Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike

Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike

Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
19
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
21 out of 21(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
20 Questions | 39 Answers
Customer reviews for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Review 1 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bigcol3405
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

PostedFebruary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I went to the store with 3 bikes in mind and came away with the Trek Madone which was not even on my list. It is perfect for me as I have been riding a 20 year old Specialize carbon fiber frame with the gear change levers on the frame.
The guys in the store were not trying to sell me the most expensive bike but took time to set me up and explained all the benefits of the Trek over the ones I had taken a fancy to.
Not been out as much as I had wanted to due to weather but once tat changes I cant wait to get going again
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Baldybloke25
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Great spec' and excellent value for money

PostedJanuary 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent bike and brilliant specification at this price point.
Ultegra & 105 gearing is very good and perfect for majority of riders, and Bontrager finishing kit is actually pretty good and comfortable.
Wheels , as some other reviews mentioned not the best (or tyres!) but easily upgradeable later on.
Really looking forward to some decent weather and start cracking in the miles on this bike as it really is a super piece of kit!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sboy78

Great bike

PostedDecember 27, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Ultegra and 105 components with a carbon frame, what more can you ask for at this price. Been out a few times now and the bike feels really good and responsive. Beats other bikes hands down that are in a higher price bracket, overall very pleased with my purchase should of done it a long time ago.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bowler1

Bargain Bike

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Managed to get this bike on sale reduced by over £500. Complete steal at that as it comes with full carbon and full ultegra gears.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gloverman83
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Canary Wharf

Great value for money carbon frame entry bike

PostedDecember 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
The components attaching to this carbon framed bike are excellent. It is a real pleasure switching through the gears as the 105 and ultegra components do their stuff.
The bike is responsive when power is applied and virtually rides itself.
Climbing hills is straightforward and you can maintain pace while still in the saddle.
Avoiding road hazards is made easier by good handling.
I would highly recommend this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
GenevaJames
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great components at good price

PostedNovember 28, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
I am a newcommer to Triathlon who wanted to purchase a new bike that would help inprove performance in 2014. I previously owned an entry level bike that was aluminium. This bike caught my eye due to the ultegra components and the fact that Trek is a strong brand. I did a lot of research on line to see what others thought and I only found good reviews. There were some comments about the wheels but as I am stepping up from an entry level bike I can't really comment on them since they are betterthan my previous bikes wheels. The price at which evans cycles were selling the bike was also a major plus factor. I was able to try out 2 sizes of the bike before I made my purchase. I have taken it out for a few spins (approx 100km) and I am very pleased with it. For the price it is difficult to fault this bike.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will1984
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Bristol

Fantastic bike and a bargain in the sale

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: heavy wheels
I bought this bike as an upgrade to the 2013 Madone 2.1 that I bought back in March. I upgraded because I loved the 2.1 so much and at sale price the 3.5 is a pretty good deal. Full ultegra groupset and the wide bottom bracket means you get excellent power transfer and extremely smooth shifting. It's not the lightest carbon frame at this price point but it's more than likely the best ride. This is reflected by the fact that it got a rare 5 star review on bike radar. The mudguard mounts are really handy for commuting through winter and I have to say it looks much better in real life than it does in pictures on the website. I wasn't 100% sure at first but when I saw it.... I knew. My only negative would be that the wheelset is pretty heavy for the price you pay although they are sturdy and reliable.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mike62
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Great so far

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I have not been out on my new bike a lot as I bought it quite recently and have had other commitments, but have ridden 50+ miles and find it great - smooth gears and comfortable to ride once seat adjusted correctly.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonty29
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

PostedSeptember 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Brought this bike to replace my Cannondale. It is great looking with Shimano Ultegra STI levers and chain set the gear changes are smooth and quick. My only grip on this is when changing down to the small ring on the front it is to sharp and has thrown the chain off a couple of times. The bike itself is smooth and fast and with the rear cassette being a 11T to 28T gives you that bit extra for steeper hills with the 28Tand the 11T that little extra on the flat and downhill's. Compared to my Cannondale this is a more comfy and smooth ride not as aggressive as the CAAD9 and does not have the acceleration of the Cannondale but when you get it upto speed you can maintain it easier. I hope Evans can sort out my problem with the chain flying off when I get my free service and I'll be well made up. Recommend this bike at 1.5K is great value.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
hackneybloke
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Rathbone Place

why didn't i do this sooner?

