Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Soft Shells or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket

Windstopper Soft Shell offers total windproofness with maximum breathability, combining the comfort of a soft mid-layer and the water resistance of a shell in one garment. Windstopper Soft Shells keep you comfortable with the freedom of movement you need for enhanced performance in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(40 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 40 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
39 out of 40(98%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 14 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BJA1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Warm, breathable, waterproof, Versatile

PostedOctober 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have two of these jackets in my collection. The first one that I bought is grey that I bought a number of years ago and the second one a floro yellow that I bought around three or four years ago for using in dull conditions on the road.
The jackets are both going strong after regular use over the years, the jacket is great for flexibility as the sleeves add warmth in chilly morning rides and can be unziped if the weather is warmer in the evening.
While the jacket is not advertised as waterproof, it generally holds out and resists water penetration very well while maintaining warmth even in very heavy downpours.
The jacket is warm and I have used down well below zero although in really low temps I tend to wear a lightweight baselayer in addition to the jacket itself.
My really big bugbear with the jacket is that the bindings around the edges of sleeves, pockets etc is not very well sewn on to the jacket. The first jacket that I purchased had to be returned for this reason before I had even worn it as it came from the shop with the binding pulling off the rear pocket. Both of my current jackets have needed to be repaired during their lives for this reason also.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
ttamyarg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Perfect

PostedOctober 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Great purchase. It really does stop wind.
Great to have the removable sleeves, it means you can wear it in a much wider temperature variance.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nxn2020
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

awesome jacket!

PostedOctober 5, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, breathable
Cons: Expensive
What can I say? Love this jacket, wanted to get a jacket for winter and wanted a gilet too, now I have both in one quality bit of kit. Not cheap by a long way and did wonder if it was worth it but having ridden with it on, including at least 1 hard ride, I can say it breathes beautifully and doesn't leave me feeling like I'm sweating into a plastic bag!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Martin73
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

A great jacket

PostedMay 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
I bought this to replace my previous Gore jacket as the rear zip had finally broken after a number of years. This is a versatile addition to any cycling wardrobe as it makes a good short sleeve summer jersey as well as being a good long sleeve one. You can use it all year around by mixing it with different base layers. At first sight it may seem expensive but its versatility makes it a good value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Darren1970
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Great jacket

PostedMay 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This jacket has proven itself as a great all round jacket.
Great for early morning rides that last well into the day. When the weather warms up, it's sleeves are easily removed ans stored in the rear pockets.
The fit is really good, with the exception that if your broad shouldered you may find it tighter fitting.
I'm 6ft 2ins and weigh 97kg and find the fit of the xl perfect.
I cycle all year round, and would find this jacket suitable for 75% of my year round cycling.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
SammieH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Bristol

I love this jacket

PostedMay 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I bought one of these jackets 18 months ago and have loved using it. It fits really well, it breaths and stop me getting overly sweaty, but it also keeps the wind and the rain off. I have never got wet through this jacket and I have worn it in some downpours. I travel between two cities for work and have a bike in each location, so have just bought a second identical jacket so I don't have to carry them between locations. They are just that good.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Nottingham

Does exactly what it says it will

PostedApril 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Nice fit, three pockets on back, zip off sleeves with a short sleeve underneath for summer. Worn in temps for 0-15 degrees with light base layer underneath on 30min commute and felt very comfortable. Really impressed with the quality as we'll.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Richard12
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:London Bridge

Quality Jacket

PostedApril 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Like all Gore products, this is of high quality. Other makes may be more affordable but if you cycle regularly it's worth getting the best gear.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
stuartnsl
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

comfortable, versatile and good temperature regula

PostedMarch 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Very pleased with the jacket so far. It has performed well in warmer and cool conditions. I found removable sleeves very useful on warmer days where wind proof coverage was still needed but I was starting to overheat with them on. Very imoreaaws with the windstopper technology. Found myself in changing conditions over a long climb. Fairly water resistant but would have been very chilled in strong wind and driving rain and sleet without it.
A nice fit and quality material. I am pleased I invested in this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
eeun
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Totally brilliant!

