Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock

Hiplok Lite Chain Lock

Overall rating:
4.545 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
11 out of 11(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 1 Answer
Customer reviews for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Review 1 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stoof
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but Ingenious

PostedApril 21, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Hiplok is something that is so obvious, you wonder how no-one thought of it before. I bought this as an alternative to carrying a D-lock while commuting to work and back,
It's a good size, and the velcro adjustment covers a broad range of sizes, so there should be no worries there. Out of the box, it feels sturdy, well built and surprisingly heavy, but once around the waist that weight evaporates, and it barely registers. The lock seems tough and the chain hidden inside the webbed belt seems to be solid, though I don't know how much punishment it would withstand.
There are only a couple of negatives. If worn under a jacket or jersey, there will still be some exposed velcro around the rear of the belt which will catch on the material of your jacket or jersey, so it is best worn on the outside of any layers. Also, when securing the bike, there is only enough leeway to feed the lock through the rear wheel and seatpost tube, depending on what you're securing the bike to. But, given it's intended use, it would be hard to expect more.
Overall, it's a simple and convenient way of securing your bike for shorter periods of time in town or at work, a savior for commuters in particular. As far as I'm concerned, money well spent.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletdave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't Even notice you are wearing it

PostedFebruary 24, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable to wear the hiplok lite, You Don't Even notice you are wearing it. Quick and easy to put on and take off. The chain and lock look like it would put off an opportunist thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
trumpsy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good and solid lock but still comfortable to wear

PostedJanuary 27, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Before ordering I did have doubts if something that was comfortable around the waist would actually be chunky enough as a lock.
This lock seems just about right, chunky enough to act as a deterrent, and fend off a thief for a few minutes, ideal for low to medium risk areas. It is important to note that when worn around the waist the item is NOT locked, which is of course a good thing, and means it will fit people larger than the chain size, velcro is used to hold it nicely closed.
The length as a lock is quite short but enough I find for most uses, not really suitable for more than one bike or for threading through lots of parts. Fine for a single bike and wheels to a post.
I think (haven't tested) that the outer sheath can be removed and taken with you for example when it is raining or the bike is very muddy. After all, when you get back to your bike the last thing you want to do is put a soggy muddy fat belt around your waist !
If I had one suggested improvement it would be using one of those twisted link type chains or something to make it a bit flatter. Sitting down in a car seat (for example) with this on can dig into the hips or back. It would probably make it more expensive and I think this would no longer be a good option at a higher price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jakubg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Strong&Comfy

PostedJanuary 12, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Surprisingly comfortable to wear around my waist without having to fear it would fall off. It's so comfortable I don't even know I wear it.
Most importantly it keeps the bike safe as it's very well built. Strong chain but also covered well not only for comfort and look but for not scratching your bike frame!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cazzam75
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Fantastic idea

PostedDecember 14, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Am so tired of having to put d locks in my rucksack or having a coil lock that takes ages to unwind and rewind even the kryptonite loop needs a backpack or basket
Now I can go out for a ride and not spend hours getting out the lock or carrying on my back and can get to it easily and lock my bike to any post (d locks can be restrictive and don't go round all posts)
Also got 25% off so good value
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
Dan67
Country:United Kingdom

Light and comfortable

PostedAugust 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight
Cons: too short
The lock is light and comfortable when riding, it is a little short though so wrapping round large lamposts is a struggle. Feels pretty solid, bit of a pain when locking due to the velcro strap, gets in the way.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ashpro15

great product, very cool aswell

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
very usefull
looks cool
strong but not to heavy
only bad point is if it gets dirty or oily when on the bike its
going to ruin your clothes when wearing it !
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrstemoore
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great quality product

PostedJune 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very quick delivery of this lock. I'm very pleased with how secure it is and how simple it is to put on and take off. Feels comfy when wearing and riding and you hardly notice it. I've even used it when on some MTB trails. Overall a great lock, would recommend.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
derekw60
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

easy, secure and light weight

PostedJune 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This is the lighter version of the Hiplok and is quite comfortable to wear resting on your hips without interfering with your cycling action.
It attaches very quickly and the chain has enough length to secure the rear wheel and frame. It seems a very rugged construction but no rating is given. Good for a trip to the shops or cafe.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnRT99
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Innovation - Excellent Product

PostedMarch 8, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
For someone who likes to travel 'lightweight' on their own, there is always a problem with how to lock your bike up. Hiplok solves that problem. It looks smart; is a quality product and works really well.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
AndrewH
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Chunky and convenient

PostedMarch 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
Having read the reviews of the heavier Hiplok, I went for the lite version. I wanted a lock for use during short stops on leisure rides, so the lite seemed good enough to deter the opportunist thief. It is long enough to chain one wheel to the frame and a fence, but not both wheels. It is surprisingly comfortable to wear.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.