Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Chain Devices & Bash Rings or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Bionicon C.Guide V.02

Bionicon C.Guide V.02

Overall rating:
4.45 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
19 out of 20(95%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 7 Answers
Customer reviews for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Review 1 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
vdevcic
Country:Croatia
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works great

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
All I can say is the Bionicon C.Guide has worked great for me. It’s super light, it does what it’s supposed to and it’s easy to use. I think it’s totally worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
reckless
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

cheap,simple and it works

PostedOctober 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Used the Bionicon chain guide a few times now, never lost the chain yet. Rode the usual rock gardens where ive lost the chain in the past, great so far with very slight chain chatter, Recommended to my mates so that says it all. Currently fitted to a Zesty with cable running through the bracket.Easy to fit , looks good, purchase in most colours, good buy with the usual good sevice from Evans.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Patrick97
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Dampens chain slap to some degree

PostedAugust 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bionicons c.guide has been around for a while and no-one can deny that it is a simple chain guide that works for a multiple chain ring bike, however it is relatively expensive for a tiny piece of metal that doesn't do a huge amount to stop chain drops.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

does the job

PostedAugust 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
virtually eliminates chain slap but a bit expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
AWOLism
Country:Sweden
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great little gadget.

PostedAugust 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: a bit on the expensive side
I bought this mainly to reduce chain slap noise which has been bothering me quite a bit. The sound of a madly rattling chain on technical trails is unsettling for me. That has been almost completely eliminated now. The only slight rattle now is from the chain hitting the upper part of the front derailleur on occasion.
My setup is two front chainrings and a bashguard, and a rear 9-ring cassette, no problems with the C.Guide moving, it's all smooth, and I sense no real loss of energy from the rubbing of the chain against the plastic.
I've read some reviews mentioning noise, but I can honestly say I hear almost none.
On the cosmetic side of things, the C.Guide comes in a variety of colors and the red one I bought looks great with the other red details on my Sunn Kern Finest 2011.
I have used it for a fairly short period of time thus far, but despite me crashing a number of times, the C.Guide has stayed in place and the mount has held up.
The only con I can come up with is the price which may be considered a bit steep for what is basically a pretty simple construction.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
B3NMTB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great bit of jot

PostedAugust 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Very good no chain slap and no noise atall. Don't know how people moan about the noise because their is none
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
B3NMTB
 
Please wait while more information about B3NMTB is loaded.
Additional information about B3NMTB could not be loaded.
Great bit of kit*
Posted August 8, 2013
I meant kit not jot stupid auto correct on apple lol
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 7 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BikerMike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Works as intended

PostedJuly 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
I bought this Bionicon chain guide as I was getting some chain slap on rougher trails on my hardtail 29er mountain bike. After reading several positive reviews I decided it was worth a try, and it installed easily and has made a noticeable difference when riding bumpier/rough trails. Recommended!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
TrailBasher
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

It works

PostedJuly 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Bought one of these little extras to try and remedy a wayward chain bouncing off. it has sorted this out although I replaced a faulty front mech at the same time, which may have some responsibilty too.
I couldn't fit this around the break cable as it's designed to do. My cabling wasn't in the correct place.
Had to improvise slighty but it's on.
Been using for a month now. The supplied bracket broke ( they are flexible and flimsy) on my second ride. was disappointed but an extra (2)x cable ties strategically placed has kept it in place since.
These are not silent running - the chain rubbing can be heard on occasion whilst riding but it's more than acceptable.
These work on a 3 chain set-up and definately reduce 'chain slap'
personal opinion if you run a 9 speed like me then its a fair option
If i were to be running a 10 speed set up then one of the new rear derailleur with a clutch would be a neater set-up ( the difference between a clutch one and regular is approx the same price as the bionicon)
I think 20 pounds would be a fairer retail price but do appreciate that it'sa niche item
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Healer
Country:Greece
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but amazing product

PostedJuly 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I am running 1x9 no chain guide bash guard or tensioner. I wanted a device to keep my chain from falling off but since i dont ride rough terrain i was a bit reluctant to buy any of the other chain guides on the market. While browsing Bikeradar i saw this one with very high rating and after doing a little research i thought i'd give it a try. Very good buy overall other than being a bit expensive but i guess you pay for the pattern as well. Anyways i fitted it on my scott sub10 2007 model frame but it took some time since the chain stay doesnt run parallel to the chainring. I mounted it over the chainstay protector and the body of the device is quite sturdy. If you fiddle a bit with it i guess it can fit any frame. If you get the feel of the device you can set it in parallel with your chainring regardless of the frame imo. Mount it behind the fatest part of your rear tyre to avoid moving it around like me since the zip ties are not so easy to move.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mark1967
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Did exactly what it was supposed to

PostedJune 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Installed in 2 minutes flat and it immediately stopped the chain rattling. Also the red I ordered is a perfect match for other little bits of red bling on my bike. Arrived very quickly - Evans Cycles have a really good service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jon123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does exactly what it is supposed to

PostedJune 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Fast delivery, easy and fast to fit with no setup required and works smoothly with a 3 ring set up with minimal noise when pedalling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Layz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice, compact peice of kit that does the job.!