PostedSeptember 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
i've been riding a marin mill valley hybrid for the last ten years thinking it was a fast bike. i then i started cycling with a guy who already had upgraded to a carbon fibre road bike. i couldn't understand why he was coasting up the hills while i was having to power up them raised out of the saddle. finally i demanded we swap so i could find out whether it was me or the bike. wow.....what a revelation.
so, when i got home i launched into buy-mode and found the trek madone advertised online at a 'reduced' price. i then called a cycle expert friend who said it looked like an excellent deal. he got me to check a few things before i bought, but it all stacked up and so out came the debit card.
as soon as i got on it i was transported into speed-heaven. keeping up with my cycle buddy is effortless now. the bike is very fast, ultra responsive and soaks up the bumps without any shudder or jarring. the riding position seems perfect and the saddle hasn't caused me any ache or chafing. what i was most pleased with was the sensation of peace as i shifted through the gears....although some of the higher gears are now making chain/spacer/derailleur noise....which presumably will be fixed when i take it in for its first service. i hope this is the case....or i will be disappointed.....we shall see.
i'm rating this bike 5 stars because i have nothing to compare.....except for my marin hybrid. i'm just kicking myself i didn't buy a bike like this before. I'm 51 and ride a lot....and now i'm going to ride a whole lot more.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
RichF
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Love it, very pleased

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Managed to sneak it in the house....but got caught....a few lame excuses later it made it to its new dedicated position in the shed......unfortunately I promised the 1 in 1 out policy, but 6 bikes is about right IMO....
Okay the bike, I put some Shimano 105 pedals, fiddled with the set up a bit, and went out for a spin, the steering felt crispy and instantaneous. When you stand and power up it flies, I can really feel the power difference as compared to my old Allez Specialized.
Uphill is never a easy task for a fat geezer but the bike felt nippy, and so did I, easily getting multiple PBs up my normal hilly route. Very pleased.
Braking is fantastic I cannot believe they aren't disc brakes their efficiency
is fantastic, no bedding in required.
Over the less than fantastic surfaces in and around Portsmouth the bike seems to purr, I honestly didn't think the old bike was harsh but this frame dampens out a lot of the road.
I'll cycle these wheels all winter and spoil myself in the spring with a set of posh hand built wheels......I'll have to sneak them in when the love of my life is at Pilates...she'll never catch me....
On my second ride I did have a weired click noise from the BB or could of been the right pedal, but couldn't hone in where it was coming from, after an hour it disappeared.
Ill fit mud guards when this glorious summer ends, but I love the bike.
If you see a slightly less overweight, bald bloke(with helmet) with a mental grin on his face sat on this 3.5C Trek in and around Pompey...that will be me.
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JK999
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

Great bike for the money

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, top spec!!!
I have had mine for four days having upgraded from a Trek 1.5. The 3.5 is an outstanding bike for the money with a mix of Ultegra and 105 kit. I absolutely love this bike. It is however testament to how good the 1.5 was that the difference between the two is not necessarily massive but enough to justify the extra money. The 105 brakes are superb and the Ultegra shifters and rear mech add a very precise gear change. The bike is very light (about 7.5 KG I read) and looks great (even better in real life that the pictures on the Evans Site). The saddle and ride are comfortable but i have not yet been on a long ride to truly test it.
I read some criticism about the Shimano Press Fit bottom bracket but having now ridden it i can dismiss that criticism. It's very smooth and the power transfer feels very direct.
My advice.....buy this bike before they all go....there is not better for the money.
Thanks to Chris at MK for all your help.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frizzer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Just brilliant

PostedAugust 29, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, excellent value at the sale price
Cons: none that i can think of
After much deliberation I had decided that I didn't "need" a carbon frame so had set my heart on getting a Bianchi Impulso and had booked one out for a test ride. Feeling a bit underwhelmed the guys at Gatwick suggested trying a few other models so I then gave a carbon Fuji Granfondo a try and was impressed. I was just about to go for that when I spotted the Madone 3.5 tucked away at the side with a reduced sticker on it. I decided I may as well give that a try as well and was amazed at how well it accelerated and handled so that was the one for me!
I love riding this thing, it's quick, comfortable and light. I perversely quite enjoy climbing hills and this thing is just excellent, getting me up there faster and with less effort. On the way back down again it's nice and stable and inspires confidence. The brakes also do a good job of keeping it from getting away from you being easy to modulate and powerful enough for my needs. Apart from dropping the bars slightly I haven't had to change anything on it as it all works together nicely. Even the supplied saddle is comfortable which is a nice bonus.
I'm doing the Brighton 2 Brighton Sportive classic route next month and have every confidence that this will get me round the 103 miles with no dramas whatsoever!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
drewpri
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Best bike ever!

