Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Bionicon C.Guide V.02

Bionicon C.Guide V.02

Overall rating:
4.385 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 26
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
24 out of 26(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Review 1 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Steven786
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Perfect for stopping the dreaded chain slap

PostedAugust 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I'm using this to stop chain slap on my 2013 Specialized Camber 29er.
I got fed up with the noise and damage my chain was getting so fitted this. I can now ride confident that my chain will stay on and stop whacking the heck out of my frame.
Ignore the people that knock this due to it just being made of plastic. I've used this all summer in dusty and muddy conditions and this handles it well. I recently took it apart and there is no wear on the chain guide so it will last for a long time yet. I have used mine for about 400 off road miles and counting.
A lot of people that I ride with were sceptical at first but are now looking to purchase as well.
Much cheaper that a clutched derailleur.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cube650
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Briliant product

PostedJuly 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
I kept dropping the chain on my Cube Sterio 160. Fited one of these and havent dropped the chain since.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JonFB

Does the job

PostedJuly 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Poor quality
Does the job nicely. Feels a little weak construction-wise, though. Not sure it will last as long as I'm hoping.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eman
Country:Sweden
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Gets the job done

PostedJune 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
In multiple rides the chain kept coming off. After puting the Bionicon on, no more.
Easy to install. plug and forget.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
shoelace71
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

not up to the job

PostedMay 27, 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality, Expensive
When it works it's great but I've had to replace my original c.guide when it fell apart after less than a year
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ThePianist

Very simple to assemble and very useful

PostedMay 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fragile
This chain guide is very simple to assemble. You don't need to take anything off your bike to assemble it. After putting this in my bike the chain rarely get off. It actually works really good and silently. I just found one negative point: you can loose it if it colides with something or if the plastic braces brake (that's what happened with the first one i have)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vdevcic
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
All I can say is the Bionicon C.Guide has worked great for me. It’s super light, it does what it’s supposed to and it’s easy to use. I think it’s totally worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reckless
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap,simple and it works

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Used the Bionicon chain guide a few times now, never lost the chain yet. Rode the usual rock gardens where ive lost the chain in the past, great so far with very slight chain chatter, Recommended to my mates so that says it all. Currently fitted to a Zesty with cable running through the bracket.Easy to fit , looks good, purchase in most colours, good buy with the usual good sevice from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Patrick97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Dampens chain slap to some degree

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bionicons c.guide has been around for a while and no-one can deny that it is a simple chain guide that works for a multiple chain ring bike, however it is relatively expensive for a tiny piece of metal that doesn't do a huge amount to stop chain drops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

does the job

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
virtually eliminates chain slap but a bit expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AWOLism
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little gadget.

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: a bit on the expensive side
I bought this mainly to reduce chain slap noise which has been bothering me quite a bit. The sound of a madly rattling chain on technical trails is unsettling for me. That has been almost completely eliminated now. The only slight rattle now is from the chain hitting the upper part of the front derailleur on occasion.
My setup is two front chainrings and a bashguard, and a rear 9-ring cassette, no problems with the C.Guide moving, it's all smooth, and I sense no real loss of energy from the rubbing of the chain against the plastic.
I've read some reviews mentioning noise, but I can honestly say I hear almost none.
On the cosmetic side of things, the C.Guide comes in a variety of colors and the red one I bought looks great with the other red details on my Sunn Kern Finest 2011.
I have used it for a fairly short period of time thus far, but despite me crashing a number of times, the C.Guide has stayed in place and the mount has held up.
The only con I can come up with is the price which may be considered a bit steep for what is basically a pretty simple construction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
B3NMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bit of jot

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very good no chain slap and no noise atall. Don't know how people moan about the noise because their is none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
B3NMTB
 
Please wait while more information about B3NMTB is loaded.
Additional information about B3NMTB could not be loaded.
Great bit of kit*
Posted August 8, 2013
I meant kit not jot stupid auto correct on apple lol
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 13 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikerMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this Bionicon chain guide as I was getting some chain slap on rougher trails on my hardtail 29er mountain bike. After reading several positive reviews I decided it was worth a try, and it installed easily and has made a noticeable difference when riding bumpier/rough trails. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TrailBasher
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It works

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought one of these little extras to try and remedy a wayward chain bouncing off. it has sorted this out although I replaced a faulty front mech at the same time, which may have some responsibilty too.
I couldn't fit this around the break cable as it's designed to do. My cabling wasn't in the correct place.
Had to improvise slighty but it's on.
Been using for a month now. The supplied bracket broke ( they are flexible and flimsy) on my second ride. was disappointed but an extra (2)x cable ties strategically placed has kept it in place since.
These are not silent running - the chain rubbing can be heard on occasion whilst riding but it's more than acceptable.
These work on a 3 chain set-up and definately reduce 'chain slap'
personal opinion if you run a 9 speed like me then its a fair option
If i were to be running a 10 speed set up then one of the new rear derailleur with a clutch would be a neater set-up ( the difference between a clutch one and regular is approx the same price as the bionicon)
I think 20 pounds would be a fairer retail price but do appreciate that it'sa niche item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healer
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but amazing product

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am running 1x9 no chain guide bash guard or tensioner. I wanted a device to keep my chain from falling off but since i dont ride rough terrain i was a bit reluctant to buy any of the other chain guides on the market. While browsing Bikeradar i saw this one with very high rating and after doing a little research i thought i'd give it a try. Very good buy overall other than being a bit expensive but i guess you pay for the pattern as well. Anyways i fitted it on my scott sub10 2007 model frame but it took some time since the chain stay doesnt run parallel to the chainring. I mounted it over the chainstay protector and the body of the device is quite sturdy. If you fiddle a bit with it i guess it can fit any frame. If you get the feel of the device you can set it in parallel with your chainring regardless of the frame imo. Mount it behind the fatest part of your rear tyre to avoid moving it around like me since the zip ties are not so easy to move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark1967
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did exactly what it was supposed to

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Installed in 2 minutes flat and it immediately stopped the chain rattling. Also the red I ordered is a perfect match for other little bits of red bling on my bike. Arrived very quickly - Evans Cycles have a really good service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jon123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it is supposed to

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Fast delivery, easy and fast to fit with no setup required and works smoothly with a 3 ring set up with minimal noise when pedalling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Layz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice, compact peice of kit that does the job.!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Had seen one of these C.Guides in action prior to purchasing. After fitting this to my HT I have had no issues with chain slippage especially on downhills over rough terrain. Only used an handful of times so far with no issues so cannot pass comment on it's life span. Simple, lightweight design and easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aronatorrr
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and effective

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I really like the lightweight simplicity of this chain guide. Keeps the chain remarkably stable for such a small device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good while it lasts (not long)

PostedMarch 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
This came fitted to my bike as standard (YT Wicked 160Ltd).
While it looks good and light, and got some good reviews mine lasted two rides. It kept jamming and going sideways until it got bent out of shape, not impressed. And i wasn't even pushing hard or riding rough trails, it would jam just when changing gear.
Probably good enough for XC riding but not for AM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>