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Had seen one of these C.Guides in action prior to purchasing. After fitting this to my HT I have had no issues with chain slippage especially on downhills over rough terrain. Only used an handful of times so far with no issues so cannot pass comment on it's life span. Simple, lightweight design and easy to install.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aronatorrr
Country:Spain
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple and effective

PostedMarch 20, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I really like the lightweight simplicity of this chain guide. Keeps the chain remarkably stable for such a small device.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good while it lasts (not long)

PostedMarch 15, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Poor quality
This came fitted to my bike as standard (YT Wicked 160Ltd).
While it looks good and light, and got some good reviews mine lasted two rides. It kept jamming and going sideways until it got bent out of shape, not impressed. And i wasn't even pushing hard or riding rough trails, it would jam just when changing gear.
Probably good enough for XC riding but not for AM.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
magi13

PostedMarch 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
It' s light, easy to install, compatible with all frames and it does the job...
4 stars because nothing is perfect...
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MiaT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Does the job!

PostedMarch 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
This does what it says and keeps my chain from flapping about going down hill. Good product and nice choice of colours!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MikeB1961
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent purchase

PostedJanuary 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Chain rattle eliminated and does not fall off ring anymore so no more impromptu stops to put the chain back on! Recommended by the brother in law who swears by it and it does exactly that.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Excitable1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Does what it says on the tin !

PostedJanuary 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, works
I started out with a 3x10 set up which suffered loads of chain suck, so went over to a 2x10 and device. The device never worked properly and caused just as many problems as it solved so I ended up taking it off before it killed me. When you now consider that the Bionicon went on in 5 mins, cost just £35, looks good and I haven't lost the chain once (yet), then the traditional chain device was a complete waste of time and money.
These things have been done before (a long time ago) but never with this much thought or quality. Splitting the device so you don't have to break the chain is an obvious advantage but done cheaply and it could have been disaster. It all goes together seamlessly and with a good quality fitting.
The Bionicon is bigger than it looks in the picture and the drop from the chain stay is more than you expect, so if your running a medium or small rear mech and when your in the smaller front ring there isn't much extra chain tension created. It remains to be seen it there's enough to retain the chain on a very quick rocky descent.
This isn't something that can be changed, don't forget that this works on a 3x set up too which would obviously have a long rear mech and bigger front rings. I would go as far to say that for this reason the Bionicon is better suited to a 3x set up but don't let that put you off. As I said, I haven't lost the chain once since putting the Bionicon on..... Could have saved myself the 2x cranks and rings too if I'd spotted this earlier !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LeadingFromTheRear
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Easy to fit and does what it says.

PostedJanuary 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is great way to stop chain slap and chain suck and is really easy to fint on your chain stay. Oh and it looks bling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Bionicon C.Guide V.02
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
fredminto08
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Bionicon Chain Guide

PostedSeptember 25, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Simple device, easy to install and works a treat.
Chain now doesnt slap and bang about and i never have to get off and stop mid ride to a dropped chain back on.
Highly recommended.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Predazord
Haslemere
 
Please wait while more information about Predazord is loaded.
Additional information about Predazord could not be loaded.
Not man enough for the job
Posted March 4, 2013
I was bought this by my wife as a Christmas present (my request), and I was really excited about using it to eliminate chain suck/slap.
It works...on the whole it really does. But........
The barrel wore out within 3 weeks of riding twice a week, and that's with rotating the barrel and turning it over etc. So roughly every 3 rides I would have to take it off and rotate or flip the barrel to stop it wearing through. By the end of February I was close to needing to replace the second barrel, but it did have a little life left....but the small allen key bolt that holds it all together rounded off due to excessive use. It meant the thing was stuck on the bike and wearing out fast. At that point I decided to just remove the thing and bin it!! The replacement barrels are almost £10 each, and x1 a month seems terrible VFM.
I decided that a new rear mech with a clutch at £75 was a better investment.
0points
0of 0voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)