Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset

Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset

Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(6 reviews) 6
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 6 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
6 out of 6(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Review 1 for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
iamrupert
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bullet proof wheels that provide great performance

PostedAugust 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
My Roubaix expert came with a set of these on board and in the 2 1/2 years I have had the bike the wheels have proved to e bullet-proof, withstanding the questionable roads and potholes around us, and do a great jo in softening the road.
Performance wise, they might be suited to the more relaxed Roubaix bike, but as far as I am concerned, when you push them they perform.
I have paired them up with the awesome Schwalbe Ultremo ZX's and they are a great combination.
Recommended highly.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
flowjoe100
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Wheels!

PostedApril 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
I have upgraded to these wheels on my Trek 1.5. They are immediately better than the stock wheels the bike came with. So much faster, lighter and stiffer. My speed has increased a few miles an hour, and I can take on sharp corners with more confidence, these wheels combined with my also new specialized espoir elite tyres just dig in to the tarmac nicely.
They also make a very pleasing whirring sound when they freewheel. Definitely consider getting these wheels as an upgrade for your bike, cant recommend them strongly enough for the money.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nrg8125
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent wheelset for the price!!

PostedNovember 26, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
they are not the lightest but d' not be put off by this the feedback is fantastic, they absorb the bumps and climb superbly i took 13 minutes off my 25 km ride home from work absolutly fantastic, highly recommmend!
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dartsburger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Wheels

PostedSeptember 24, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Super smooth and look great. Big improvent on standard wheels that came with my Bianchi Via Narone.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brownspeeddog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Promise....

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
At 17st 10lbs I am not at the light end of the cycling spectrum! This was reinforced by the repeated habit my former wheels (fitted as standard to my Cannondale Synapse Tiagra) showed of snapping a spoke on the rear. After many hours of searching in good old fashioned books and on the web I concluded my problem to be one of too much weight compressing the rear wheel rim. This compression allows one spoke to go slack, however the corresponding spoke to the slack one has to tighten in order to preserve the structure of the rear wheel, and hey presto the weak point (the nipple of the spoke) gets snapped off!
After much deliberation I concluded the solution was these Fulcrum Racing 5 wheels! With only a single spoke from the hub to rim utilising a hammer head style spoke design there is no weak point. They don’t seem to roll as fast as my previous wheels but the sealed bearing units are silky smooth in comparison and the difference in the way the power is delivered is fantastic. I find that acceleration its transmitted straight into drive and not absorbed by the rear wheel as with the conventional design on my former wheels. These look amazing and have given me a confidence on the bike that I had lost with the previous wheel failings.
I don’t think for the money you could do better than this wheel set, I have had them just a month in which time they have put in 500km without issue. Overall I am very pleased with the wheel and I just have to get used to their different feel on the bike but I think that’s more about me than the wheel. A great wheel that shows great promise for the future….
+8points
9of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Read comment (1)
Comments (1)
Customer avatar
Brownspeeddog
 
Please wait while more information about Brownspeeddog is loaded.
Additional information about Brownspeeddog could not be loaded.
Update on reveiw
Posted September 23, 2012
A further 1000km in Aug and Sept have shown these wheels to have been an excellent choice. There are no issues with the speed at which they roll and if there is any difference its probably due to a lighter rim but this of course means you can accelerate quicker! I would confirm the 5 star rating I gave them. A fantastic cost-sensible upgrade!
+1point
1of 1voted this comment as helpful.
Comments (1)
Read comment (1)
Review 6 for Fulcrum Racing 5 Clincher 2013 Wheelset
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adam2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

A solid upgrade for any cyclist

PostedAugust 13, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
User submitted photo
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, solid
After exhaustive research into every wheel in the price range, I bought these to replace the stock wheelset on my alu sportive bike. Perfectly set-up out the box, these are a solid upgrade for any bike, there are lighter wheels out there, but the solid build, quality for the price, and looks make these an attractive upgrade for all begginer/intermediate riders.
Noticeably stiffer than stock wheels when climbing out of the saddle, with very limited flex. They roll well and look great with the new look for the 2013 model.
Tyres where relatively easy to fit when compared to some other wheels in this price-range, slightly noisier rear hub than what I am used to when free-wheeling but nothing too noticeable.
I am very satisfied with these, and recommend them as a nice upgrade from stock wheels, and am glad I went for these after hearing tales of woe from other wheels in this price range.
I regularly ride the battered roads of Sussex and the South and they have taken a few big hits and stayed true, they only have a few 100km on them thus far but I have no doubts I'll get many thousands more out of them.
 
Products related to my review
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.