PostedAugust 25, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
After riding aluminium frame for a year, i decided it was time to upgrade to carbon frame. After reasearch, it was a difficult choice between Trek Madone 3.5 and Specialized Roubaix. After i had test ride on both, this bike is just perfect! All the components on the bike are definitely worth what I paid for. The bike is so stiff and climbing the hill is not a problem for me anymore! I can't recommend this bike enough but this is the one to go for!
-2points
1of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
John1658
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Edinburgh

Outstanding value and performance

PostedAugust 24, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: fastners
With my previous bike being a 20 something year old Trek 2100 (which is still going strong) I was unsure what differences I would notice riding a modern full carbon frame bike.
First impressions were fantastic and with each ride I like it more. My average speed has increased and being 45 I no longer have to turn myself inside out to keep pace with my cycle buddy :)
The bike feels light and very nimble, it also steers sharply which has given me better confidence when descending the many twisty hills to be found in Scotland!
The controls, brakes are and gear changes feel effortless, all components being Ultergra with the exception of both brake calipers, front derailleur and rear cassette which are 105. This, I believe, is amazing value for money at the Evans discounted price of £1500!
I have owned the bike for less than 1 month and have already covered several hundred miles and will soon be riding the Bealach Mor in Septembet 2013, now with improved confidence as I have previously attempted this route on the old Trek 2100 with some difficulty.
The only changes I would like to make will be to shorten the span on the controls and drop the bars slightly to suit my preference, apart from that the bike has exceeded my expectations and if there is anyone in a similar position who is unsure whether they should trade up I would encourage them to do so and they won't be dissapointed with the Madone 3.5.
It's worth noting though that I've noticed that the fastners on the bike are prone to surface rust following washing which is a bit dissapointing so I now ensure the bike is suitably dried and protected following any cleaning.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ali10
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Female
It was bought:West End

Loving the bike

PostedAugust 18, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm new to road biking so can't compare it with anything other than the other bikes Evans had in that I tried. It felt really responsive and reliable. Am enjoying riding it - just got in from a 15 mile ride - slightly sore bum and shoulders and I'm dog slow compared to everyone else in Richmond park - but thats me , not the bike - I'm def in the all the gear and no idea class at the mo. Hopefully in a couple of months.........
The main thing is that I do want to get out on it and I'm enjoying being out on it. It terrifies me on the down hills - I'm breaking from the top of the steep bit - on my old mountain bike I was pedalling all the way - but I'm sure I'll get used to going that much faster.
BTW i'm female and not a youngster, but have a relatively long back and short legs and I think it fits me fine.
If youre thinking about it I'd def say get them to get one in for you to try
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Silas

Wicked Machine!!

PostedAugust 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Had my eye on this beauty for a while,finally took the plunge.
Had the bike a few weeks now and cant leave it alone a real pleasure to ride!!
If your considering carbon,BUY THIS BIKE!!
You won't be disappointed!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Under 18
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Beautiful Bike

PostedApril 23, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great, fast
Cons: stock wheels
I have had this bike for just under a week and it flies. So comfortable to ride but it is so strong and powerful. The bike is vastly improved by getting better wheels but from stock it is still stunning.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
colin2177
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

Light responsive ride

PostedMarch 12, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Having decided that it was time to upgrade my road bike I settled on the trek madone 3.5. I chose this mainly because of the ultegra gearing and the high grade carbon frame. I had a test ride which consisted of a few laps around the car park and loved it!!
On my first long haul I found the trek to be a lot lighter than my old bike, it feels like every turn of the pedals the bike leaps forward wanting to go faster and faster. The first serious climb was dispatched without any of the handlebar chewing that used to be my climbing style so got to be happy with that. My only gripe, and I'm being very picky here, is the wheels, I find that when I'm out the saddle they feel "bendy" I'm sure that they're supposed to feel like this I'm just not used to it.
All in all I'm over the moon with my purchase, its comfortable when doing long rides and very responsive on the short blasts.
I would like to give a shout out to the staff at the Evans shop near the metro centre Newcastle as they were excellent
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Trek Madone 3.5 C H2 2013 Road bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tefty
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Milton Keynes

What a bike!

PostedAugust 22, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Have been an avid cyclist for years both on-road and spinning in the gym.
Having put up with an aluminium job for 8+ years the olympics spured me into making a leap into a proper full on road bike and all i can say about this bike is WOW!
Having done a lot of research on the internet through different reviews etc... I finally decided the Madone 3.5 would be my poison and by heck it is!
I have had the bike for 3 weeks now and done over 400 miles already. The build quality by Evans was second to none and the parts used for this bike are clearly worth the money once you hit the road.
Having partnered this with a Gamin Edge 500 and a Strava account I now find myself competing with other riders in the area for timings and this baby does not let me down.
Have already broken 3 KOM's by local team members, their not too happy! :o)
The bike is light as a feather and can be picked up by 1 finger and the look is superb, I actually enjoy cleaning my bike now and showing her off! I called her Abi.
Bottom line - If you want a lightweight bike thats going to give you bang for buck this is the pony! Don't erm and ahh like I did for a good few weeks trauling through reviews, just pop on in and get a test ride.
Best purchase of the year for me so far.
+15points
18of 21voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>