Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Windstopper Soft Shell offers total windproofness with maximum breathability, combining the comfort of a soft mid-layer and the water resistance of a shell in one garment. Windstopper Soft Shells keep you comfortable with the freedom of movement you need for enhanced performance in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.794 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 34
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 34(97%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
4 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does exactly what it says it will

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice fit, three pockets on back, zip off sleeves with a short sleeve underneath for summer. Worn in temps for 0-15 degrees with light base layer underneath on 30min commute and felt very comfortable. Really impressed with the quality as we'll.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richard12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Quality Jacket

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Like all Gore products, this is of high quality. Other makes may be more affordable but if you cycle regularly it's worth getting the best gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
stuartnsl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

comfortable, versatile and good temperature regula

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very pleased with the jacket so far. It has performed well in warmer and cool conditions. I found removable sleeves very useful on warmer days where wind proof coverage was still needed but I was starting to overheat with them on. Very imoreaaws with the windstopper technology. Found myself in changing conditions over a long climb. Fairly water resistant but would have been very chilled in strong wind and driving rain and sleet without it.
A nice fit and quality material. I am pleased I invested in this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Totally brilliant!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, windproof, hard wearing
Cons: watch the sizing
It's warm, very breathable, windproof and light shower-proof. The material is hardwiring and it's my go to jacket for 80% of the year except perhaps 20 degrees C and warmer though the sleeves do zip out. This is my 2nd one of these. The fit is great but a bit on the generous, I am usually a Large in most Gore products but am a medium in this. Great value too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
MCsurrey

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great product which fits great and is very good quality- I would buy this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adzilla

brilliant and comfortable

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent material that keeps you very comfortable, as well as visible during low light conditions. Very highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Simonetti
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Versatile windstopper, rainproof, detachable arms

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After reading lots of review and looking at the other models and pricing. I went for the Phantom red/black. I'm 6'3" and 44-46 chest so XXL was spot on with even a little room for a thicker base layer in freezing temperatures.
Tend to use it for longer rides and breathability is great with lots of zips to vent if necessary. Bit of extra weight with all the zips but it offers unbeatable versatility. Haven't taken the arms off yet - maybe when it warms up a bit. Great option to have. Windstopper definitely works so worth the premium I think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Hopper08
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of the Best Windstopper Softshell jacket....

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
It's my First Windstopper Softshell jacket from GORE, what more can I say...Its again German technology at its best. Very much comfy and shields me from the elements whenever, wherever you cycle. Looks great and good quality, I'm planning to buy another colorway...highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Steffie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Guildford

Great yellow jacket being visablewinter cycling.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very pleased with the size, fairly light and colour is essential, Yellow, to be visible in the darker months. Bought it for my husband for Christmas, so these are his comments on the jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
parovo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal winter coat

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: zip
Surprisingly warm considering no real insulation, one day may take of the arms for when it hots up from a cold start. Zip is only real let down as difficult to fasten sometimes. Good quality and may give some rain protection but not tested in full on downpour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Exceeded expectations, brilliant.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Breaths really well, lightweight and still keeps the cold and wind out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eggy27

Does exactly what it says

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
1st time out in this jacket it was a cold blustery day but with little cloud so I thought it would be a good test. With just a base layer underneath I was very pleased with the total lack of wind getting through the jacket and how level my temperature stayed without any sweat build up associated with some other jackets. 45 minutes out and the 'little cloud' turned in to a very heavy rainstorm but the jacket held up really well, whilst not totally waterproof it kept enough water out to allow me to continue my ride with very little discomfort. I reckon this will serve me very well, and the removable sleeves will add to the amount of time in the year when this jacket can be used. The 3 back storage pockets are an added bonus with plenty of capacity. May be a bit pricey but well worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graeme68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ok but not great.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, not warm, not fully windproof
For the price i was expecting this to be a great product, alas it is not. Having read many other reviews i was under the impression that this item would not only keep the wind out and also keep you warm with minimal layers underneath, not so. On a normal Winters day i was having to wear a number of layers underneath along with a jacket over the top and still was not that warm.
The quality is very good as you would expect from Gore. I was going to return it but it will probably do a reasonable job in the Spring/Autumn when it is not so cold.
Save your money and purchase a couple of good base layers and a waterproof jacket.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DML54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Overall excellent product

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is definitely a winter jacket it is warm and totally windproof. I have yet to test it pouring rain but it has coped with light rain very well.
That it can convert into a gilet is an asset and the soft-shell feel is great.
The only negative and it is a small point is the absence of a small zipped pocket for door/padlock key or money
Not cheap but worth it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunny98
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Great Jacket

PostedNovember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
superb product for my 17 miles commute. So far this year gone as low as about 2/3 and up to about 10 degrees Centigrade and this and a warm base layer is all i need (Buff or neck warmer whens its close to freezing).
You will always sweat but i don't feel wet in this jacket and my core is nice and warm.
I'm 6 ft tall and went for the medium.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Badger1973
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Warm, tough, lightweight & water resistant.

PostedNovember 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, zip of sleeves, neck zip cover
After completing several 100 miles in temperatures just above freezing and persistent light drizzle, a lightweight thermal base layer and the Gore Phantom 2.0 soft shell jacket have kept me warm, dry and comfortable. the removable sleeves reveal short "T" shirt style sleeves which is great for the Spring and Autumn months.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
BigNick
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Just what you need for the autumn and winter

PostedNovember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Bought this jacket from Gatwick store (it was also on special offer) in early October this year and it's had plenty of use so far. Only really been tested in the rain once which was a heavy drizzle yesterday and coped fine. Really pleased with it, I bought the XL in "Hi-Viz" yellow and despite being a big lump it fits me well in all the right places and if anyone says they can't see me now then they must be blind! Keeps you very warm and stops the wind penetrating.
I wear it for day and night rides but it'll probably be next spring before the sleeves come off I suspect. Only minor gripe is I wish it had a zipped pocket to secure things like keys but apart from that it is perfect.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Seneschal
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This has transformed my Autumn riding experience!

PostedNovember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, snug
Really comfortable next to my skin, wicked at keeping the wind out and me dry so far..
I have already really benefited after a shaky start to the Autumn weather in my old waterproof!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BlakeH68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Great versatile jacket, but not very waterproof

PostedSeptember 19, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great, breathable
Cons: heavy when wet, not very waterproof
Brought this jacket to do a coast to coast ride and was very impressed withit on the first day. Kept me comfortably warm in the morning and cool/dry once sleeves removed. Second day was quite wet and it handled the morning dizzle quite well and was always warm, however the heavens opened in the last hour and it was saturated in no time and very heavy. To be fair not much would of kept the horizontal rain out, but was dissapointed how quickly it gave up. Still pleased overall, but you do need a pack away rain jacket if theres a good chance of rain.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RussG
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Excellent product

PostedSeptember 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This was a birthday present and I think it's great. On the cooler early mornings you can wear it with or without the sleeves and it keeps the wind out. I wear just a base layer underneath but im mot sure uou need anything. For some reason I haven't felt like I'm overheating as the mornings have warmed up either. I recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>