Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes

Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes

Windstopper products give you the freedom to be your best and enjoy your active cycling. They keep you comfortable, warm and protected across a wide range of weather conditions and cycling activities. You can focus on your experience without the distraction of being cold, damp or overheated.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
12
4 Stars
11
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
23 out of 24Would you recommend this product to a friend?96%reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
6 Questions | 11 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Reading

Neat fit, easy to put on and take off

Posted16 February 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, Looks great
These fit well over shoes with MTB-type SPD cleats, with plenty of clearance for the cleats. The zip fastener makes them easy to put on and take off, even when wearing gloves! Worn over shoes with mesh inserts (Sidi Bullet) in 5-6 C with fairly strong winds my feet were still rather cold, but at least not painful (and indeed, keeping my feet warm in winter is probably a lost cause!).
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
1 / 5
1 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Glasgow

not up to usual gore quality

Posted05 February 2016
No, I do not recommend this product.
Pros: no pros
Cons: only cons
Size up small compared to other gore overshoes i've had in the past, the fit is also terrible on bont shoes as they don't follow the shape of my shoes at the toebox.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:East Dulwich

Good quality and fit

Posted17 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable, Good quality
These look well made, they are easy to get on and remove, and the softshell type material looks more durable than neoprene. Only worn a few times and warm and dry so far but I have not worn in very cold or very wet weather yet. In my opinion no overshoes are 100% waterproof because water gets in the top.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Posted16 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
I bought these because I suffer from cold feet, out today on the trails it was at least minus 5 degrees, I wore a pair of Endura Baa Baa Thermo Merino socks and these overshoes. My feet were fine and warm to boot, although they are for the road these work perfectly well on the trails with no issues getting my cleats clicked in and out. Well done Gore for getting me out in the winter trails again.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
It was bought:Edinburgh

good quality product

Posted11 January 2016
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable
Tried a number of different pairs of overshoes, these are one of the best I have tried so far, especially for the sale price. They are waterproof unless it is lashing it down and when it is raining hard they will last around 1 hour before feet are wet when using mudguards, note water gets in underneath rather than through top. Not particularly warm, but warm enough unless it is less than 3 degrees. Importantly they are light and do not feel heavy or bulky on the foot, I personally think a flash of neon looks quite pro. Best point about them is the build quality and fit, they have been carefully manufactured with decent materials and that shows when you wear them over the cheaper £20-25 ones which are usually not great.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

A very good product. Get what you pay for!

Posted28 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good value, Comfortable, Good quality, do the job
The Gore overshoes are superb! Keep your feet perfectly warm and dry
Easy to put on! What else can you ask for.
Would recommend them without hesitation!
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Posted18 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Comfortable, Good quality
Used them the first time the other day riding in damp and cold conditions over the west pennies, feet remained dry and warm during my outing which had to be curtailed due to low mist. They were easy to fit over my cycling shoes and remained secure during my ride. These were the first windstopper I have used so I cannot compare to any other make but would recommend them for quality and price.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Good product

Posted08 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Not the cheapest but I think I can see why. Used on a very cold day and a (separate) very wet day and they kept my feet warm and dry respectively. Perfectly happy so far. They seem robust enough but time will tell.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Keeps my feet warm at 3C

Posted04 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Good quality
I have used these for 2 x 2 hour rides at 3C. They have kept my feet comfortable and warm.
I don't wear biking shoes - but Nike trainers. I'm a UK size 10. The XL size of these overshoes is tight - but does just fit.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:Over 65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Excellent

Posted01 December 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Comfortable
As others have said, these are on the small size. My shoe size is 37, but I bought medium, even that was a tight squeeze to put on my cycling shoes, but I needed them that day so didn't return them. Had to purchase online as no shops down south.
Not sure how the bottom of the rear zip will fair with taking the shoes on and off frequently.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Guildford

Excellent product

Posted28 March 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Nice fit but make sure you buy bid enough size, toasty feet!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Medium for 43 road shoe but large for 43 MTB shoes

Posted12 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight
I bought two pairs. The medium was fine for my road shoes (size 9/43) but I couldn't get them over my MTB shoes (same size) so bought a second pair in the larger size - which fit the bill (as well as my MTB shoes!)
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Female
It was bought:Online

Look good and work

Posted02 February 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
The size below the one i finally ended up with did not fit over my shoes and this next size up is slightly to big. That said, they look fantastic and do a good job of keeping your feet warm. Yet to be tested in any heavy rain but they've coped well in a light shower.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Gatwick Warehouse Showroom

comfie and lightwieght

Posted19 January 2015
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Lightweight
I went for the hi-zis version and oh boy can car drivers see me coming! very comfortable and lightweight. Cuts the wind chill out completely as much as I could tell. They are very light but on a very very cold day I'm not sure they would be insulated enough to stop you feet getting cold but it would have to be very cold so for 99% of days in the Uk absolutely ideal.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Holborn

Close fitting and they work

Posted17 December 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight
Bought these to use when I didn't need thick/bulky neoprene type overshoes.
They are close fitting and don't make you look too silly. I first wore them on a 100-miler with temperatures between -2 and +3 over well vented summer shoes. I was impressed, my feet stayed comfortable all day despite my legs getting chilly.
I haven't tried them in rain yet, but I would probably revert to my old neoprene ones for really wet rides though we will see.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Reading

Protection and warmth for iit's bulk

Posted08 October 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
Ease of attachment, good and ideally placed reflective decals. Yes, it's not waterproof but doesn't claim to be
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product; small fitting

Posted18 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I ordered a medium size (39-41) in the hope they would fit size 42 Shimano shoes (since large size were not in stock). Unfortunately, I had to return them as they did not fit over my shoes. So although it seems odd that size 42 feet count as large, these overshoes are as small fitting as other Gore clothing! However, the quality seemed as high as is usual with Gore.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy so far.

Posted11 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I have yet to make use of these overshoes as we have recently had a pleasant upturn in the weather. However, I can say that these will definitely increase your visibility on the road, night or day (of great importance to myself at least). Although I strictly do only road cycling these days, I wear European size 45 mountain bike (low-cut) shoes. The XL size fits these very nicely. By that I mean comfortably snug without being too tight, and easy to get on (I had a terrible issue with getting my old ‘shoe socks’ on [a non-Gore product, by the way]). I will have to wait and see how they deal in the cold. However, I am optimistic about this and also about their ability to deal with a light shower. Happy riding, comrades!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good overshoes

Posted03 March 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought these because they are bright yellow. Combined with my Gore neon jacket I feel visible in poor winter light. Construction and fit is good but I expect like all overshoes they will fall to bits in 2 winters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great overshoes

Posted06 December 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These overshoes are lightweight, very visible and keep your feet warm down to about 5 degrees. Any lower and you really need to pair them up with some neoprene overshoes or toe warmers. I've only worn these (with toe warmers) down to 2 degrees and they still worked pretty well, though my feet were starting to feel it after 50mins. Having gone through quite a few other pairs of overshoes, including neoprene, I think I'll stick with these as they're much less of a gaff to get on and off!
I've got a lot of other Gore Bikewear kit and its all fantastic, certainly worth the money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>