Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light

Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light

Overall rating:
4.737 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 19
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
19 out of 19(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
5 Questions | 18 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Riverdweller
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really bright.

Posted08 October 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, bright light
This is a really bright LED light, which does produce more than enough light for full vision when riding at any speed in complete darkness. The lower power setting is still bright enough for road riding in most night conditions, and lasts for 4 hours or so on one charge. It is light in weight and charges very simply using a USB socket on a computer, or USB charger. Solid build quality.
The bracket is secure and easy to fit. Also easy to remove to swap to another bike. The light is held securely with no rattle or vibration.
Great product, I can't find anything to criticise about it.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sickofthesnow
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright +

Posted31 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight, Looks great
Really fantastic product - used for long commute. Really bright and the pulse function is perfect for getting drivers attention.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CoolCatLuvva
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

BRIGHT!

Posted24 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Heavy, Expensive
I agonised for ages over bike lights. I saw something about these on the internet along with a photo of them in use. That more or less made my mind up for me. On charging them up I was looking forward to it getting dark to try them out (I bought 2). What a shock I got when I turned them on!! Bright was not the word, they were lighting everything up for metres ahead of me. All the reflective street signs for over a hundred metres ahead were all illuminated as well as a good swathe of the road ahead. I could see every pothole and bump. Part of my route takes me through an unlit section of park with overhanging branches, it was just great to be able to see all the hazards coming up without having to sacrifice my speed. I really like the spread of light you get with these, both toward the road and to the sides and upwards too. The only downsides would be the price and the burn rate, perhaps an improvement in the battery specification could fix that. You still get about 2 hours on the highest setting, so it's not that bad. Some might find them a touch heavy, worth considering if you opted to wear them on a helmet. All in all well built, does the job admirably and they are VERY bright.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
MTB30
Country:Cyprus
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted13 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
This is a really bright LED light!!! Solid build quality. The perfect bicycle light for cycling during night even in pitch black conditions.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Essexboy53
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product,

Posted08 September 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Purcahsed this to use on a 24 hour relay event round a (dark) motor racing circuit. The light is heavier than my current model but packs a much better punch.
The bright setting is very bright and was good enough to light the way and bright enough to raise comments from the marshals about 'dazzling' them.
Not sure about run-time yet as I was charging it up in between relay legs.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
MVAL83
Country:Spain
Style:Commuting
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good buy

Posted01 April 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
The light has a solid look. Lighting is more than enough for my daily comute.
I haven't tried it in full darkness, but on very poorly lit road it deliveries a lot of light.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
SantanaMan
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great Flood Light!

Posted19 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
This light brightly illuminates the road and surrounding verges and hedges ahead - way into the distance. The bracket is easy to transfer on and off the bars. Good value for money and considrably brighter than my previous 250 lumen light so a worthy upgrade to 750.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rogergcm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good quality light

Posted06 February 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
A good quality light and the battery lasts a long time.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
DesignateTurian
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 January 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, great construction
Cons: handle bar grip could be better
My wife and I recently moved from central Cardiff to Caerphilly prompting a change from well lit road cycling to the dark NCN 8. I needed a light that, while powerful, didn't break the bank. The Cateye Nano Shot Plus ticked all the boxes.
When the product arrived I was surprised at how heavy the unit was. It made me realise that my surprise was based on having only known basic road lights which made me appreciate how solidly built it is, after all, it was made for mountain bikes which see more action than I will.
The functional button is simple to use, even when wearing heavy winter Endura gloves and the indicator lights make sense, Green "i'm ok", Yellow "i'm running low", Red "charge me immediately!".
I noted that other reviewers had concerns about the short USB charging cable. This can be simply fixed with a cheap cable from an alternative online retailer. However, it is important to note that unless you have USB 2.0 or higher, expect it to take longer than the implied 8hrs to charge. Alternatively, buy a USB wall plug and charge from there.
The only change I would make would be to the handlebar mount. I have had experience in the past where the ratchet has unscrewed mid-ride and fallen off, something which I hope to avoid.
Apart from that the Cateye Nano Shot Plus is a really great light. Hopefully it will continue to be so for a long time to come!
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gromit
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Its bright