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, windproof, hard wearing
Cons: watch the sizing
It's warm, very breathable, windproof and light shower-proof. The material is hardwiring and it's my go to jacket for 80% of the year except perhaps 20 degrees C and warmer though the sleeves do zip out. This is my 2nd one of these. The fit is great but a bit on the generous, I am usually a Large in most Gore products but am a medium in this. Great value too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
MCsurrey

Great Jacket

PostedMarch 19, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Great product which fits great and is very good quality- I would buy this again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Adzilla

brilliant and comfortable

PostedMarch 2, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Excellent material that keeps you very comfortable, as well as visible during low light conditions. Very highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Simonetti
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Versatile windstopper, rainproof, detachable arms

PostedFebruary 28, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
After reading lots of review and looking at the other models and pricing. I went for the Phantom red/black. I'm 6'3" and 44-46 chest so XXL was spot on with even a little room for a thicker base layer in freezing temperatures.
Tend to use it for longer rides and breathability is great with lots of zips to vent if necessary. Bit of extra weight with all the zips but it offers unbeatable versatility. Haven't taken the arms off yet - maybe when it warms up a bit. Great option to have. Windstopper definitely works so worth the premium I think.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Hopper08
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

One of the Best Windstopper Softshell jacket....

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
It's my First Windstopper Softshell jacket from GORE, what more can I say...Its again German technology at its best. Very much comfy and shields me from the elements whenever, wherever you cycle. Looks great and good quality, I'm planning to buy another colorway...highly recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Steffie
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Guildford

Great yellow jacket being visablewinter cycling.

PostedFebruary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Very pleased with the size, fairly light and colour is essential, Yellow, to be visible in the darker months. Bought it for my husband for Christmas, so these are his comments on the jacket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
parovo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal winter coat

PostedJanuary 26, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: zip
Surprisingly warm considering no real insulation, one day may take of the arms for when it hots up from a cold start. Zip is only real let down as difficult to fasten sometimes. Good quality and may give some rain protection but not tested in full on downpour.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Exceeded expectations, brilliant.

PostedJanuary 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Breaths really well, lightweight and still keeps the cold and wind out.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eggy27

Does exactly what it says

PostedDecember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
1st time out in this jacket it was a cold blustery day but with little cloud so I thought it would be a good test. With just a base layer underneath I was very pleased with the total lack of wind getting through the jacket and how level my temperature stayed without any sweat build up associated with some other jackets. 45 minutes out and the 'little cloud' turned in to a very heavy rainstorm but the jacket held up really well, whilst not totally waterproof it kept enough water out to allow me to continue my ride with very little discomfort. I reckon this will serve me very well, and the removable sleeves will add to the amount of time in the year when this jacket can be used. The 3 back storage pockets are an added bonus with plenty of capacity. May be a bit pricey but well worth it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Graeme68
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ok but not great.

PostedDecember 8, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive, not warm, not fully windproof
For the price i was expecting this to be a great product, alas it is not. Having read many other reviews i was under the impression that this item would not only keep the wind out and also keep you warm with minimal layers underneath, not so. On a normal Winters day i was having to wear a number of layers underneath along with a jacket over the top and still was not that warm.
The quality is very good as you would expect from Gore. I was going to return it but it will probably do a reasonable job in the Spring/Autumn when it is not so cold.
Save your money and purchase a couple of good base layers and a waterproof jacket.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
DML54
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Overall excellent product

PostedNovember 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
This is definitely a winter jacket it is warm and totally windproof. I have yet to test it pouring rain but it has coped with light rain very well.
That it can convert into a gilet is an asset and the soft-shell feel is great.
The only negative and it is a small point is the absence of a small zipped pocket for door/padlock key or money
Not cheap but worth it
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>