Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Lights or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light

Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light

Overall rating:
4.308 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
12 out of 13(92%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
1 Question | 2 Answers
Customer reviews for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Review 1 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trueblueracer
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Excellent light versatile fitting

PostedJuly 7, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
The light is excellent value for money, easy to fit and provides very good control of the settings.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tanketytank
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Preston

Good Light

PostedJune 4, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight
Good light, quality product. Good width of beam across road
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Fairysarah969
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Easy, efficient and great price

PostedMay 22, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
The light was easy to install, has a good choice of settings, is easy to remove for storage and I feel much safer having this light meaning I can see and be seen by other road users.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
CrothsCycle
Country:United Kingdom
Age:18-24
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Wimbledon

Bright and Easy to attach

PostedMay 9, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
This Cateye is great, its bright, easily to fit to the bike and easy to clip on and off after a cycle. Even though the front light should be a beam this LED works just as well.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ab001
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Victoria

A good headlight for the price

PostedApril 1, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: design flaws
This is a relatively inexpensive offering from Cateye, so I wasn't expecting perfection. To begin with the good: it's light-weight, it only requires one AAA cell, it requires no tools at all to fit, and on static mode it has a bright beam that is close to being able to illuminate the road in front of you when cycling (but not completely).
In my view, there are two kinds of bike light. The most important kind, for safety and legal compliance, are those that let you be seen by other road users. The other kind is the super-bright static light that lights up the way ahead helping you to avoid obstacles in unlit areas. I live in London, so the latter kind isn't so often called for.
This light is a hybrid of the two. It is mostly to let you be seen, but on static mode comes close to the second kind of light.
There are two drawbacks to this light: 1) one of the three modes is basically a strobe, and whilst I am sure it is not quite fast enough to trigger a seizure (15-70Hz), it is certainly going to be deeply distracting to other road users, and not necessarily in an 'I'M HERE, WATCH OUT' way. I won't use this function, unless maybe I throw a disco.
The second drawback is that mounting mechanism. My handlebars were too thick-gauge to use the thick rubber hunk that came with it, so I had to mount straight onto the bars. And it quite frequently slips/ spins round the bar. There is a limit to how much you can tighten the thumb screw before it skips, so this problem can't be solved with what came in the box. I will eventually put some old inner tube strips between the bars and the bracket, but considering the cheapest bike lights on the market are usually shipped with some strips of rubber, I am disappointed Cateye didn't include this.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mouse07
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Spitalfields

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Great light just what's need to be seen on the roads, easy to turn on and change settings.
Would not work as main light if there are no street lights some light to see by but not a great deal.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Londonroaduser
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

Great product

PostedJanuary 25, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
From the first time i turned the product on I was happy. Great visibility and easy to fit on the bike with its small size and lightweight build.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
3 / 5
3 / 5
joeob
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Cheltenham

Light 'em up

PostedSeptember 3, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
This is a great little safety light for the front of your bike... and not too expensive either.
On really dark roads and rides you'll need some proper headlines, but for spring\summer commutes this really makes you stand-out. All 3 modes are extremely bright.
Fits to the bike in seconds, comes with a handy little mask to make sure you're not blinded by your own light.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bikerbrady
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Spot on for commuting

PostedFebruary 22, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
I have two of these fitted to the front of my bike, not bright enough to use alone ( I have a hope vision r4 for that) and set in flashing mode are very very bright and most certainly make motorists very aware of you! I have the red version fitted to the rear and they are just as good :-)
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
2 / 5
2 / 5
AngusG

Small and light but...

PostedJanuary 16, 2013
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight
Cons: not legal as main light
Very easy to attach, but flashing mode is too fast to be legal which largely defeats the purpose (well, it did for me). I didn't see that specified before I bought it. Single steady beam is good enough on not tooooo dimly lit roads, but limits your speed.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
ashmoreland
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Leeds City Centre

very good front light

PostedJanuary 1, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality
designed by someone who knows what you want from a front light. easy to set up. excellent visibility. flash mode gets you noticed. easy to turn on and diffent modes. only negative is the glare cover when on flash mode is not 100% which is a bit irritating.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
sirhc7
Country:United Kingdom
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Attention getter

PostedNovember 27, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Won't turn on in your bag, one AA battery, bright and with an asynchronous flash that really gets you noticed.
As with the rear light, from the moment I first used it, I could see, feel and hear that drivers reacted differently to me - slowed down much more and gave me MUCH more space.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Cateye Rapid 3 LED Front Light
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
HFS86
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Rapid 3

PostedOctober 30, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
This is the front version of the rapid 3 rear which I also possess and is the same size and weight.
The light comes with a quick mount bracket and shade sticker. This light is excellent for being seen in general but I think extremely beneficial at junctions particularly in rapid flash mode.
I re-iterate this is a better be-seen light but in constant mode you can see but not as far ahead (as a Smart Lunar 35); It produces a diffused beam.
The light can be fitted into the bracket either lengthway or widthway.
The shade sticker can be placed on the light to prevent it from distracting you as you cycle along. Can fir on either the quill stem or any diameter handlebar.
Being a Cateye, good quality and longevity are expected.
 
Products related to my review
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.