Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Windstopper Soft Shell offers total windproofness with maximum breathability, combining the comfort of a soft mid-layer and the water resistance of a shell in one garment. Windstopper Soft Shells keep you comfortable with the freedom of movement you need for enhanced performance in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.816 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(76 reviews) 76
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 76 reviews
5 Stars
63
4 Stars
12
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
75 out of 76Would you recommend this product to a friend?99%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
11 Questions | 24 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Posted10 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Great fit and does what it says. Quality all round.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Work

Posted08 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Warm, windproof, winner.
Oh, and kept the water off too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Top quality and very visible

Posted07 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Nice snug fitting wind beater top. Looks pretty cool as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

Great fit

Posted04 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Warm great for cooler days water proof for winter showers
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

spot on

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
sizing is spot on, went for a spin and it certainly keeps the wind out and i didn't get all sweaty as it lets you breath, would recommend anytime
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Liverpool

Completely windproof and good in light rain

Posted02 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: too flourescent
Although not race cut by sizing down from my usual medium I found the small to be great for cut and length. The only negative is that it is slightly tight under the armpit as a result. There is no doubting the windproofing or warmth of the jacket and there is no need to wear too many layers underneath. I have worn it in cold, windy and wet conditions including a torrential downpour. At no time did my upper body feel cold and whilst I can't say how effective the waterproofing is as I was still damp when I took the jacket off due to my own body heat, I can't see any need for a cape if you are wearing this whatever the conditions.
I bought the flouro version and tbh it is a bit too flouro once on; a more discrete colour next time.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

The Dog's Borrocks

Posted28 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Went to buy some gloves then this Gore jacket leapt off the rack at me. Wind resisting rather than wind proof, it allows air circulation so you don't get sweaty, allows freedom of movement. The long sleeves zip off leaving short sleeves underneath so good for mid season too. Good pockets.
Mud just brushes off (once it has dried), Hi vis yellow panel and retro-reflective strips makes sure I am visible.
Good quality gear earns respect and I am very impressed with this jacket.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent product and after sales care from Evans

Posted19 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This was my first purchase of a Gore product - the jacket looked a great price based on the reviews and I have been absolutely delighted with it. Whilst it's still only Autumn I have found the jacket incredibly comfortable and have been wearing with just a lightweight Helly Hansen t shirt base and it works perfectly! I was unfortunate to come off my bike soon after I purchased the jacket and in the process damaged one of the lower sleeve sections. Whilst that was all down to me, Evans have been incredibly helpful in sourcing a replacement section of the jacket from Gore and to say my expectations have been exceeded is an understatement! Special thanks to Ben in the Special Orders Team at Evans Gatwick - as a regular customer of Evans I am one very happy customer all round!! As a separate point I am 6'2" with a heavier build and the XXL was spot on for me!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Waterloo Cut

Well made versatile jacket

Posted05 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, versatile
Can be worn on it's own or with a base layer/ jersey underneath, removable sleeves add to the versatility.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leicester

Great performance

Posted04 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Jacket worked a treat, kept the cold wind out and was plenty breathable. Expensive but worth it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:Italy
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent jacket

Posted01 November 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Looks great, fantastic feeling on skin, very high value for "Windstopper" fabric. Reccomended for a range between 6 up 15 celsius degrees. I love this brand this is my third jacket and i'm waiting for a new one bought always on Evans cycles with price reduction. I suggest to try the size on store consider that Gore Bike wear is not like Castelli but bit more confortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality garment for use all year round

Posted29 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Have been using this since last winter. Used it through the summer too, as with the sleeves off and in a rear pocket, it provides me with a flexible jacket to suit our ever-changing weather conditions. Matching Windstopper Bib available. Combined they deal with all but the most severe weather. Great bit of kit.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Norwich

Product keeps you warm and dry

Posted27 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
This jacket is well worth the money, it is a quality product. The zips all feel really good quality and the material is typical Gore quality.
The fit is true to size with this jacket being a comfortable tight fit and has a nice length when bent over the bars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Great for the Chilly Autumn mornings

Posted13 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Bought this to wear during my daily commute, can ride with the sleeves on in the morning when its cold and then remove when it's hometime.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great autumn winter jacket

Posted27 September 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Bought this to be a jack of all trades jacket, something that would keep a shower and the wind out and with some decent base layers would keep me warm in a North Yorkshire winter.
So far it certainly keeps the wind and a heavy shower out. It survived a 70mile sportive in pretty grotty weather and it has done my daily commute which is an hour long on a few occasions.
When the weather is cool down to about 5 or 6 degrees I have only needed a tech t shirt underneath. As t gets cooler I'll step up the base layers and I'm confident that the only other layer I'll need this winter is a thin waterproof for when it really pours.
All in all a good all rounder and pleased with the choice.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Not worn yet, but gives good impression

Posted17 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Expensive
Due to the weather taking an upturn recently, it looks as though I will not have a chance to wear this solid-looking bit of kit (in its long-sleeve guise) until September/October. In the meantime, I can tell you that as with every Gore product I have purchased thus far (several), it gives you the impression of being of superior quality. In case it helps, I am just over 6' tall, of medium build, and the L size fits just nicely. Happy pedaling, friends!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

wind Resistant and breathable

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality
Tested this over a weekend in Yorkshire dales. Works brilliantly
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top product!

Posted07 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
You can't go wrong with this product. Yes its not cheep but You will never regret. Keep me warm and dry and wind proof all you want for a long day rides. Very comfortable
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Plymouth

Great price, great quality, great looks

Posted13 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: needs pockets at the front
Does what it says on the package. In my opinion this is a very good soft shell jacket. However it could do with having pockets at the front, but other than that i would recommend this jacket.
The arms zip off making it an even more versatile jacket
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Warm, Showerproof and Windproof

Posted27 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bit pricey, but then you have to pay for good quality. Ideal to wear over a base layer or jersey, or even under a jacket for those really cold days. It doesn't claim to be 'waterproof', but I can safely say it's showerproof!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 4 next>>