Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists

Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes

Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes

Windstopper products give you the freedom to be your best and enjoy your active cycling. They keep you comfortable, warm and protected across a wide range of weather conditions and cycling activities. You can focus on your experience without the distraction of being cold, damp or overheated.
Overall rating:
4.375 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
3 Questions | 4 Answers
Customer reviews for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Review 1 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Small
Large
Sam84
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Good product; small fitting

PostedMarch 18, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
I ordered a medium size (39-41) in the hope they would fit size 42 Shimano shoes (since large size were not in stock). Unfortunately, I had to return them as they did not fit over my shoes. So although it seems odd that size 42 feet count as large, these overshoes are as small fitting as other Gore clothing! However, the quality seemed as high as is usual with Gore.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels True to Size
Large
AllAboutTheRide
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Happy so far.

PostedMarch 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Lightweight, Looks great, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
I have yet to make use of these overshoes as we have recently had a pleasant upturn in the weather. However, I can say that these will definitely increase your visibility on the road, night or day (of great importance to myself at least). Although I strictly do only road cycling these days, I wear European size 45 mountain bike (low-cut) shoes. The XL size fits these very nicely. By that I mean comfortably snug without being too tight, and easy to get on (I had a terrible issue with getting my old ‘shoe socks’ on [a non-Gore product, by the way]). I will have to wait and see how they deal in the cold. However, I am optimistic about this and also about their ability to deal with a light shower. Happy riding, comrades!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Size
Small
Feels Large
Large
Stelvio
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Very good overshoes

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great
Bought these because they are bright yellow. Combined with my Gore neon jacket I feel visible in poor winter light. Construction and fit is good but I expect like all overshoes they will fall to bits in 2 winters.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scouty270
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Great overshoes

PostedDecember 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Lightweight, Looks great
Cons: Expensive
These overshoes are lightweight, very visible and keep your feet warm down to about 5 degrees. Any lower and you really need to pair them up with some neoprene overshoes or toe warmers. I've only worn these (with toe warmers) down to 2 degrees and they still worked pretty well, though my feet were starting to feel it after 50mins. Having gone through quite a few other pairs of overshoes, including neoprene, I think I'll stick with these as they're much less of a gaff to get on and off!
I've got a lot of other Gore Bikewear kit and its all fantastic, certainly worth the money!
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
JohnnieMac
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Well made, good quality

PostedNovember 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, Comfortable
Cons: Expensive
Bought these after several other pairs, which were either ineffective or tended to fall apart. These are well made, keep your feet warm - but not Gore-Tex, so not waterproof. Are probably a better fit for road shoes than MTB shoes, as the toe cover part goes quite far under, so that either your MTB studs are covered (and that will soon wear through the overshoes) or you don't pull the toe cover part all the way under. That doesn't look quite so neat, but it's what I do and it works fine.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Flyingpicket
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Expert
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Brilliant

PostedNovember 11, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Fantastic set of overshoes ideal for 3 degrees plus. Haven't tried them in colder weather but that is only a matter of time. Fit well on a 47 shoe, zip is secure and Velcro zip closure a nice touch. Enough on the ergonomics- I bought them for visibility. You can be seen for miles with these on and they really let your club mates know what cadence you are riding at as they catch the eye in a pace line.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Scaryjim
Country:Australia
Age:35-44
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Kept my toes warm!

PostedJune 9, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable
Cons: apparently come up small
Initially, I was disappointed I'd been sent the wrong size, but fate saw to it I needed one size larger than the sizing chart, so they were perfect. I've cycled for years without overshoes, and now realise what I've been missing... Sensation in my toes! Well worth the cash
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Gore Bike Wear Road Windstopper Soft Shell Overshoes
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gareth1979
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Ideal for cold, damp mornings

PostedNovember 9, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Lightweight
Fits well, looks good, well made and keeps your feet warm.
Gets a little heavy in rain but great for most of the conditions I will ride in.
Price for windstoper is about right considering what i paid for the leggings out of the same stuff.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.