Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Locks & Security or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock

Hiplok Lite Chain Lock

Overall rating:
4.556 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(27 reviews) 27
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 27 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
27 out of 27Would you recommend this product to a friend?100%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 8 Answers
Customer reviews for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Review 1 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ricki76
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

This is a great product

Posted29 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
I bought this and the heavier more secure version as well for another bike. I much prefer the lite version. It takes a little time to get used to the locking mechanism, but with a little practice I am good with that now.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Asia
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Gender:Female
It was bought:Brighton

Great lock

Posted22 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
Love the idea to cycle with this lock around your waist. It's easy and light.
Secure locking too.
Would definitely recommend it.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
sjn23
It was bought:Online

Not for city use

Posted21 July 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
The concept of this product is great, as you can wear the lock when cycling, but it actually isn't very easy to use. The padlock falls off when the chain is removed, rather than being fixed on one side. The key is also a bit difficult to get in. It isn't ideal for city use, since it is a lower level of security than, say, a Kryptonite U-Lock. However, it is a great choice if you are looking for a light, wearable lock.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tim28
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Very convenient Lock

Posted29 June 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Cons: Heavy
I don't notice the lock at all while cycling with it around my waist. Much better than hanging a lock on the bike or the weight in a rucksack. Looks strong with good cover.
However, it is not very long, a balance of weight vs length of a thick chain. Also a bit fiddly to lock / unlock.
Overall, quality build, strong chain and a great design. Definite 5 stars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
PMPwright
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Lock for the price.

Posted14 April 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
This lock is the perfect for me as it is strong and easy to use and fits perfectly wrapped round the seat post.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Castleford

Did exactly what I expected

Posted26 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I wanted a fairly secure lock for my new bike, for when I ride alone and stop for refreshments. So it needed to be as light as possible but strong enough to deter opportunist thieves. And the Hiplock ticked all these boxes. I would have given it 5stars except that it was slightly heavier than I had expected, but I guess this is a small price to pay for security and excellent portasbility. Fully recommended.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
nicknametaken
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:York

Wife Loves It

Posted22 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Got this for my wife and she is really happy with it. Used it a couple of times and works really well. could do to be a couple of inches longer but then it wouldn't go round her waist so can't complain really.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
greenpigovian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

Comfortable and convenient to wear but solid

Posted28 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This lock is fantastic because it does not weigh down my bag or jangle on the bike but weight is spread across my body; I rarely notice it when riding but being a steel chain, I am reassured it will do a good job of securing my bike
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
brownjw
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Convinient

Posted26 August 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable
A great idea, I used to wear my last lock around my waste but due to it not being designed for this would often end up with black and blue bruised hips.
Comfortable and easy to take on and off this is perfect for those days I don't have a bag and avoids the bike frame being damaged from a swinging lock.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
calicocat
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Kingston

Love this lock!

Posted26 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I like the fact the lock doesn't have to be fitted to the bike. I have a step through style so D locks aren't suitable. You don't notice the weight once you are wearing it and the length is enough to lock back wheel, frame and helmet to a stand. If you are in a high risk area I'd recommend a secondary lock for the front wheel.
Delighted!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rendar
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Sturdy and tidy

Posted24 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is a good piece of Kit,
handy and of decent size for my folding bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hey4077
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Lightweight, Convenient, Medium-level security

Posted15 July 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I wanted a lock that would be light enough so as not be too much of a hindrance to carry with me, but would also provide a half decent level of security. I was recommended the HipLock in store as a lock that was pretty cool and easy to carry with you. As weight was important to me I chose the HipLock Lite.
While there there is a trade off between security and weight (the most secure locks are always going to be on the hefty side) I thing the HipLock Lite handles the balance nicely: light enough and comfortable so you can nearly forget you're wearing it, but still with a Sold Secure Bronze rating, -giving decent, medium level bike security. Plus it looks pretty rad.
I'm a big fan of this bike lock so far, I would definitely recommend it.
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bakewell
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Cardiff

unobtrusive to wear and a great lock all in one.

