Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket

Overall rating:
4.727 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
2 Questions | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
JB191

Warm, dry, breathable - you get what you pay for

PostedFebruary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
There's no getting past the fact this jacket is expensive, but i've already worn it through rain, sleet and hail and felt cosy and dry at all times. It does fit slightly tight, but not as much as I expected even over a base layer and jersey - I initially ordered the XL and exchanged it instore for a L, I'm 6 feet and ~80kg.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
StanG46
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm very hard to please, so wanting a waterproof jacket was going to tough.
Lets be honest now, I'm no racing snake but this jacket fits me well and you do forget that you are wearing it. Kept me bone dry even when mother nature tried to do her best. Worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
yo123
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A real quality jacket. Expensive but its the only one you will need. Been out in 2hrs of rain and stayed totally dry. Have not tried the hood and not sure i would use it unless fixing a puncture in the rain. My only criticism is some under arm zip vents would make this coat perfect as it does get hot. Would give it 9 out of 10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Himz
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great for winter weather

PostedJanuary 6, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have never bought Gore products before, so this was a first time experience. I wore the jacket during a very cold, windy evening walk and I felt very warm and comfortable. The bright colours and reflectors helped you to stand out in low light levels.
During a wet windy bike ride, the Gore TM lived up to it's mark. With only a base layer underneath, the jacket was lightweight and windproof/water resistant......Go GORE!
The only downside is that with Gore, you are paying premium price....but the money is well spent!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
teapot
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality jacket.

PostedDecember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable fit and the yellow and black which I have is highly visible for night riding.
Been caught out in the rain a few times and stayed nice and dry inside this jacket.
Overall a quality buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cabexas

This product is really high quality

PostedOctober 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This jacket has high quality written all over it.
The goretex membrane is great for waterproof.
On my 8 mile commute, it always managed to keep me dry during hard rain.
One thing I dislike, is that I don't find it much breathable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Beyond
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased this jacket a few weeks ago and I am very impressed by it; its light, folds down to fit in to a small bag. Looks great.
And works well to keep the rain out, dose very well to keep you warm.
Downside as one reviewer wrote, it would be great if it had some zips under the arms.
If you just going to work and back great, but if you are pushing a bit or late to work it can get a bit hot, and if you like me that start to get hot easy then you might find it a bit to warm, but over all a great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Devilbiking
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Jacket

PostedOctober 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought for the Outer Hebrides trip. Would have been lost without it during several days of rain and 55mph wind. Life saver
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThePilgrim
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all mountain jacket

PostedApril 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, you get what you pay for.
Since buying this jacket I've been out in The Dark Peak several times & the jacket has proved it's worth.
I've ridden through sun, rain, hail & snow (all in one ride) and I found the jacket comfortable breathable and offered me protection from the elements.
You may find a cheaper jacket but you'll be pushed to find a better one, in my humble opinion...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Rufus2012
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, good visibility features

PostedJanuary 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a stylish cycling jacket that has good high visibility features that is also acceptable to wear off the bike. It is light and comfortability and has very good breathe-ability, so you don't get so hot a sweaty inside after a hard ride.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
steve12345
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

COUNTDOWN GT GORETEX JACKET

PostedNovember 23, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, stow away hood, of pockets
Cons: Expensive, more neon would be excellent
I commute to work and found that when raining / changable I had to wear my rain gear with a fixed hood and as sure as night follows day it would be dry on the way home !!
I got sick of having to lug a bag of bike clothes/coats for every condition everytime it rained
I looked for ages and bought loads of coats to try and tick all the boxes sadly none of them did - there either a ton weight of are boil in the bag !!
I took the plunge and bought this for two reasons :-
1- it was goretex (packlite)
2- it had a stow away hood
The hood is a close fit & meant to go under your helmet and works spot on it does not block your view to the sides and doesnt turn the coat into a wind catcher - & can be rolled up and stowed in the collar with a zip to keep it in - this makes the collar sort of padded and makes it a close fit to keep wind out
The coat had 4 pockets chest / hip / rear so I tend to just fill them up & leave the backpack when its raining to save on wet gear lying about
Its fully meshed lined so its not clammy if just wearing a short sleeve
I normally take a medium ( 5'11 - 71kg - average build) - so ordered that size but felt it was a bit baggy when bent over in the bike position (Hybrid bike ) so bought the small which is a good fit and not bagging at the front when on the bike
There is no difference in the length of the jacket between the medium & small just in the body room - if your unsure probably best to order both sizes to try on or try on in store as its quite an expensive jacket so you want the right fit
The only things I feel let the coat down are lack of pit zips for a bit extra ventilation
And I wish they made it in all bright neon
Ive Emailed gore with these points - if they fit pit zips & make it fully neon then they really will have the BEST JACKET on the market
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.