides or someone who just wants to get to work quicker.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hughieg55
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great bike for the price

PostedOctober 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I bought this bike as a retirement present. I knew from magazines and the internet that it's very popular. Having ridden it I can see why. It's very lightweight (I may be biased here as my old bike is over 30 years old and the technology has moved on by leaps and bounds in that time). It's also comfortable despite a really narrow saddle. The combined brake handles/gearshifts are fairly intuitive and placed just right. Having 2x8 gears is just right for me - there's no temptation to strain for too long in a high gear. On the country lanes of Essex I haven't had to use the smaller front sprocket yet but I guess that will change if I tackle the Welsh mountains. Despite being 6' 1" I went for a 56cm frame as my arm span is considerably shorter and this frame just feels right. Being a no compromise road bike with no mudguards and no carrier bracket you need to be prepared to get muddy from spray and carry whatever you need on your person rather than on the bike. Overall it's a great bike for the price and I love the colour btw. Excellent customer service too.
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
paulwg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Phone

Very good bike

PostedSeptember 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Really like this bike, looks good, rides great. Only small thing for me is that the brake levers are a bit far away from the handle bars which means that when braking I sometimes end up pushing the lever to the side and not able to control the brakes properly. That however is a pretty small niggle and is pretty specific to me as I have small hands!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
goblinhat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Firsat Road Bike

PostedSeptember 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
This is my first foray into road cycling and I bought this bike in order to commute to work and to have a road bike to go on some longer rides at the weekend.
The bike looks good and definitely feels a lot faster than my old mountain bike - it takes a bit getting used to the new riding position but its fine once you do.
Given its my first road bike it is difficult to compare it to other bikes - I have only ever ridden one other road bike - I assume it is heavier than the more expensive bikes that are out there. I have found no real problems with the bike and I enjoy riding it, although the gear changes probably could be a little smoother and there are probably bikes out there that are a little smoother on the rough British roads.
I wanted something that wasn't too expensive and I could go fast in and this does the trick.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigDen
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect entry level road bike.

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: naff pedals
This is my first ever road bike. I have another specialized, a camber comp mtb. It's the best bike I've ever had which inspired me to buy from this manufacturer. I also bought it, trouble free from Evans cycles. The Allez is lite, stiff, solid and looks good. I use it to commute and as a trainer to help my mountain biking (as I commute ). If I had a criticism, it would be that the pedals are a bit naff but then they're just meant as a stop gap until you fit your preferred pedal. Other than that, I couldn't improve it.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
seapea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

PostedSeptember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
As this was my first road bike, having changed from a hybrid, I went for the lower end of the price range for road bikes. I have not been disappointed. It feels great to ride, it is lightweight and looks stylish. The only things I will change are the pedals, as they come with toe-clips which are really irritating.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
willgibbo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

good entry level bike

PostedSeptember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I bought this bike for my 16 year old son & he loves it, he wanted this years model for the red colour .The only thing i replaced was the pedals with clip ins. It is a reasonable weight , looks great and good quality for the price. We ordered it on the sat afternoon and it arrived a couple of days later, great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fozzy4472
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Woking

Great first Road Bike

PostedSeptember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: slightly noisy gears
I Bought this after starting to get into road cycling. I thought the best thing to do was go fairly cheap to see what's what. decided to go for the Allez and found the differences between this and my old mountain bike overwhelming. Straight away I couldn't stop riding the only thing that did stop my was bad weather and not much free time.
Currently I do not own a high pressure pump as all mine can't reach anything near 100psi and will but getting one soon, but after seeing a friend to borrow a pump I found out that my tyres were at about 70-80psi instead of 100psi (something to check when purchasing).
Another thing was that the road in my area aren't smooth and are full of pot holes and getting used to the bumps took a bit to get used to.
Also after riding over 130 miles in the first week all that has confused my is the gears are currently fairly noisy and don't sound like they are changing smoothly but that is probably because they are currently not tuned quite right.
Overall it's a great first road bike and I recommend this product to anyone.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skallagrimson
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Great Road Bike

PostedSeptember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I am very happy with this bike I got using Cycle to Work Scheme | Ride2Work | Evans Cycles
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Davepac

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great bike, loved it. Runs smooth, fast and good brakes. I use it for commuting to and from work. But could be used for long journey.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
NeilyG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Great first time road bike

PostedAugust 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
I don't have much to compare with, but it feels light and responsive to cycle. The shop staff in the Deansgate and the Chill Factor E store were a massive help in getting me the right size and style of bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
VO64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:Crawley

Great Value

PostedAugust 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
light weight, looks great, great value for money. Excellent all round service
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

love my bike

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Looks great
This is my first road bike and also the first bike I have owned for a few years. Once I'd gotten used to the seat which only took a couple of rides I've loved riding to and from work (23 miles one way) and can recommend this as a great entry level road bike
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lakers
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Great entry level bike

PostedAugust 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
New to road cycling from MTB this has been a great purchase, handles very well standard components are not by any means great but they do the job for getting started. The frame is very impressive for an entry level bike, with a few small upgrades in particular wheel and tyres you can save a lot of weight. Would reccomnend to anyone thinking of getting their first road bike.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Snedee
Country:Denmark
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Best bike i've ridden so far!

PostedAugust 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
Cons: a bit hard on bumpy roads
I just started cycling and bought this Specialized because I remembered trying my father in laws more expensive model once which I liked a lot. So I took my chances and bought this, and boy, was I impressed! It's so incredibly fast, it's stiff and handles very well! My first ride was from Denmark to Bremen, Germany, and even though my butt could take the beating of the bumpy German cycle paths due to the stiff chassis, I still think this bike is worth the money. It's also the only downside I can think of. The Shimano 2300 gear group works impeccably considering the price. All in all a must buy for newcomers out there!
 
Products related to my review
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Robbo1981

Great for a beginner

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the first road bike I have owned no after buying a specialized mountain bike I opted to stick with the same brand. I was not disappointed. Been out multiple times already and this bike is a pleasure to ride. All the components although not top of the range work very smoothly. And to add to that it looks great too!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Specialized Allez Compact 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

First signs are promising

PostedAugust 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Picked up the Allez Compact a week ago after settling on this as my first road bike, based on the fantastic feedback it received online.
From the second I walked into the Spitalfield store I was offered diligent, friendly and very useful help and advice. To top it all off I now have a fantastic product that I can't stop riding. Was planning on using it once or twice a week to commute but I haven't been back on the train since!
As a starter bike I couldn't ask for anything more, the gears took a bit of getting used to but are now perfectly useable. Loving being out on the road so much I've just signed up for next year's Ride100.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>