Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike

Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike

Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
18 Questions | 22 Answers
Customer reviews for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Review 1 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lump
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gateshead

1st road bike and I love it!

PostedJanuary 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I've spent years on a mountain bike but hitting 40 has turned me to the dark side. This bike is a joy to ride. Couldn't believe how fast it felt. Thanks to the metro centre staff for some great service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Smurf08
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Birmingham

Great First Road Bike

PostedJanuary 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
I got this bike through the Cycle to Work scheme and I must say I'm absolutely delighted with it.
My goal this year is to increase my weekend ride distance from around 20 miles to 50 or 60 miles. The Trek 1,5 is a great ride and I've already been on a couple of rather wet 30 mile rides, The difference compared with my previous hybrid bike is really noticeable. It's much lighter and faster and certainly easier on my knees.
I must also mention the staff at Evans for their professional and helpful service.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jacko79
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kendal

Excellent bike for the price

PostedJanuary 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Bought this bike in October after years riding first a Giant Hybrid, then a Boardman Hybrid. Felt it was time to go for a full roady! Very pleased with purchase. I was looking for something under the £1000 mark and the trek won over the Bianchi (just). Looks beautiful, comfortable, good spec. Havent notched up the amount of miles i would have wanted due to the attrocious weather, but have probably done nearly 700-800 miles and only problem i have had is one rear puncture on the standard bonetrager tyres that come on bike.
The only reasons i have not given it five stars are; there is no weight listed for the bike and to me it feels little on the heavyside (or maybe just not as light as i thought it would be); and secondly it doesnt come with clip in pedals which i changed immediately. But overall cracking bike thus far.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bythesea
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

Happy!!

PostedDecember 4, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
First road bike having upgraded from a hybrid - difference is significant and there's no looking back!!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
lowbrookes
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crouch End

Great bike at this discounted price point

PostedNovember 10, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value
The current offer on this 2013 bike at £630 makes it by far the best buy with the Trek frame and forks and the Tiagra components. Get these quickly while they are available as the 2014 model virtually the same will be £895.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Will1989
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Wimbledon

Great looking & Great ride

PostedOctober 21, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Although this is my first road bike, I have to say I do not believe I could have picked a better bike. After hearing what other people/friends have said about it and the compliments they have made, I am extremely happy. A great looking bike and very light. It handles extremely well and provides a comfortable smooth ride.
It does everything I could ask of it and all at such a reasonable price in comparison to its competitors.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
pdm33
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Awesome!

PostedSeptember 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
A joy to ride. I wanted a good quality entry level bike and I certainly have that. Comfortable, fast and looks good. Super service and a special thanks to Isabella who was knowledgeable, friendly and very professional. 10/10 all round!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
IanB1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Kingston

Good product at price point

PostedSeptember 2, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Bought this for my son who needed a bigger and faster bike. The looks immediately stood out when browsing for the bike as the quality of the frame, paint job and welds made it stand out.
It's also well spec'd for the price.
Ride quality is good, swift and taut.
Early days in terms of how durable the components and wheels are.
One minor niggle was that the toeclips came loose after about 50 miles though that's more a workshop issue and shouldn't impact choice of bike.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrJohnnyP
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Crawley

Great simple bike

PostedAugust 13, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
This bike was bought for use in triathlons and general leisure rides. It's very comfortable and has the potential to be upgraded.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
downhillonly
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Comfortable, light weight

PostedAugust 5, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
As a mountain biker I was looking for something comfortable (although as the salesman said, road bikes aren't designed to be comfortable)! The Trek has a comfortable riding position (recommend inverting the stem) and is light weight. Would buy this over a low end carbon. Tiagra much better and smoother than Sora on other bikes. Cassette spec gives relatively low gearing so again good for the leisure rider. Didn't try the triple but maybe that would given even lower gearing for those who were brought up on MTB's. Definitely recommend for a combination of position, comfort and components.
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Danny2266
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Brighton

great bike!

PostedMay 30, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
I am 6' 7" tall and I have bought a 64cm frame size and it feels like a custom build for my size, very smooth to ride and comfy. I did my first ride on this bike and covered 55 miles with relative ease just making a few adjustments to the seat and bars on the way to make it right for me.
The frame feels nice and stiff when pushing hard up the hills and just as good coming down!
If your looking for a good valued affordable bike then get this one!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Length
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cardiff

Great bike for the price .

PostedMay 17, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
being 6 ft 7 inches tall I was limited to the types of make and model of bike which was suited to me and my needs and also in my price range . I am very , very pleased with my trek . My frame size is 64 cm . It looks great and is perfect for my needs and use . It is my first road bike , having always ridden mountain bikes and also currently having a hybrid . The first time I rode my trek I found a massive difference . It's a great ride . It flies up hills , smooth gear changes and good response . I also had the stem adjusted higher to suit my riding style . It's a great bike for someone who is just starting out . The staff in the Cardiff branch were excellent and did all they could and more to help . I'm looking forward to more rides on my trek !!!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TedS
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

Tremendous first road bike!

PostedMay 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
After much deliberation, reading of reviews, and advice from Evans staff, I plumped for the Trek 1.5 Compact as my first foray into road cycling. I'm new to this game and looking to increase my fitness, lose some weight, and have fun.
The Trek has proven in the past 5 days since purchase to be an outstanding machine. It is 50% of the weight of my MTB so obviously feels very light to me though a much harsher ride than my full suspension MTB. On the road it is assured, slick gear changes through the Tiagra kit and it looks "the dog's"!
For the 'sportive' style of cycling I'll be doing it is well kitted out, has a comfortable position, and also has the advantage of being able to take a rack and mud guards for the winter months.
I have no hesitation in recommending the Trek 1.5 C 2013 to anyone new to or at intermediate level in the sport.
+6points
8of 10voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
BAZ32
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Don't know

Great bike - slightly bumpy ride

PostedJanuary 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great, quick
Cons: slighly bumpy ride
After communting from Greenwich into central London (over 20 miles a day there and back) for over 10 years on a hybrid bike - I decided to upgrade to a proper road bike so went for the TREK 1.5 after reading good reviews online.
In general I love the bike and it's got me re-excited about cycling again - certainly it's quicker off the mark than my old hybrid and less effort as the miles clock-up. However the new riding position did take some getting used to and you certainly notice the potholes and lumps and bumps on the road - although as this is my first proper roadbike this may be fairly typical of thinner wheels etc.
Would highly recommend - especially as i got it on the Bike to work scheme so it worked out a fair bit cheaper.
Happy, safe cycling!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Trek 1.5 C H2 2013 Road Bike
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
JaseCD
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Amazing Value

PostedNovember 21, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
Please note this review is for the 2012 model.
This is my first proper road bike and it puts a smile on my face every time I ride it. I've done about 1200 miles on this in 3 months and I've gone from riding a mountain bike once a week to riding this every day.
I think the bike is excellent value for money being well specced and relatively lightweight. It handles well and is comfortable enough for 100 mile rides. It is also very stable at speed and I am confident riding it in all conditions.
Thoroughly recommended.
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.