Reviews of bikes and cycling equipment by cyclists, for cyclists
Shop now at Evans Cycles
Pedals or
Choose a category

Customer reviews for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals

Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals

Overall rating:
4.667 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
6
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)reviewers recommend this product.
Customer questions and answers:
10 Questions | 13 Answers
Customer reviews for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Review 1 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wapdtm
Country:United Kingdom
Age:45-54
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Braehead - Glasgow

Excellent quality

PostedJune 23, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Looks great, versatile
I can't believe how good these pedals are. Robust materials, well put together and silky smooth operation. Ideal if you are just taking a quick hop on the bike and don't want to go to the hassle of getting the bike shoes on. The dual sides mean normal trainers work hassle free, the best of both worlds.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
TomH27
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Manchester - Chill Factore

Pedals that are best of both worlds.

PostedJune 11, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Lightweight, Looks great
Having had an earlier version of these pedals I opted for the up to date version for a new bike and I am glad I did. Just by looking at the pedals you can see they are made to last. Clipping in and out is very easy and having the option to ride without cycling shoes is always beneficial.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CountryCousin
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

excellent product and with reflectors

PostedApril 10, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Lightweight, reflectors built in
Good quality pedals - my second purchase - that can be used with shoes or SPD clips that unusually also have built in reflectors.
Reflectors can also be purchased for the cheaper, heavier, functionally similar and also very good M324 pedals (PD-M323 Pedal Reflector Set) but using these the clip release tension cannot be adjusted without first moving the reflectors which is a real fiddle.
The only downside is that the XT780 pedals project very slightly further than the M324s.
Recommended.
 
Products related to my review
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
CliplessChris
Country:United Kingdom
Experience:Regular

New to SPDs... no problem

PostedMarch 3, 2014
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality
I'm new to clip-less pedals and I'm happy to say these were dead easy to set-up and I've had no trouble getting in and out of them. A bonus then that I got them for a bargain price via Click-and-collect from Evans!
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Warfield
Country:United Kingdom
Age:55-65
Style:Road Cyclist
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:West End

Best of both worlds

PostedDecember 31, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
Works well with cleats or ordinary shoes. I normally ride with cleats, but there are times that I might get on my bike with my daughter without putting on all the gear. It's a great compromise. Weight is light enough that you wouldn't really notice the difference.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cliffhanger
Country:United Kingdom
Age:35-44
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

PostedOctober 7, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Excellent fit and feel, easily used with or without SPD clips.
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Country:Sweden
Age:25-34
Style:Mountain Biking
Experience:Occasional
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Perfect for dual users

PostedAugust 26, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: sluggish spin
Average grip on the flat side but I like that. The clips attach well even though they were multi clips. I like that the form of it is like ordinary pedals. Sluggish spin, it doesn't move by itself which is sometimes annoying. But mostly I enjoy them very much.
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
4 / 5
4 / 5
PaulB
Age:55-65
Style:Leisure riding
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male

Good all round pedal.

PostedJanuary 6, 2013
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good quality, Comfortable, Looks great
Cons: not cheap.
I've had bad experiences with "clip-less" pedals in that they hurt my feet. I've tried several makes and style of shoes but after a short ride I have always developed cramp in the soles of my feet - not nice!
I recognize that SPD type pedals are the way to go but I am also happy with the old clips and strap arrangement. I have been using platform pedals with 'half-clips' on my folder but wanted to upgrade to something better. These pedals fit the bill well. Being able to use SPD or normal shoes is a great asset and they are one of few SPD type pedals that come with reflectors fitted.
They are a quality product and do what they are supposed to. It's not easy to get excited about a pair of pedals but these are very good and suit my feet!
They look good too and I hope they don't scratch too easily.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Shimano XT T780 MTB SPD Trekking Pedals
Overall rating 
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xavier78
Country:United Kingdom
Age:25-34
Style:Commuting
Experience:Regular
Gender:Male
It was bought:Online

Road legal awsomeness

PostedNovember 17, 2012
Yes, I recommend this product.
Pros: Good value, Good quality, Looks great
Cons: Heavy
I wanted some pedals to clip in as my commute has some fast sections and some hills where I wanted my feet to stay securely on the pedals. I also wanted pedals that I can use occasionally with normal shoes, as I sometimes go between several offices in London during working hours and cycling shoes don't work too well with a suit. Finally, I wanted pedals that are road legal to ensure no loophole lawyer could push some of the blame on me in case I have an accident at night. These pedals completely fulfill these expectations. They come with the clips that have some play and have several ways of unclipping, but despite some quite aggressive riding and even some bunny hopping, I have never unclipped involuntarily. When you start at the lights, you get the clip side about 90% of the time, which is quite nice. If not, just wait one turn and you'll have it. No worries there. They are metal, not plastic as they may appear on the photos. Ground clearance is about average. I'm really pleased with them and would buy them again. Definitely one of the best item I have bought for my bike. I've had them for 600 miles and I wouldn't ride without them.
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.