Posted29 October 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Wow. going from a 300 lume to 600 lume light is amazing. Spread across the road is brilliant and the beam is bright enough to cut through dipped oncoming car headlights. The flashing mode is brilliant as there is a constant light on the road as well as a very bright flash. Well priced at full price but any discount is a bonus. Only down side is it does not come with a three pin plug in charger just the USB lead. So if you don't have one from another devise you will need one or fire up the PC.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
LozzaUK
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Certainly gets you noticed

Posted06 April 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Cons: size, charge time
I use this light for commuting in and out of London and using the flashing setting you notice that drivers and pedestrians awareness of you is heightened. Not only is it very bright but the flash is almost as striking as a police light. Just the effect I wanted.
I see having a good quality light is as important as wearing a helmet.
Even when used during daytime, if I'm cycling past traffic, drivers notice me early and some even re-position their cars to be more accommodating.
On the main-beam (brightest) setting it is very bright and it illuminates as well as a car light on pitch black roads. It is very bright.
Charge time is quite long and the unit is quite large but these cons are far outweighed by the performance of this light.
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Europa5
Country:Australia
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted08 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Compact, sturdy and reasonable weight. Very bright and more than adequate even with photochromatic red lenses on. Burn times suitable for commutes and morning training rides starting in darkness. Good central brightness throw and enough width. Should be perfect for alpine road tunnels in July.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Harvster0000

Good commuting light

Posted01 March 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
Cons: Unattractive
Bought this light after reviewing many site reviews including MTb review light shoot out etc. seems to be a good light for the $$, 600 lumens, strong generic cateye mount which useful if you have other cateye flashers. Not totally convinced about the hyper flash mode, would prefer a longer run time normal flash mode for transition day to evening rides, rather than the hyper flash mode. You could spend more for the exposure Diablo 4 , which is 1000 lumens, but you should weight up the additional cost for it, probably not worth it for most uses.
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Talldog
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Really Great Light

Posted20 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I read a lot of reviews of this light and it lives up to them. The only slight downside is the relatively short battery life, but I Knew this and its not a problem for me. Its really bright and fixes well to handlebars.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruddles
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Bright and easy to fit

Posted20 January 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
Really good light. Cycle home involved a couple of miles of unlit country road. The light makes so much difference to previous disposable batter powered one. Can see a lot further and clearer. Less danger of running into the runner that insist on wearing all black and using the cycle path.
Fingers crossed it lasts a long time!
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
StephenEssex1
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

EXCEPTIONALLY BRIGHT

Posted09 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, effective
Cons: needs charging often
My commute includes unlit roads with lots of traffic and my previous Cateye (EL530) was good but not quite bright enough. I liked the idea of a rechargeable light although the one downside is that it needs charging a lot so alternative lighting is a must just in case. Not cheap, but still lots less than you can pay for lights and I am very pleased with it.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mayflower
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted07 December 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable
This was the first time I have completed an off road night ride and this light certainly showed me the way. I would have no hesitation in recommending this product to any one who is looking for a powerful headlight for £100. Excellent
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
dstoreuk
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent Product

Posted09 November 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Easy to fit, Battery lasts well, Very Bright. Tend to have it on lower setting so that you can use the flashing light feature and keep beam on constant at same time, but it's still very bright. If I were on unlit roads I think the high beam would be excellent, but as it is, even on low level, cars and pedestrians seem much more aware of my approach with super bright flashing feature.
Would never normally spend this much on a light but am very happy with this purchase.
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Cateye Nano Shot Plus Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Markph0305
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Beginner
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

A good light

Posted24 September 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: Expensive
Bought this as my first ever headlight since the nights were drawing in and I didn't want that to stop me cycling in the evenings!
It's smaller and lighter than you'd think about the size and weight of a pack of playing cards, it puts out a good light even on the low setting - which is fine where there are streetlights, and on the high setting provides a good amount of light provided you aren't going really fast, allowed me to cycle down read which otherwise would be completely dark.
It doesn't come with a charger plug, just a cable, so you'll need a USB plug, and a point away as it charges via MiniUSB rather than the standard MicroUSB
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.