Posted22 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, robust, easy to use
Cons: a little short
I love this product. Its comfy to wear, easy to use and importantly is a good strong lock. It saves having to carry the lock in your bag or attached to your bike which is great for commuting to and from work as you dont have to padlock it to wear it so is quick to get on/off.
Cons
Its fairly short so you have to avoid locking bike to anything too bulky. And the sleeve could be more robust ( I am now on my 3rd lock as it has been changed under warranty as the stiching has come undone)
Having said that I will happily keep using the hiplok lite as the benefits outweigh the problems
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
saysauce

Looks good, secure, practical

Posted20 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Stylish and practical design. Has a Sold Secure rating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
isla
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

good light weight lock

Posted07 June 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I found this lock easy to use and light weigh. I can fit it around my front wheel the bike frame nearest to the wheel and standard bike stand. It seems quite secure for the places i leave my bike (work and the gym). I hardly notice the weight when i am riding.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
jonolinn
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good Commuter Lock

Posted28 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable
Cons: Heavy
A purchase forced upon me when I had forgotten my D lock. However, this design is great for city commuting and general weekend riding around town as you don't need to take up space in a backpack or on your frame. I find it quite comfortable to wear and barely notice the weight when riding (took it all the way from London to Paris - perhaps stupidly).
I am pleased with it and would recommend it.
However, I still carry a second lock with me in London - JIC.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stoof
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Simple but Ingenious

Posted21 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
The Hiplok is something that is so obvious, you wonder how no-one thought of it before. I bought this as an alternative to carrying a D-lock while commuting to work and back,
It's a good size, and the velcro adjustment covers a broad range of sizes, so there should be no worries there. Out of the box, it feels sturdy, well built and surprisingly heavy, but once around the waist that weight evaporates, and it barely registers. The lock seems tough and the chain hidden inside the webbed belt seems to be solid, though I don't know how much punishment it would withstand.
There are only a couple of negatives. If worn under a jacket or jersey, there will still be some exposed velcro around the rear of the belt which will catch on the material of your jacket or jersey, so it is best worn on the outside of any layers. Also, when securing the bike, there is only enough leeway to feed the lock through the rear wheel and seatpost tube, depending on what you're securing the bike to. But, given it's intended use, it would be hard to expect more.
Overall, it's a simple and convenient way of securing your bike for shorter periods of time in town or at work, a savior for commuters in particular. As far as I'm concerned, money well spent.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletdave
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Don't Even notice you are wearing it

Posted24 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Very comfortable to wear the hiplok lite, You Don't Even notice you are wearing it. Quick and easy to put on and take off. The chain and lock look like it would put off an opportunist thief.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
trumpsy
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male

Good and solid lock but still comfortable to wear

Posted27 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Before ordering I did have doubts if something that was comfortable around the waist would actually be chunky enough as a lock.
This lock seems just about right, chunky enough to act as a deterrent, and fend off a thief for a few minutes, ideal for low to medium risk areas. It is important to note that when worn around the waist the item is NOT locked, which is of course a good thing, and means it will fit people larger than the chain size, velcro is used to hold it nicely closed.
The length as a lock is quite short but enough I find for most uses, not really suitable for more than one bike or for threading through lots of parts. Fine for a single bike and wheels to a post.
I think (haven't tested) that the outer sheath can be removed and taken with you for example when it is raining or the bike is very muddy. After all, when you get back to your bike the last thing you want to do is put a soggy muddy fat belt around your waist !
If I had one suggested improvement it would be using one of those twisted link type chains or something to make it a bit flatter. Sitting down in a car seat (for example) with this on can dig into the hips or back. It would probably make it more expensive and I think this would no longer be a good option at a higher price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Hiplok Lite Chain Lock
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
jakubg
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:St Paul's

Strong&Comfy

Posted12 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Surprisingly comfortable to wear around my waist without having to fear it would fall off. It's so comfortable I don't even know I wear it.
Most importantly it keeps the bike safe as it's very well built. Strong chain but also covered well not only for comfort and look but for not scratching your bike frame!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>