Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Jackets or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket

Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket

This jacket was awarded 5 stars by Cycling Plus Magazine.
Overall rating:
4.615 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 10 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Streamlined fit, if you are an ectomorph

PostedAugust 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Uncomfortable, no pockets
Well made and very light. But the fit is very close round the hips. There is no back pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Slightly Small
Large
Jackelad
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great jacket

PostedAugust 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This jacket will cover a number of situations, it comes with its own stuff sack and packs down small enough to be carried in a jersey pocket, but being Gore-tex is windproof and waterproof. I assume it will be warm enough with a couple of layers underneath for winter rides. Fit is on the smaller size, I'm usually medium in Gore but needed large. However, the fit is neat with no flapping material at speed. Highly recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
FlyingScot2000
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

Good for road cyclists

PostedMay 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Good fitting jacket which does seem to keep the rain out while not retaining condensation.
It should be longer in the front and have a pocket somewhere for at least a gel or an energy bar.
I would have preferred a colour way that is not partially tarmac coloured for reasons which seem to be lost on a lot of manufacturers and other cyclists.
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lda64
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Gore oxygen gt active rain

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: no pockets
Size wise I went for xl I'm 5.8 42" chest and fits me well , not to tight around the chest so can wear thermal top if needed . Arms are on the long side but this makes sense when you are stretched out on the drops of the handlebars . The length is spot on with the tail covering the rear of the saddle .the material is comfy and feels ok against bare skin .it is fully waterproof wind proof and has very good breathability ,folds up in its own little pack and fits into rear pocket of shirt when not needed . Only minor gripe is no pockets . Picked this up for £149 but would happily pay the full price as it is the only rain / wind jacket you will need
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
tateo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

This product has great features

PostedOctober 16, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
I recently had the chance to try this in a 40 minute downpour. It was 100% waterproof, yet breathable material and super lightweight.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlanG70
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect rainwear

PostedOctober 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The fit is great. It's very comfy and stretches with you. Kept me bone dry and looks great too.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Peteonabike
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Overall pleased with the jacket 7/10

PostedSeptember 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Sept 17 2013 Dartmoor Devon. The weather forecast was terrible continuous rain, a good day to test my new Gore Cycle jacket. I am 78kg 5' 10" with 40" chest the large is a perfect snug fit. Underneath the jacket I wore just my short sleeve jersey temp was approx. 8 to 12 deg blowing a gale. I rode for 40 miles in very wet conditions, the rain ran off the jacket nothing got through the high collar prevented any rain getting down my neck. After the ride my lower body was soaked under my jacket was fairly damp which I would expect in these conditions and sweating during the ride. It wraps up fairly small and will do into my jersey rear pocket, I got this for sportives and it will do the job.
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eastwood
Country:Switzerland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Waterproof Jacket

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not so compact
I have only had this jacket a few weeks but have found it excellent so far. I've been cycling in the mountains the last 2 weekends where it has been tested in various conditions. During very heavy rain on a long fast descent it maintained full watertightness. The cuffs are a nice fit and don't allow wind and rain to enter. The collar could be a little tighter for a better seal against the elements.
I also wore it on another descent in the dry but only 4°C temp with a lightweight jersey underneath. I felt no cold air penetrating the jacket, so I imagine in the winter it would perform well at lower temps with a warm base layer underneath. So far the breathability seems good as I didn't notice any undue sweating while wearing it.
The fit is tight and aerodynamic as advertised and gives minimal flapping. I ordered the XXL and it is a good fit for me with very long sleeves however the jacket is a tad short at the front, although the back is very long and adequately covers a jersey with full pockets underneath. As with most Gore products, looks great!
Only negatives for me is the lack of a rear pocket and also it is not as compact as I was expecting. When packed away it only just fits in to a jersey pocket and is approximately twice the size of my friends Gore windstopper jacket. It is quite expensive but with discounts from Evans was pretty good value to me.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
Turrdurr
Country:Republic of Ireland
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Terrible

PostedAugust 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Uncomfortable
I have this jacket a couple of months now and I've worn it in a couple of showers. It performed adequately for these showers.
The real test came yesterday on my 20k cycle to work. The heavens opened and it rained solidly for the duration of my cycle. I thought I'd be safe seeing as I was wearing a €200 Gore tex "waterproof" jacket. The jacket held on for about 5 or 6 k. After that the water started seeping thru the fabric and the cycle became very uncomfortable.
I'm extremely disappointed with 'Gore Tex'.
Do not buy this jacket,.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DJWC1981
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Expensive but real qualithy

PostedMay 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I have only had this jacket for a short while, but it has already started to repay the money spent on it. Yes this is an expensive purchase, but it is worth the money. It is extremely lightweight, totally waterproof and looks great.
My previous jacket was not fitted as this one is, and it makes such a difference. The material is very good quality too, and it feels like you are wearing a top quality well made jacket.
The only negative is that this jacket does not have any pockets, but I can look past that for everything that is great about it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RooRooRoo
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Wonderful product

PostedMay 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I brought this on the back of other reviews. I find it is always difficult to purchase clothing on line, but I had the option to return so I went for it. This jacket is so lightweight you don't even feel you're wearing it. However, when the rain and wind hits I was totally protected.
I recently did a couple of days road cycling around Exmoor and Dartmoor and needed to travel light. This was a lifesaver. It fitted in pocket sized bag (provided) and when worn kept the wind and rain out. I got the blue one and it looks superb.
It is expensive, but does a good job.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bankers65
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Wind proofing is excellent

PostedMarch 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've been cycling in this jacket in pretty cold windy conditions lately and found it to perform extremely well, its very light buts keeps you dry and warm and when not needed packs away easily into its pouch. The only downside is no rear pocket.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Oxygen Gore-Tex Active Shell Jacket
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CountOlaf
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Fantastic performance

PostedMarch 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, benchmark performance
Cons: Expensive
Sizing. I'm a 39 inch chest and size large fits me well. A close fit but with enough space to fit items in my jersey pocket.The arms are long but in heavy rain this proved a benefit. It fits very well around the neck and stops rain running down the back of your neck. I tried a size medium but it was just too tight around the chest. It's quite lightweight and comes supplied with a storage bag just small enough to fit in a rear pocket.
Performance: Fantastic. I first wore the jacket in very heavy rain for 3.5 hours. It was comfortable, breathed exceptionally well and I never once felt overly hot even when climbing. The long rear tail did a good job of keeping rear wheel spray away from my tights. I arrived home with every other item of clothing (shoes, socks, gloves, hat) soaking wet. However to my shock the Gore jacket had kept my torso bone dry! Not even a hint of condensation inside the jacket. Genuinely very impressive. It is without question, the best item of rain protection I've ever owned. It's just a shame it's not £30 less because at £170 it is expensive.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.