Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket

Windstopper Soft Shell offers total windproofness with maximum breathability, combining the comfort of a soft mid-layer and the water resistance of a shell in one garment. Windstopper Soft Shells keep you comfortable with the freedom of movement you need for enhanced performance in a wide range of cycling activities and weather conditions.
Overall rating:
4.6 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
14 out of 15Would you recommend this product to a friend?93%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Wierd, but surprisingly good.

Posted08 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great, good cut & fit
Cons: inner sleeves
In the words of my wife:
Is this a warm, windproof jersey or is it a windproof thermal jacket? It depends... With the sleeves removed, this is practically the same as a jersey and gilet, but in one item. With the sleeves on, it's a toasty warm thermal layer for those cold, but dry days.
The compromise comes with the inner short sleeves that are permenently attached to the body. You will either lover them or hate them...
The real plus, is the fit. It is very flattering
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice feel but not thick enough for Winter

Posted13 November 2015
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable, not thick enough for winter
I bought this for my wife as a winter top. We returned it for two reasons, firstly the material is okay for autumn/spring conditions but would not provide enough insulation for winter conditions. Secondly, the zips for the removable sleeves seemed to spoil the fit and gave a pulling feeling across the shoulders.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent Jacket

Posted10 October 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
I am very pleased with this jacket. I found it true to size and great quality. I have worn it few times recently with a base layer. On one ride I took the sleeves off (very easy) and packed well in the back pocket.
I would recommend this product.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Comfortable and versatile

Posted26 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
This was my first bike wear windstopper to kit me out for my first ever long distance cycling adventure doing the devon Coast to coast of around 102 miles. So I'd say I'm an amateur who didn't have a clue about the best gear to wear. This jacket was fantastic. Comfortable and soft. It provided great water resistance during a few showers. I sweated a lot - there are a lot of hills in this route and it never felt wet or cold on the inside. It was brilliant to be able to unzip the long sleeves and have tshirt length sleeves, whilst still benefitting from the wind proofing of the body. I also liked the way it looked (I chose the black and white). It's fitted and flattering. I wore with a running vest underneath.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Phone

Great fit and lovely excellent product

Posted24 May 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Really great product. Just how it appears on the website. Lovely fit for ladies and looks great
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
It was bought:Online

Perfect windstopper jacket

Posted09 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
We bought this jacket for my wife based on my experience with the men's version of the Phantom. The detachable sleeves make it very versatile. It's a perfect fit, with very nice small design details for ladies, and my wife loves it. It seems to be more form-fitting than the men's version (which is a bit boxy/bulky). Also, the material seems just a little bit thinner than the men's version, though in principle they should be the same. Would definitely buy again
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

excellent jacket

Posted08 November 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket is very well made and the material is nice and comfy. I ride early mornings and late nights when its very cold and it keeps the wind off and is waterproof. I personally need several layers on but this acts as a brilliant outer layer- i imagine most people would just need a vest top under it. The high vis aspect is really good too!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent all round top

Posted23 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Perfect for English weather. So versatile with the full front zip and zip off sleeves. Rain proof and warm when needed Very comfortable to ride in off road. Feels great and looks fantastic. At the sale price an absolute bargain.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great quality jacket

Posted03 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Such a versatile wind stopper jacket, would definitely recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Very comfortable jacket

Posted15 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought this for my wife after she tried one out on a RideIt event (great scheme that Evans and Gore have). She loved it and has been looking for the green coloured one ever since. Fit is spot on, no need to size up or down.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Fantastic products

Posted14 September 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
The Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Jacket is just the best. I did lots of research before making my purchase and I'm not disappointed. It is very comfortable to wear and when windy it keeps you cosy. I needed to wear the full jacket when I started my cycle, as the sun came out I was able to very quickly zip out the sleeves - perfect! I would highly recommend the Phantom 2.0 jacket. I also recommend the Topeak Trunk Rack Bag and the Quick Release Rack.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:New Zealand
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Posted14 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
My hubby brought this top a couple of years ago when we were over in the UK and I umm and ahhh about getting one and didn't in the end. Sooooo I decided since I was again training for an Ironman and have to ride over winter I would invest in the jacket. I have been out in the rain, and never got cold or wet, it kept me warm ands sheltered from the wind and i love the bright pink color! I would highly recommend this jacket. Although in NZ we don't get that cold, but still chilly!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

great, versatile jacket

Posted05 May 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, adjustable
Not the cheapest! But a great jacket with detachable sleeves so well suited to current weather with cooler mornings; warming up during day at which point sleeves come off quite easily. Sleeves tiny bit fiddly with 4 zips in total: not too onerous but would be tricky to do it a heartbeat on side of road. Rest of jacket all very functional and good weight; have the predominantly black jacket with white panels which does show any diirt readily - white not the most practical colour!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Great fabric

Posted29 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Snug fit. Be aware that a size 36 is not chest size 36, need to go to the Gore sizing chart.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Phantom 2.0 Windstopper Soft Shell Lady Women's Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Versitile

Posted10 February 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not suitable for summer
As a female i find it difficult to find a range of different jackets in cycle shops, so I brought 6 jackets online so i could try a rang of different styles and makes on. I ended up keeping this jacket, size M-USA, 38 - EU.
Im a size 10 top and find that the jacket fits well as it has a nice cut and a slightly longer back which is elasticated. The sleeves zip off easily to make this into a short sleeve jersey, making it very versatile. These can then be stuffed into one of three deep pockets (but no zip).The short sleeves are made of a thinner material. I went out cycling the other weekend and the jacket kept the wind out and when i got caught in a shower the rain remained of top of the fabric.
However this jacket/soft shell will be to warm for summer wear.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.