Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Windstopper Soft Shell offers total windproofness with maximum breathability, combining the comfort of a soft mid-layer and the water resistance of a shell in one garment. Windstopper Soft Shells keep you comfortable with the freedom of movement you need for enhanced performance in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.825 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(57 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 57 reviews
5 Stars
48
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
56 out of 57Would you recommend this product to a friend?98%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
7 Questions | 17 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RJ57
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Warm, Showerproof and Windproof

Posted27 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bit pricey, but then you have to pay for good quality. Ideal to wear over a base layer or jersey, or even under a jacket for those really cold days. It doesn't claim to be 'waterproof', but I can safely say it's showerproof!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonesy398
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Exactly what was needed

Posted10 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Always fancied a Gore cycle jacket but never able to justify the expense. Luckily I got some vouchers for Xmas and made the decision to take the plunge. Really pleased I have, I don't feel the wind anymore and the breathability is superb. My tempurature is constant throughout my rides with no more sweat pooling inside the jacket. A superb purchase which shows me that you really do get what you pay for.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Harareboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Does exactly what it says on the tin

Posted09 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, no boil in the bag
Jacket is excellent. It is usable to zero and below with just a base layer and a long sleeve jersey underneath.
Manages to keep you nicely warm without without the boil in the bag feel of your shell jacket.
Only quibble is that there isn't a zipper pocket for your keys on the back. A small niggle on an otherwise excellent jacket.
I think that with the zipp off sleeves this could be the go to jacket for the whole year.
Excellent value as I got an Evans price match.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Michaelsamps
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jacket

Posted04 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Ticks all the right boxes and is great quality. A good layer for winter or spring. And at the sale price a bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
socialbiker
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Drawer

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
The best item of kit I've bought.
Looks great & fits well (I'm 6' tall 15 Stone, Large is perfect)
Warm enough when it's cold & keeps sweat down to the minimum when a little warmer certainly when compared to other waterproof shell or less technical products I've had.
With the flexibility of zip off sleeves this is a genuine 3 season jacket
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
MuxtonBrewer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Toasty at 1C

Posted31 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Phantom 2.0 cost more than I was considering spending, but I'm glad I spent the extra as I think anything less would have been too much of a compromise. The Windstopper fabric does exactly what's expected of it, it's water resistant and with only a base layer underneath I'm still toasty warm at 1 deg C. It looks great, fits well and come the Spring I'm looking forward to detaching the sleeves and extending its use in the warmer weather.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
BSSTJ
It was bought:St Paul's

Great shoft shell jacket

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Been out on several long cold rides and I never felt cold. This jacket really does what it is supposed to do and I would recommend it to any serious cyclist.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ab304
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Fulham

Great for winter riding

Posted28 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Excellent wind proof top. Sleeves are removable although quite hard to do whilst riding. To reattach needs a second pair of hands.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tankboy
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Top Jacket

Posted22 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the second Phantom 2.0 Jacket I've bought. The first is still going strong - I wear it all the time for my commute - so I bought a second one so I don't wear it out! They keep me toasty warm over winter - with just a base layer and short sleeve jersey underneath, Spring and Autumn I can remove the sleeves on warmer days. It's a quality product - the stitching on my first jacket is still pristine after almost 18 months of regular use (3-5 days a week) I can heartily recommend this jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
belugabob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Top notch

Posted20 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Not only is this jersey up to the standard expected from Gore - in respect to quality, features and style - it had one undocumented feature; it brought a massive smile to my friend when I gave it to him for his 50th birthday ;)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jjrs
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Excellent quality product.

Posted14 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
An excellent product for use in the winter. This was expensive compared to other options but worth paying the extra. A base layer and this top suffices on cold days.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Burnleydaz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - National Cycling Centre

The best jacket I've ever bought

Posted13 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've had a gore running jacket for a few years now so I was familiar with the gore name, this new softshell jacket is the best I've ever had and I would highly recommend. The fit is true, the detachable sleeves a bonus,if it ever gets any warmer! To finish this jacket does it's job and was a great price
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
rosso
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chalk Farm

I love this product

Posted08 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
I bought a plain black one of these in 2013 and it is excellent. So now I have purchased a 2nd in new design. The top is warm, weather resistant, the rear pockets are strong and large for longer cycles. The zip off sleeves work a treat on long spin days and I even wear it running.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
mikejs13
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Excellent!

Posted01 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Does exactly as stated, very pleased.
With regard to 'Where did you buy from?', it was Norwich but this is not listed in the drop-down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Peakey
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

There'sGore, then there's the rest...

Posted30 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
There's no doubt about it, Gore make great gear. This softshell jacket is just superb. It's just the right weight, wonderfully soft, and brings all the benefits of Goretex. The arms zip off if you like that sort of thing - I don't - but the key thing is that you're buying a quality product that will last.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Ricey1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Money well spent

Posted18 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is the second one I've bought, I have the yellow and black for poor light and weather conditions, got the black and red as another addition, but the mere fact I bought two says it all and don't need to say anything else, apart from when you swap the arms from one to another it potentially gives you now 4 colour combinations...
They are a great jacket you won't be disappointed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sean8864
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Excellent Quality worthy of pricetag

Posted13 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Outstanding quality. Breathable to a point where I no longer arrive at work soaked in sweat - even beneath my rucksack. I'm 40" chest, 5'10" and 12 and a half stone and the medium is a perfect fit. I've ridden in drizzle/light showers without an overlayer and have remained dry. Option to remove sleeves is very useful. This is my first Gore purchase and but this will be my default brand hereafter. Superb jacket.....
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BJA1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm, breathable, waterproof, Versatile

Posted28 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have two of these jackets in my collection. The first one that I bought is grey that I bought a number of years ago and the second one a floro yellow that I bought around three or four years ago for using in dull conditions on the road.
The jackets are both going strong after regular use over the years, the jacket is great for flexibility as the sleeves add warmth in chilly morning rides and can be unziped if the weather is warmer in the evening.
While the jacket is not advertised as waterproof, it generally holds out and resists water penetration very well while maintaining warmth even in very heavy downpours.
The jacket is warm and I have used down well below zero although in really low temps I tend to wear a lightweight baselayer in addition to the jacket itself.
My really big bugbear with the jacket is that the bindings around the edges of sleeves, pockets etc is not very well sewn on to the jacket. The first jacket that I purchased had to be returned for this reason before I had even worn it as it came from the shop with the binding pulling off the rear pocket. Both of my current jackets have needed to be repaired during their lives for this reason also.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ttamyarg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Perfect

Posted23 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great purchase. It really does stop wind.
Great to have the removable sleeves, it means you can wear it in a much wider temperature variance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nxn2020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

awesome jacket!

Posted05 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, breathable
Cons: Expensive
What can I say? Love this jacket, wanted to get a jacket for winter and wanted a gilet too, now I have both in one quality bit of kit. Not cheap by a long way and did wonder if it was worth it but having ridden with it on, including at least 1 hard ride, I can say it breathes beautifully and doesn't leave me feeling like I'm sweating into a plastic bag!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 3 next>>