Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Food & Drink or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Clif Energy Bar

Clif Energy Bar

It's a pretty simple equation: put good food in - get good performance out. The bonus is that organic foods aren't just good for your body, they're also good for the planet. With a mix of whole grains, protein and fibre, Clif Bar gives you sustained energy to be in it to your limit.
Overall rating:
4.5 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
28 out of 30(93%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Clif Energy Bar
Review 1 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
RCITGuy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice as it gets

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Cons: Expensive, Uncomfortable, sickly
These seem to be the most paletable of all the energy bars, but for me personally, eating a whole one of these on the move is impossible.
Like many of these energy bars, it has that sickly feel to it after you have had a few bites, and you feel that 1 more bite will make you hurl, so maybe half a bar at a time, or just eat some bananas and normal chocolate..
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TotalLoss
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Easily digestible lots of energy

Posted07 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, taste good, not sickly sweet
I think clif bars are the most palatable energy bars on the market right now. They are not too sweet, don't turn to a sticky mess in your jersey pockets and provide slightly longer burning energy. They are not an instant energy fix like a caffeine loaded gel but work well on longer rides where you want to keep your energy level constant - save the gels for the attacks on those hills or the end of a race!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dazzle3271
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Keep's you going !

Posted15 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Tried this product on a recent sportive and at the time I was just starting to flag which also coinsided with a puncture so not in the best place at that time. However after a quick repair and consuming this item I was off and I've got to say my energy levels came back up running on full 'gas' to such an extent that I made up the time lost repairing the puncture. I then powered all the way to the finish another 10 miles away. Definitely got me through and I will always have this with me on any future ride whilst I will now also be trying out more products from the Cliff range of energy products.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CatherineT
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Tastiest energy bar ever

Posted15 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, great taste, convenient to carry all day
Great tasting energy bar, 10g protein too. Shop-bought energy bars and ones with protein powder can taste a bit claggy and fake but this was really nice, could taste the cinnamon and raisin.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
LondonCommuter
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Good energy bar.

Posted27 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: tastes good
Good quality energy bar. Chewier and more immediately filling than some, so not one to open and eat on an ascent/descent! But check the dates on the shelf - mine was past its use by.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tracker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Posted25 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Great taste in comparison with other brands I have tried.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ct1000ireland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Very good peanut better than choc

Posted11 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Really good rich bar dont really know what else to say nice but too expensive
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
2Pedals
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Average.

Posted01 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice taste, quite tough in consistency, so not so easy to eat quickly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Carbonator
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

One of those things you have to try.

Posted29 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Especially the peanut butter ones.
Macadamia nut and white chocolate is nice too but Evans do not stock them (boring lol).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mcmount

Excellent energy bar

Posted23 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Not too sweet , a tasty bar that keeps you going. Although I couldn't eat one in a single go as quite filling.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Averagecyclist
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Perfect for rides

Posted28 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
I picked up several different bars from my local store to try out in preperation for a 100 mile ride, this bar was recommended by staff. Compared to the other bars I tried this was perfect, others were sticky, gooey or hard to eat without water. This bar was ideal, great taste, easy to eat and great energy top up on long rides. I will definitely be packing some of thee in my pack on long rides.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndrewK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Deansgate

Posted25 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Tasty and packed full of chemicals, nice variety of flavours too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
gofbang
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Decent snack

Posted24 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Difficult to differentiate between all the energy bars available, but this one was tasty and not too dry
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mike314
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Clif is yummy

Posted17 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
They may look funny out of the wrapper, but that's not the point. Clif make a great energy bar. I have tried them all and find it very difficult to say which one I like the most.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ikmac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wandsworth

Clif peanut butter or chocolate almond fudge

Posted16 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great energy bar for long rides - you actually look forward to eating it!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Matchfit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great product for a great price

Posted25 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
I tested many products and compared their nutritional value. I found this product to be the best. Consistency was good, it was moist enough and the packaging was easy to open on the bike without the need to stop.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wattbike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Gateshead

Tasty!

Posted18 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
I bought a selection of bars as we were going to Majorca for a weeks cycling and I getting was sick of the ones we usually get as they are usually are hard and can be quite chewy!
These were really nice and soft and would buy againand if memory serves me right I think it was the coconut one for this particular bar which was really nice
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tuctuc
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Tasty energy bar that works for me

Posted06 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, great taste
I tried a couple of bars & settled on this as I prefer the taste to others, peanut butter & the choc chip are my favourite so I've bought 2 boxes!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nick89
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted03 May 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
Great bar, exactly as it should be. Really tasty !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Clif Energy Bar
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
KevinB
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

very bland flavour

Posted02 May 2014
No, I do not recommend this product.
Better tasting bars around the Hi 5 ones at least have some flavour very dull left me feeling as if I had eaten some compressed cardboard
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>