Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket

Overall rating:
4.625 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 5 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality and look

Posted23 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This jacket appears to be excellent quality so far. It is a good cut for mountainbiking as it is slightly less fitted than most road clothing.
It breathes well and still looked good after a muddy ride this weekend.
As someone 6 foot tall, the medium has long enough arms, and fits well. I initially ordered the large, but will put that down to incorrect measuring on my part, and switching it at my local branch was easy.
Not cheap, but worth the money.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Superb quality and excellent value in the sale.

Posted15 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
As with all Gore products, the quality of this jacket is superb. Compared to other Gore products I have, the fit is generous - the large I have is a good fit whereas I have other Gore jackets in extra large. I am sure this will last a long time. Good value in the sale. Would recommend highly.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good all rounder

Posted05 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I had to return an Endura MT500 which had lots of stitching coming out. They only had that in black in stock so I opted for this instead.
There seems to be confusion about the hood. It is the fold into the collar type of hood that zips away nicely. It is a basic under the helmet hood without much adjustabilty but does the job.
I like having normal pockets for things like a wallet and keys when off the bike as well as the more cycle friendly back pocket.and chest pocket. The pockets do not have waterproof zips but have generous flaps which do keep the rain out.
I wasn't sure about the mesh lining at first since it makes it look like it is from Aldi but I thing it makes it more comfortable against the skin and it helps it slip on and off easily.
It is quite loose fitting which is what I wanted. I can keep a jumper or a down vest in my backpack (or both) while I cycle somewhere and then put them underneath the jacket when off the bike.
The sleeves fit over cycling gloves well to keep the wind out of your sleeves and the water out of your gloves.
You can tighten the waist at the back but it is a bit annoying having a huge loop of elastic cord hanging down by your bum.
I have only worn it in light rain but it has been waterproof which is the least you should expect, the more important question is about breathability. I do miss having the pit zips on my old jacket but I have found that simply loosening the velcros on the sleeves helps alot as does simply unzipping the main zip a little if you get hot. I have only worn it in the winter so far so maybe I will update this in the spring.
I have the black/neon model, I liked the look of having a bright green stripe down the arm but in reality when your are actually riding it faces forward leaving only black at the sides.of your arms. There is a green patch by your hips though and also at your shoulder.
I fell on some ice on my second ride and it escaped unscathed which I was impressed with since it feels like fairly light material.
This is a nice multi purpose jacket which I would recomend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Chelmsford

All round great trail jacket

Posted24 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
By far the best jacket I've owned, lightweight, comfy to wear all day, waterproof & a great looking jacket
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Nice and comfortable but lacks arm pit zips

Posted29 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Nice jacket but unfortunately not enough ventilation
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large

Warm, dry, breathable - you get what you pay for

Posted25 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
There's no getting past the fact this jacket is expensive, but i've already worn it through rain, sleet and hail and felt cosy and dry at all times. It does fit slightly tight, but not as much as I expected even over a base layer and jersey - I initially ordered the XL and exchanged it instore for a L, I'm 6 feet and ~80kg.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Sheffield

Posted07 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I'm very hard to please, so wanting a waterproof jacket was going to tough.
Lets be honest now, I'm no racing snake but this jacket fits me well and you do forget that you are wearing it. Kept me bone dry even when mother nature tried to do her best. Worth every penny.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Posted27 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
A real quality jacket. Expensive but its the only one you will need. Been out in 2hrs of rain and stayed totally dry. Have not tried the hood and not sure i would use it unless fixing a puncture in the rain. My only criticism is some under arm zip vents would make this coat perfect as it does get hot. Would give it 9 out of 10
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Lakeside

Great for winter weather

Posted06 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have never bought Gore products before, so this was a first time experience. I wore the jacket during a very cold, windy evening walk and I felt very warm and comfortable. The bright colours and reflectors helped you to stand out in low light levels.
During a wet windy bike ride, the Gore TM lived up to it's mark. With only a base layer underneath, the jacket was lightweight and windproof/water resistant......Go GORE!
The only downside is that with Gore, you are paying premium price....but the money is well spent!
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality jacket.

Posted22 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Comfortable fit and the yellow and black which I have is highly visible for night riding.
Been caught out in the rain a few times and stayed nice and dry inside this jacket.
Overall a quality buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5

This product is really high quality

Posted05 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
This jacket has high quality written all over it.
The goretex membrane is great for waterproof.
On my 8 mile commute, it always managed to keep me dry during hard rain.
One thing I dislike, is that I don't find it much breathable.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great Jacket

Posted03 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Purchased this jacket a few weeks ago and I am very impressed by it; its light, folds down to fit in to a small bag. Looks great.
And works well to keep the rain out, dose very well to keep you warm.
Downside as one reviewer wrote, it would be great if it had some zips under the arms.
If you just going to work and back great, but if you are pushing a bit or late to work it can get a bit hot, and if you like me that start to get hot easy then you might find it a bit to warm, but over all a great buy.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Jacket

Posted01 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Bought for the Outer Hebrides trip. Would have been lost without it during several days of rain and 55mph wind. Life saver
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent all mountain jacket

Posted30 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, you get what you pay for.
Since buying this jacket I've been out in The Dark Peak several times & the jacket has proved it's worth.
I've ridden through sun, rain, hail & snow (all in one ride) and I found the jacket comfortable breathable and offered me protection from the elements.
You may find a cheaper jacket but you'll be pushed to find a better one, in my humble opinion...
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Light weight, good visibility features

Posted12 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
This is a stylish cycling jacket that has good high visibility features that is also acceptable to wear off the bike. It is light and comfortability and has very good breathe-ability, so you don't get so hot a sweaty inside after a hard ride.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Countdown Gore-Tex Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

COUNTDOWN GT GORETEX JACKET

Posted23 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, stow away hood, of pockets
Cons: Expensive, more neon would be excellent
I commute to work and found that when raining / changable I had to wear my rain gear with a fixed hood and as sure as night follows day it would be dry on the way home !!
I got sick of having to lug a bag of bike clothes/coats for every condition everytime it rained
I looked for ages and bought loads of coats to try and tick all the boxes sadly none of them did - there either a ton weight of are boil in the bag !!
I took the plunge and bought this for two reasons :-
1- it was goretex (packlite)
2- it had a stow away hood
The hood is a close fit & meant to go under your helmet and works spot on it does not block your view to the sides and doesnt turn the coat into a wind catcher - & can be rolled up and stowed in the collar with a zip to keep it in - this makes the collar sort of padded and makes it a close fit to keep wind out
The coat had 4 pockets chest / hip / rear so I tend to just fill them up & leave the backpack when its raining to save on wet gear lying about
Its fully meshed lined so its not clammy if just wearing a short sleeve
I normally take a medium ( 5'11 - 71kg - average build) - so ordered that size but felt it was a bit baggy when bent over in the bike position (Hybrid bike ) so bought the small which is a good fit and not bagging at the front when on the bike
There is no difference in the length of the jacket between the medium & small just in the body room - if your unsure probably best to order both sizes to try on or try on in store as its quite an expensive jacket so you want the right fit
The only things I feel let the coat down are lack of pit zips for a bit extra ventilation
And I wish they made it in all bright neon
Ive Emailed gore with these points - if they fit pit zips & make it fully neon then they really will have the BEST JACKET on the market
 
Products related to my review
 
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.