Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava

Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava

Windstopper products give you the freedom to be your best and enjoy your active cycling. They keep you comfortable, warm and protected across a wide range of weather conditions and cycling activities. You can focus on your experience without the distraction of being cold, damp or overheated.
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
2
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 11(91%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 3 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jimbo71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Great product

Posted15 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, warm
whilst not cheap this product has kept me warm and surprisingly dry. It is lightweight but don't let that put you off. It is for the cold rides only. I'm a spectacle wearer and the balaclava can trap your breath causing your spectacles to steam up. I've learned to blow out and make sure the mouth section is positioned correctly! HTH
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Hodgy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A comfortable fit

Posted12 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
A good design resulting in a close comfortable fit. It is made from a thin material making it light and wind proof but it is not suitable for cold weather cycling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Alanalan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Good product

Posted20 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, it works so don't mind if i look a bit scary
I've been using the balaclava over the last 2 weeks since the temperature drop, mainly for a 4 mile commute, but also on longer weekend rides.
Good fit, with some stretch. Requires a good tug to pull on and off. It makes you look like a cosmonaut , but fits well under my helmet. The mouth vent is well-positioned and effective. Nice fit around the ears, where there is a slight bulge each side, so your ears are not compressed.
Good neck protection, as it fits snug and low under collar of jacket.
I would buy again. Got it with a price reduction.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Sean76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Good wind protection!

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Did such a good job, i had to take it off as it was a bit too warm! Would recommend it on winter days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
DesignateTurian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Warm but foggy!

Posted23 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: no seal around nose
I bought this item to survive the recent cold and wet weather we have experienced this winter (2013/14). The fabric feels thin but does a great job of holding in the heat. The nose allows for easy breathing as does the mouth which has perforations instead of a hole.
The only downside comes if you wear glasses. I find I have to very carefully position the frames so that they are not directly over any seams. If this does occur my glasses fog meaning I cannot see the road. I am intending to modify this product with the metal strips you find in surgical masks. That way I can provide a firmer seal between the fabric and my face, ensuring air only comes out of the nose and mouth holes.
Other than that, a great product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
geKo44406
Country:Italy
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good fabric

Posted24 November 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The windstopper fabric does the job but maybe my nose is a bit prominent so I 'm experiencing difficulties in breathing using my nose...
I would need a bigger size...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Doodlesdad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds CyclePoint

Does its job

Posted21 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
The Gore Bike Wear Universal Balaclava does its job in that it protects the face, ears and neck from the elements. One gripe, however, is that if you wear prescription glasses like myself, when you breath through the perforated mouthpiece your glasses steam up!
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Cubby
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Too expensive and not warm enough

Posted31 December 2012
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Looks great
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive, no fleece lining
Owning a lot of other GORE products this was an obvious choice for me to combat the frosty mornings. When it got delivered I was immediately impressed with the look as well as the fit of the balaclava - very Special Forces! The real test though came the following morning and it was an epic fail - despite the balaclava having Windstopper material (it is a fairly small strip across the forehead and unlike many cheaper alternatives on the market, this does not have a fleece lining) my face and jaw were still cold and not protected at all. I've since returned this and bought another brand for almost half the price with a fleece lining - much warmer.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SafetyJacko
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what ity says it should.

Posted28 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Good to have breathability through the mouth area and through the nose slit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JJ22
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

quality product

Posted21 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I have found this great in the cold. In v.low temperatures it can be worn with the gore windstopper skullcap on top under a helmet as they are both pretty thin. The only problem I have had is with glasses fogging even though there are holes for your nose as well as for breathing through your mouth which is, I think, unavoidable.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Universal Windstopper Balaclava
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
bryanc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect as the weather begins to turn

Posted26 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Ideal for my commute to work. Really takes the chill off and keeps me nice and cosy. A must have addition.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.